We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful whale watch and sailing adventure”

Scotch Mist Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful whale watch and sailing adventure”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recommended by a local sailor, this sunset sail was amazing. It turned into a great sailing adventure and whale watch. The whales were so close you could hear them as they swam by.
The crew- Was great, kept the bubbly flowing and loved seeing the whales as much as we did.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaikoloaDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    40
    7
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quietly seeking whales”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The only bad whale watch to me is to not see any whales. They are all pretty good BUT the Scotch Mist is about the only real sail boat that uses their sails. Nothing is better than whales coming up to you and you can hear the whoosh of their blow! That's hard to hear on the motorized boats. Also, soda and beer is free on this trip. When in Maui this is a MUST DO.

Helpful?
Thank lb0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Quality Whale Watch Sunset Cruise - Scotch Mist II”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

During our March visit to Maui we booked our Scotch Mist sunset whale watch cruise. This was our fifth year in a row sailing on the Scotch Mist II. It is a good value and without a doubt the best sailing experience in Lahiana! This is a family run business that really cares about customers. They have two generations of captains and a crew that works hard to insure everyone on the boat is happy. Plenty of beer and quality champagne flowing with tasty chocolate treats.

We followed the whales under sail for miles with no noisy motors. You could hear the whales slapping against the water it is a true sailing experience!! These people know how to treat you right. Don't get stuck on one of those other commercial tourist boats that pack you in and take you $$.

We will be back again next year!

Hope and Mike
Boca Raton Florida

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunset magic”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We go whale watching every time we're in Maui, and the sunset cruise on scotch mist is hands down the best. Capt. Turk and michelle did a great job, and we saw an incredible amount of whales. Lovely, relaxing way to end the day. Beer and bubbly if you want, sodas and water if you don't, plus Hawaiian chocolates. We'd go back in a minute and will probably go again next week before we leave.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
2 reviews
“Scotch Mist Sailing Chrters”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The best sail & whale watch in Maui was on the Scotch Mist. The crew was knowledgeable, fun and skilled. They found a competition pod of whales for us. There were only 18 on board, so it was uncrowded. Wind in the sails and whales to watch...the best !! WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanetnDave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotch Mist Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Scotch Mist Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing