We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snorkeling Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 130 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Snorkeling Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great crew provided good entertainment and welcoming atmosphere as well as a great opportunity to snorkel in two separate locations with different wildlife. Great food, as well (comes as part of the trip--not purchased on board)! Plenty of time to snorkel and plenty of time to relax on the boat. Highly recommend for families, couples, or a solo trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nfrishbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,804
    296
    98
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trilogy - As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Booked Trilogy Molokini snorkel sail from Ma'alea harbour on maui for Christmas Day. Best trip you could imagine. Fun ride over to Molokini crater and were one of the first boats. Nice big catamaran Trilogy V, with a smaller group of passengers . Perfect with lots of room. Stopped also at Turtle town and saw a whole bunch of turtles. The food was also great. Warm cinnamon buns and fresh fruit for breakfast. Taco chips and the best homemade salsa for a snack and delicious lunch. Vegetarian option available too. An unusual day in maui as it wasn't windy enough to sail so cap'n Yoshi looked for whales. We had the best whale watching tour too. A baby whale getting a lesson on breaching and tail slapping and fin slapping from his momma. Even the crew was excited. Fun crew, helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. They got to know everyone's names and were very nice. We would recommend Trilogy to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Saskfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Snorkeling Excursion & Great Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Booked the Discover Molokini snorkeling trip for the family over the holiday break. I'm the type of traveler that will spend endless amount of time on the internet, discussion forums, and review sites looking for the best trip and deal. Trilogy Excursions was roughly $20-$30 more than other companies but the reviews and experience was worth the extra dollars.

From the moment you check-in to the time you get off the boat, the crew does a phenomenal job in constantly serving you. They insist that you enjoy the view and boat ride as they bring around hot coffee and beverages, chips and snacks, BBQ chicken lunch, and ice cream.

The excursion includes 2 snorkeling spots. If you're a beginner (which my parent were), the crew takes the time to teach the basics and guide them in the ocean. As you're heading home at the end of the trip, the captain turns off the engine and puts the sails up. You get to enjoy the last 30 minutes sailing through the ocean with only the sounds of the wind.

The boat condition is in tip-top shape. Other companies that I've been up do not maintain the boat as well and as clean as Trilogy. It's these subtle things that make Trilogy great.

First-class service and experience - I would highly recommend Trilogy to friends and family!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flab19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Experience of my Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked a snorkelling trip with Trilogy and had a fantastic time. The crew was friendly, entertaining and extremely knowledgeable. They took us out to Molokini crater and Turtle Town, but stopped for whales on the way, so we got a whale watching cruise too. The crew had an amazing amount of knowledge about the local area and the marine life, and kept the trip interesting. They also had 100% excellent service. Whilst cruising, we did not have to leave our seats; the crew brought round drinks, food (which was amazing) and even collected our rubbish. HIGHLY recommend Trilogy for any type of boating excursion - it is well worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bello321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sailing Boat, Crew & Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was one of our favorite excursions! We picked this trip because we heard it isn't like a cattle car filled with people. They limit the number of people who they take out on the boat. We had only eleven people and the crew was amazing. They helped us get in the water when snorkling and since I have artifical hips needed a "little" extra help. We enjoyed seeing Lanai and the van trip around the island was most interesting. We saw Whales and Dolphin while on the boat. I would definitely use them again. They are the best!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing