We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute little port town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Front Street

Lahaina Front Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
The Feast at Lele: A Luxury Maui Luau
Ranked #10 of 123 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“cute little port town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Cute little port town. Lots of shopping and restaurants. Nice to catch the sunset. Parking is a little crazy. But nice to just walk down the street when it is not crowded. Very crowded if a cruise ship is in port. Very touristy. Great place to find island souvenirs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sundevilRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,698
    1,146
    362
    53
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Busy street with lots to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Front Street is a busy place, Parking is at a premium, with most places charging. There is a parking lot on the south end of Front Street that offers 3 free hours. Only once during our week were we not able to find a spot. Most restaurants & some shops did validate parking for the paid lots too, especially the big lot at the Outlet Mall by the Hard Rock Cafe. The street itself has an abundance of shops, restaurants, art galleries and a movie theatre. Something for everyone here & great sunset views too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, lots to see and do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Front street was simply one of the best spots we visited, and visited numerous times. From the giant Banyan tree, great restaurants, tons of shopping, movie theatre and of course shaved ice! Lots to see and do for all sorts of people. Parking is a bit challenging but we were able to find free parking most of the times.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CE2JD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
929 reviews
461 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

From the Court House to the Hard Rock this is has always been a fun place to walk, people watch, and shop. Many of the stores/shops have been in existence for over 20 years; food outlets, craft stores, jewerly stores, and more. Unfortunately, crowds, traffic and parking can be a challenging. Saturdays there is a craft event under the Banyan Tree which creat more issues. There is limited free parking on Front Street but there are pay parking areas off the street. If you are taking an early morning charter you need to go to a pay parking lot, not park on the street. Two hours of free parking is offered in the mall housing the Hard Rock and Hilo Hattie's, validating the ticket is required. It is a wonderful walk along the waterfront; we have many pictures of our children as toddlers. We visit at least once when in Maui!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Front Street in Lahaina is kind of what you make of it. My wife and I had some time to kill before dinner one night so we strolled around shopping for awhile. Some of the shops have local fares and there was an art fair going on the day we were there. There are also high end things to buy like art and jewelry. We shopped for souvenirs and clothes and enjoyed our time here very much.

Overall, it was a good experience. A little crowded and we were asked for money by a panhandler, but other than that a positive experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahaina Front Street also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Lahaina Front Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing