We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not live up to our last visit”
Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 131 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Did not live up to our last visit”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We previously went with Trilogy to Lana'i and it was the best! We could not wait to go with Trilogy to Molokini, so booked the trip as soon as we had out next Maui dates. This trip was not nearly as nice. We did Snuba previously so booked this again. However, our guide, Dave, was not as good as Nick. He let one person try snuba even though she was obviously very congested. Having had some diving classes, this is a major no-no. She ended up quitting after just getting into the water, so no big deal as it turned out. My wife has some issues with getting under water, and whereas Nick helped her and coached her until she could do it, Dave just asked what was wrong and then let her alone to basically snorkel. Enough on that subject, although I could go on.

Let me say after having done much snorkeling over the years, and many places on Maui, Molokini is overrated. Either go to Lana'i (with Trilogy, I will add) or find the many excellent reefs offshore Maui. Turtle beach also was a disappointment.

We had an incident on board where another guest had an allergic reaction and had to be taken off the boat and to an ambulance on shore. Although it turns out he was fine after some benedryl, the crew did do an excellent job of putting his safety and health first - an annoyance to the rest of us, but nothing short of what I would want and expect. My hats off to the captain, Brett, in particular for handling this as well as he did.

The cinnamon rolls and lunch, and the rest of the service and crew were all excellent and up to our Trilogy expectations, so this kept the review as high as it is.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZlovesHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovinMauiLahaina, Public Relations Manager at Trilogy Excursions, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha,

First off, we want to sincerely thank you for not only taking the time to offer your review, but also choosing to sail with Trilogy for a second time. It's the continued support of passengers such as yourself which has allowed Trilogy a successful 40 years of providing ocean adventures with island hospitality to guests from all over the world.

Secondly, we're sorry that the Molokini excursion did not live up to your expectations. While natural elements such as the amount of fish at Molokini or the visibility along the shoreline are out of our control, what we are able to address is the conduct of our crew. We will be sure to let Nick know that his service does not go unappreciated, and we will similarly discuss with Dave what happened in this situation. Despite being in business for so long we are loath to rest on our laurels, so we appreciate you bringing concerns such as these to our attention so we might mitigate any factors which are detracting from our passenger's experience. We never like to hear that a guest was dissatisfied with a portion of the excursion, especially one who has opted to sail with us on multiple occasions.

Also, we appreciate your understanding regarding the nature of an unforeseen medical emergency, and we will be sure to let Captain Brett know that the manner in which he handled the incident was professional and prompt. Again, we appreciate your honest yet understanding critique of the situation. Trilogy is committed to working out the variables which are within our control so that we can not only ensure against incidents such as these, but so we may continue to provide an incredible day on the water for everyone involved.

From the entire ohana here are Trilogy we sincerely hope you had an enjoyable rest of your vacation, and if in the future you make another excursion to the island we would love the chance to rectify your previous experience.

Mahalo,

Trilogy Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,884
    300
    99
    32
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, IL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quality, professional, fun”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We took the all day trip to Lanai from Lahaina harbor. The crew was excellent -- they brought us fruit and cinnamon rolls to start off. We stopped on several occasions to watch the whales play up close and personal. They had a hydrophone so you could hear the whales "sing". We also saw dolphins in a cove near Lanai. The beach on Lanai was spectacular and you have a choice of snorkeling, snuba or just walking the beach. The next option they give you is to stay and snorkel or take a van tour around the island. We chose the van and were glad we did. "Auntie Jo" who grew up on Lanai shared the history, economics and scenery of the island with us and told many stories. There was an excellent barbecue lunch that we enjoyed before returning to Lahaina -- on the way back we saw more whales, rainbows and the sunset -- a perfect trip. A complimentary "adult beverage" is offered on the return trip. Worth the price. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank oceanside-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Whale Watching”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I went on a group whale watching excursion and it was great. The crew really knew their whales, turtles, and island history. They served us drinks and snacks. The captain was very sharp and had a great sense of humour! Captain Yoshi! He's the best!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“snorkeling! Picked up at kanapoli beach. Excellent !!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My 2 adult daughters and myself went snorkeling with Trilogy and had a very good time. Professional guides and much information. Took an excellent boat ride with sight seeing and snorkeling. The food cooked on the boat was also EXCELLENT. Great experience. would definitely recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Whale watching from Kaanapali”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our family went on the early monring whale watching excursion that left from Kaanapali beach. It was a rough morning on the pacific but the large catamaran helped to keep things relatively smooth. The staff was really personable and knowlegeable. We saw lots of whale action out there and it was amazing! We chose the Triology excursions because they keep they restrict the number of passangers and this really helps to make sure that everyone can see the whales. We would highly recommend this excursion!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv_Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing