We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour Operator”
Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 133 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Tour Operator”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We originally booked a whale watching tour online a few weeks before our arrival on Maui. A week or so before we left we changed our minds and wanted to take the Lana'i tour. Called them and they changed the reservation with no problem and still gave us the online price. Now to the actual tour. We have taken many different types of tours and this was the best operator we have ever gone with. Directions for parking were perfect. The lot is a public lot that they must have an agreement with and cost $10, but for Lahaina all day parking, that is reasonable. We were greeted at the lot by a Trilogy representative, Nick, who was part of the tour. He was fantastic. The tour boat was comfortable and the entire staff from Captain Brian on down were very attentive. You will not go hungry or thirsty on this tour. We lucked out and had great views of the whales. We saw "competition pods" on both the outgoing and return trips. The crew and other guests all agreed we had a very unusually great whale watching experience - lucky us. Trilogy has exclusive access to the Hulopoe Beach Park and Marine Preserve. They have everything you need for the beach and for snorkeling, including some tips we have never heard before on our numerous snorkeling tours. We took Nick up on his snuba upgrade and were very happy we did. We heard other couples, including some divers, say they were also glad they did this. My wife is not a great snorkeler or swimmer but even she said this was wonderful. Nick was very patient with her and he made the experience work for her. The BBQ lunch they serve was good with a very nice location for just that. See attached pics. Please pick Trilogy and you will not be sorry.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank AZlovesHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,992
    305
    102
    34
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
742 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“A great day on and in the water”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The trip to Lanai was a great combination of sailing, history, snorkelling and exporation. My only comment would be why couldn't it start an hour earlier so that one can spend more time snorkelling on Lanai?

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best day trip ever..crew amazing”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

wow where do I start.? sunset trip to Lanai.Spent the whole day with trilogy. The views were awesome. ride was awesome The crew served us< as in brought them to you>, fruit and drinks and cinnamon buns for breakfast.We sailed part way on the catamaran motored the rest.One crew member played ukelele and sang for us.We stopped for the whales both there and back,amazing.They also served us wraps for lunch,.talked and chatted anwsered questions.they have so much knowledge and tell jokes.This is what hospitality and tourism is about.Apon arriving on beach they set you up to snorkel or snuba or you can lay around if you wish. snorkeling was fantastic better then blackrock.They have a van tour that you can go on later of the city.Ladies were very informative about their lanai.Then they serve you a barbeque chicken dinner that they cooked while we were enjoying ourselves.My son has motion sickness and they took care of him had some medicine for him and he had the greatest trip back sitting at the front of the boat getting soaked in the waves.and he loved the ice cream.A very well spent day.Lots of people on the boat had been on the tour before and I would go again.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Exploreitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“NEVER be disappointed!!! Trilogy is AWESOME!”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We were fortunate enough to come back to Maui for a third time this January and also got to bring along some family members. We were a total of 4 adults and 2 children. We did the Trilogy Day Trip over to Lani, which I have done before along with the Molokini trip, but never with more than my husband. Our captain this adventure was Yoshi and his crew including Chad were fantastic! We sailed over seeing whales and dolphins swim right by us and a couple of whales even put on a show!! The food over was delicious with cinnamon buns and fresh fruit! When we arrived we were greeted by a beautiful beach on Lani and friendly faces. The snorkeling was fantastic and the bus tour into Lani City was a treat! Upon our return we had a great BBQ chicken dinner prepared by our Captain Yoshi and his crew! The food was delicious!! You will not go hungry all day on this tour. On the sail back we were again treated to more delicious fruit and even a little ice cream sundae! :) It was a fun day and my 4 year old son keeps asking when we can see Captain Yoshi again!! Thank you so much for letting him ride with you!! Julian says hello :) A fantastic trip once again that I highly encourage all Maui visitors to check out!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVacationer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth every penny and more!”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

(DISCOVER LANIA trip) We went on this trip (my parents visited Maui last year and did another snorkel trip to Molokini, didn't enjoy it very much) so we thought we would try this. It was awesome from the beginning. Our boat wasn't crowded at all. We were served big cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit as well as delicious wraps on the boat before we even got to Lanai!
We saw whales right next to our boat, bottle nose dolphins and a whole group of spinner dolphins on our way too! Once at Lanai, we upgraded to SNUBA, which was great. We got to go deeper and see fish and turtles up close. Enjoyed time to walk around a very UNCROWDED beach and enjoy the rocks and scenery! Enjoyed a wonderful BBQ type lunch cooked by captain and crew.
On ride back we saw more whales, sailed a little bit and enjoyed ice cream!!
This was honestly the best excursion we did over our trip (and we did EVERYTHING else). We will def be back and recommend this to everyone who thinks about doing it!!
ALOHA!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jbttrfly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing