We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Aloha Hour Cruise!”
Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 134 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Aloha Hour Cruise!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We did the Aloha Friday Night "Happy Hour" cruise. The night we went we were lucky enough that it was also really a whale watch. Was an amazing "Maui Moment" as I had my 2 year old son on my lap and he saw his first whales coming out of the water practically right next to the boat. If you're thinking about bringing a toddler - he (and another little boy who looked to be about 4) both had a great time on this cruise.

You won't write home about the food or the drinks (I'd stay away from the mixed drinks - the champagne was passable for the location and they had a maui brewing beer in a can) but you're on a catamaran in one of the most beautiful places in the world so I'm not knocking them down for that.

We were serenaded by Shane on the ukelele and it was quite the moment as he played a lot of the songs I listend to on Pandora in the run-up to our trip. He sounded a lot better than when I was sitting in my cubicle! It was easy to get on and off the catamaran and the crew was first rate. My only quibble would be with parking - its a bit difficult to find at the hotel they launch from - that and it was really unclear from their website and communications when we would actually leave. We ended up getting there rather early - I'd recommend calling ahead to find out when your trip is leaving.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason98144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,105
    308
    103
    34
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing .... nature”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of taking the 8 a.m. whale watching tour from Kaanapali on March 22. We were very impressed with the crew of Carrie and Thomas. Carrie's enthusiasm and Thomas' quiet but knowledgeable comments made the incredible display by the whales an unforgettable experience. We were most fortunate to have several up close encounters with the whales. At least three breaches and at one point a whale lifting its tail majestically showing its white markings up close. Truly unforgettable. An experience like this is really up to the whales but the crew made our trip much more fun. The captain even let us enjoy whale karaoke. The sounds of the whales in the ocean. Thanks all!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 50inParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trip to Lanai”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We did the trip to Lanai which included unrushed time on the way over because we came across whales that wanted to entertain us. Beautiful Humpback whales breeching, slapping tails and fins. We had fresh warm rolls in the morning and later snack wraps. The staff is friendly and courteous. Brian, Orrin, and of course Marco that gives the Snuba instructions. He will make you feel completely comfortable on your first snuba experience with a little humor thrown in at times. You will have plenty of time to explore the beautiful beach at Lanai followed by a tasty barbeque, Triology staff serving your meal with a smile. A van tour to Lanai City is also offered which gives a lot of history of the island. Your trip home may include some spinner dolphin escorts as you enjoy a chocolate sundae or a Mai Tai. Ive done this trip twice and cant say enough good things about it. A full day of fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank luciearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“trilogy molokini snorkel trip”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Captain Yoshi and crew were fabulous hosts on our trip to Molokini. We stopped for whales and went to turtle town first to avoid the morning crowds at Molokini. When we looked at a competitors boat with 150 people onboard and all decks crowded, we knew had picked the right tour with a small group of 28. Their max was only 7 people more and there was plenty of room. The breakfast and lunch they served was fresh and delicious. The day was topped off with a beautiful sail back to Maalaea Harbour. I would highly recommend this company to anyone who wanted a great experience without the huge crowds. It costs a little more but it was well worth it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harvdog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Expensive and overrated”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We took this Molokini Snorkel back in 2012 and we had to drive to Maalaea Harbor (with a very early departure time) which is not very convenient. Parking instructions are vague and had to walk quite a distance to get to their port. Although they do 2 stops for the snorkeling trip, they do so hurriedly and that is the reason they are able to do 2 sites. Moreover, although they say they take less customers in each trip, that is because the boat itself can take lesser number of people. IT was crowded! The ride was pretty rough causing a number of passengers to feel like vomiting. Molokini is overrated. There is not that many fishes and the waters are not that clear! All in all, overpriced and overrated!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Konea2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovinMauiLahaina, Public Relations Manager at Trilogy Excursions, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha,

We appreciate your taking the time to offer your opinion about your recent sail with Trilogy, although it's disappointing so many months have passed between your sail and your decision to offer a review. Had you made us aware of your concerns on the day of your trip we would have made an effort to alleviate your concerns.

Also, it's unfortunate that you chose to offer us such a poor review for so many factors which are out of our control. It seems as if you are offering a poor review of Molokini Crater itself at the expense of our operation.

Yes, our snorkel tour to Molokini does depart from Ma'alaea Harbor, although this is where virtually all tours to Molokini depart from. There are not any Molokini tours which depart from the Lahaina/Ka'anapali side of the island, and there are only a handful of boats which depart from locations across Kihei/Wailea/Makena. We understand that you felt you needed to drive a far distance to reach the harbor, but had you chosen another company you would have departed from the same place.

Similarly, since Ma'alaea Harbor is a public harbor, the parking situation is the same for all tour companies departing out of Ma'alaea. If you would prefer to not search for a spot, there is now a parking lot where you can pay a small fee and park your car for the entire day.

Per the amount of people on the boat, we only sail with a maximum of 50-55 passengers depending on which one of our two boats you are on. We offer wide, stable catamarans, and we're sorry to hear that you felt the boat was too crowded for your liking.

Also, the waters off of Ma'alaea are often rough during the afternoon hours on our return trip to the harbor, although our catamarans are not only safe, but are able to sail smoothly despite the rough conditions. For those who are prone to seasickness we have motion sickness remedies available free of charge, and we recommend that passengers take some sort of preventative steps if they know they are prone to motion sickness.

Finally, we offer at least one hour of snorkeling time at each of our two locations, and we also offer multiple areas of entry and exit on the boats so that you may quickly enter the water when we first reach the snorkeling site. On some days there might be an exception where we need to leave a spot early due to the conditions or weather, and it's unfortunate that you felt you were rushed during this part of the excursion.

Our company also offers snorkeling excursions to the island of Lana'i as well as off of Ka'anapali beach to snorkeling sites along the west shore of Maui. If Molokini itself was the part of your excursion which prompted the rating of your review, we encourage you to join us for an excursion to an alternate snorkeling site which might provide you with a better review of our company as a whole.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing