We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate service”
Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 133 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
Ontario, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First rate service”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Captain Riley and his crew are simply terrific. We felt pampered throughout our trip to Lanai. It could not have been a better day (well, maybe if we'd seen a whale or two-- that's our fault for sailing in May instead of during whale season). However, we were lucky enough to sail with spinner dolphins and snorkel with schools of beautiful tropical fish in Manele Bay on Lanai. We had originally booked our trip for a day that turned out to be wet and windy. We called Trilogy a couple of hours before departure, and were told that the trip was cancelled due to bad weather. Trilogy's staff rebooked us for a day that worked for our schedule. Trilogy took two boats out that day, and there were only about 20 people on each boat. The crew went out of their way to learn each of our names, and chat with us throughout the trip. The crew felt like friends by the time we were back in Lahaina. Great food, beautiful setting, definitely highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hikeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,992
    305
    102
    34
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sailing to Lanai”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Trilogy is expensive, but very well organized and run. They do what they say they will - feed you well, and get you there and back safely with lots of fun in between.

My only beef - you have to book at least 7 days in advance to get a discount; there is no senior discount, and when we realized we had forgotten to let them know we subscribe to Hawaii magazine which they will give a discount for, we were told it was after we had booked and was too late to change.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“First Class”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Because we enjoy being in and around the water, but aren't great snorkelers, this trip seemed to have a good mix of activities for us. It certainly met and then exceeded our expectations! Captain Gabe and crew were friendly, informative and provided excellent food and customer service. As an added treat, we veered slightly off course to see a school of spinner dolphins playing near Lana'i. Our day included the catamaran to Lana'i, a tour of the island, swimming in a protected cove for us (snorkeling & snuba for others), a wonderful Hawaiian grilled chicken dinner and a sunset sail (turned off motors & hoisted the sails) back to Lahaina. All we had to bring was sunscreen & towels. All other necessary gear was provided. Great crew, great day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Sunset catamaran from Kaanapali Beach”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent the last evening of our Hawaii vacation on a sunset catamaran sail with Trilogy Excursions. This was the best thing we did on our whole trip! Captain Kevin and the crew of Kerry and Kama were so great -- they were informative, friendly, and fun to be with. We felt like we were sailing with friends. The sunset was spectacular, the food and drinks were great. I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Molokini trip”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We took at 630AM snorkel trip on May 1st with Captain Jeff. The early departures made for a smooth ride and let us arrive at Molokini before it got crowded. We were the second boat to arrive (would have been first had we not paused to observe the whales). Great Cinnamon rolls to take the edge off missing breakfast.

Very nice catamaran with only 49 passengers, easy to walk around and get the view from all angles. Other boats we saw had > 100

For an extra charge you can try Snuba rather than snorkeling, although we did not. At Molokini the shallow depths are the most interesting, so no advantage from diving. If you do Snuba, I would suggest doing so at the second snorkeling stop near Makena.

Lunch was very nice. On the way back the captain put up the sail for an hour or so, which was a fun way to end the trip.

We also had terrific weather. Can't really give Trilogy credit for that, however.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oxomhuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing