We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous sailboat outing & great crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotch Mist Sailing Charters

Scotch Mist Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Fabulous sailboat outing & great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I and our two children (ages 10 and 13) are visiting from Seattle and did the Sunset Cruise with the Scotch Mist Sailing Charters in Lahaina. It was an overcast but warm evening and the capable and delightful crew members were knowledgable, interesting and incredibly experienced sailors. They were also very gracious hosts, making sure to explain what they were doing, talk about Maui, share their own stories, and keep glasses full. We had a great time taking advantage of winds in the harbor and watching the bright red sunset. We highly recommend this charter company for a delightful evening of sailing and sunsets. Thanks for the lovely time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David and Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    40
    7
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sailing in Maui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We're just completing 3 fabulous weeks on Maui and especially want to recommend Scotch Mist II for the Sunset Sail. We did it twice, and both were spectacular! The captain and crew were terrific both times and the others on the sail were really interesting and fun to talk with. This trip features champagne and chocolate -- both were wonderful! (And they have other beverages.) Extras like leaping whales and spectacular sunsets cannot be predicted but we saw them both times. We plan to do it again on our next Maui visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked our sail/snorkel day well in advance and made sure to check at the dock when we first arrived in Maui to be sure all was going to go as planned. They called us the day before to confirm our reservation. We were a group of six and sailed with another couple who joined the trip last minute. Had a wonderful time! Captain Turk and Almarosa were excellent sailors and interesting story tellers. Everyone in our group was comfortable with snorkeling but me and they were very patient and helpful with me as I tried to conquer my fears. I would definitely recommend this trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Purr512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun Set Sail: Everything you want”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We found this gem by chance by walking by the docks. The 50 sail boat is both intimate and relaxing. The staff was excellent. By far our favorite way to see the sunset on maui.

We even got close to a few whales because the sailboat is naturally quieter than the big diesels as well as smoother. definitely the highlight of our trip. We plan on going on the sailboat again before we head back to Los Angeles.

Helpful?
Thank Ej Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scotch Mist Sailing Charters ... No Whales”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The crew was excellent, but the whales we saw you couldn't get close with a 200 mm lens, for a sailing the ride it was good, but for whale watching we were disappointed. I'd pass on this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotch Mist Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Scotch Mist Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing