We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lahaina
Post
Inbox
Search

“Always a favourite!”
Review of Aloha Mixed Plate

Aloha Mixed Plate
Ranked #46 of 299 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the early days of the sugar plantations, lunch was a simple affair. Plantation workers gathered in the fields for their mid-day meal. The Japanese laborers would bring teriyaki beef with rice and pickled vegetables. Seated next to them might be their Filipino neighbors with the traditional dish adobo or perhaps a pork or chicken stew. The Koreans had their kalbi or marinated ribs and the Chinese a rice noodle and vegetable dish called chow fun. Hawaiians were known for their kalua pig, roasted in an underground oven called an imu. It wasn't long before they began to share their foods with one another and the "mixed plate" was born. Aloha Mixed Plate features true "Local" traditional plate lunches with open air seating directly on the ccean. We are open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been here plenty of times on previous vacations, and visited twice on this trip. We managed to time it right, and had a very short wait for both lunches.

I had the “ISLAND FRESH CATCH SANDWICH (Seared fresh fish with lettuce, tomato, onion and house-made tartar sauce). Sandwiches come on a Hoaloha Bake Shop potato bun and are served with a house salad and our own farm's Kalo and Sweet Potato Chips”. It was so good that I had it on both visits.

I also had the “Mango with Fresh Lime and OJ, with Strawberry Swirl” beverage, which is always a favourite. It has significantly shrunk in size, but not in taste. And now you get a reusable bamboo straw, which is a nice touch.

You can’t beat the view, and the ambience. I’ll be back!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank KLM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 5,019 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is unquestionably the worst of the worst! The place is mobbed for no other reason than space limitations. The food tastes like dog food. The customers are all cheapy low-class people (i.e., the backwards baseball hat type). One customer (typical of the class of people this hole attracts) was so in love with himself that he showed off his new wind-breaker that still had the price tag on it then posed so his friend's family could look at him and take a picture. He wouldn't shut up the whole meal and kept making loud and obnoxious noises trying to get as much attention as possible. All this noise would have been fine if the food was good, but it wasn't: it was disgusting--cold, tastelessl, cheap garbage.

This is not the place for the proper English gentlemen "on holiday," I say. Go to the place next door.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this restaurant! Starting with the amazing location, it overlooks the water with an open air concept which we love. We had the Fried Rice Loco Moco and the Shoyu-garlic chicken sandwich. The sandwich was good but the Loco Moco was delicious! The hostess (her name slips my mind) was super friendly and was very accommodating with everyone she interacts with.

Definitely recommend this place!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlnPatr1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say...it was great. Wife loved the beet salad. Came here twice for dinner. Great drinks and Food. We loved it. Highly recommend. Fairly reasonable also...

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank garybro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Spectacular view, sound of the surf, savory food and pleasant service describe this reasonably priced restaurant. It lives up to the romantic expectations one might have of a Maui vacation!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank carolmK577FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Mixed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Aloha Mixed Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing