We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheap breakfast in Lahaina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Cafe

Sunrise Cafe
Ranked #59 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great cheap breakfast in Lahaina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I love this place. We've eaten here each of our last two visits to Maui. Great service with a smile and a terrific breakfast for under $10 bucks! Had a huge fruit smoothie which was wonderful. It's a small place with a very quaint atmosphere. Right near Banyan Tree park and the harbor. Have a great breakfast here before heading out on a whale watch or snorkeling trip. There were a number of people here so the secret is out

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl201077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    127
    37
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not good at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

After reading positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give this a try. It was crowded, with a wait, so we thought that was a good sign. WRONG. There were only 4 people working at the small restaurant. Only one person cooking, in a tiny kitchen. It took us an hour to get our food, and it was marginal at best. I am surprised that the health department hasn't closed them down. Very dirty, and I noticed that they barely wiped the tables between customers. I definitely would not recommend this restaurant. I could tell is was probably a sweet Hawaiian family running the restaurant, and I felt sorry for them...but they definitely need a lot of help.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hour isn't Worth It”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We came to this restaurant at 10:30 on a Sunday. It's a cute little place and was full. It took a little while to order, and we got our drinks in about 10 minutes. After we ordered is when the problems started. It took us a full hour from ordering to getting our food. When we got our breakfast, it was clearly lunch time and we were very hungry. The burrito was okay, not the best thing I've ever had. The waitress was rude when we asked her how much longer it would be after an hour. We saw many couples get up and leave after not being waited on and not even given the chance to order. I would not recommend this restaurant, as there are many better places in Lahaina to go.

Helpful?
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty, Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had breakfast here our first day, great food, excellent price. The service was great and our Waiter made us feel very welcomed

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food. Great Price! Cash only..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little place for breakfast or lunch. With ocean views and covered outdoor seating it has a local flavor. Very casual settingTasty food, not fancy but with reasonable prices. Two people can have a very satisfying meal for under $20. The Kahlua pork plate was excellent. The Santa Fe burrito was a generous serving and tasty. Service for us on a Tuesday at 11:30 am was friendly and quick with food arriving 12 minutes after we were seated. Free refills on your coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Essequibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sunrise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing