We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot for one trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trilogy Excursions

Trilogy Excursions
Ranked #1 of 130 Tours in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted #1 Sea Activity on Maui! Snorkeling, Sailing, Whale watches, Dinner Sails, Private charters, and most notably their "Discover Lana'i" excursion. Trilogy Excursions is a family-owned and operated sailing company established in 1973 by the Coon Family! They operate on both Maui and Lana'i and lead the industry in environmental stewardship, setting safety standards, and Hawaiian hospitality. They are committed to sustainable tourism and undergo an extensive certification process every two years to remain a certified eco-tour operator. They depart out of Ma'alaea Harbor, Lahaina Harbor, Ka'anapali Beach, and Manele Harbor (Lana'i).
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lot for one trip”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I believe there are many Trilogy excursions. The trip we took was to Lanai where you dock and visit the island. No other boats are allowed to do this. On the trip over we were surrounded by dolphins. That was worth the money right there. Once there you have the option to take a van tour with auntie Mo (who is amazing by the way) or go straight to the beach for snorkeling. This was our second time on this catamaran so took the van tour which we opted out of before. It was interesting, super fun and beautiful. After that we hit the beach and did some snorkeling. After that, a huge barbecue and then an exciting fun filled trip home. The boat was rockin! It was so fun and I'm so glad I took Dramamine. Toward the end of the trip they hoist the sails and it is really beautiful. The crew was EXCEPTIONAL! Captain Brian was beyond nice and Jordan's ukelele playing and singing was a special treat. What a day! Kind of pricier than other tours but you are fed all day long and your gone all day! The day went by fast and we had a blast. I highly recommend this trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank icantbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,785
    296
    98
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent day trip to Lanai”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had an excellent day with Trilogy going to the island of Lanai on Wed 17 Oct. Did the "Original Discover Lanai" all day tour.
The crew were friendly and attentive throughout the day, and the food just kept on coming! The crew were constantly moving throughtout the boat seeing to the guests needs, and taking good care of everyone.
The shuttle transfer to the beach was a very thoughtful addition in the heat, and amenities at the beautiful beach all i could expect.
The beach itself was just beautiful and the snorkeling there was wonderful.
I would not hesitate to recommend Trilogoy and this excursion to others.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I took a snorkel trip to Molokini with Trilogy based on recommendations; and I have to say it was totally worth it! The crew was friendly and approachable, and the cinnamon buns were yummy. We made two stops, one at Molokini and another one in an area that apparently is frequented by sea turtles. I actually nearly ran into one without seeing it.

And for those of you who either don't swim well or are a little wary of open water, Molokini has very little in the way of current as it is sheltered from the ocean currents, and the crew provides floaters that go around your waist, or kickboards to hold onto. No noodles thank goodness, I hate those things. I barely swim and think snorkeling masks are claustrophobic, but I had no problems whatsoever and had a great time.

Bring sunblock, a towel or two, and an underwater camera if you have one! They also had some for rent if you don't own one yourself.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kairynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great Day on/in the water”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Started out sailing on the catamaran and enjoying the sun and sea in Maui, than stopped to do some snorkeling, got to see some great sea life. They had a really nice spread for lunch which included lunch meat, tomatoes, lettuce and all the fixins to make a great sandwich soda and juice were also included. It was a pleasant day and the crew was very knowledgeable and frienfdly, they also had a great sense of humor!!
I really enjoyed my time on the this excursion!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trilogy is the BEST”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been on Trilogy boats 13 times, with trips to Lanai, Molokini, and various places around Maui and they have the best group of people working on their staff of any boats we have tried. We have gone on several competitors' boats and none compare to Trilogy.
We have stopped trying the other boats because Trilogy is the best! My son will be heading there for his honeymoon the last week of this month and he will be booking a trip with the Trilogy bunch for sure!
The food is great; the cinnamon rolls are hot and delicious, and the lunch is also great after snorkeling all morning!
Don't waist your time looking for a good boat to see the Island of Maui or Lanai or Molokini book with a great company in Trilogy and do it right the first time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lvdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trilogy Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Trilogy Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing