We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local place w/ nice view”
Review of Aloha Mixed Plate

Aloha Mixed Plate
Ranked #29 of 265 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the early days of the sugar plantations, lunch was a simple affair. Plantation workers gathered in the fields for their mid-day meal. The Japanese laborers would bring teriyaki beef with rice and pickled vegetables. Seated next to them might be their Filipino neighbors with the traditional dish adobo or perhaps a pork or chicken stew. The Koreans had their kalbi or marinated ribs and the Chinese a rice noodle and vegetable dish called chow fun. Hawaiians were known for their kalua pig, roasted in an underground oven called an imu. It wasn't long before they began to share their foods with one another and the "mixed plate" was born. Aloha Mixed Plate features true "Local" traditional plate lunches with open air seating directly on the ccean. We are open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local place w/ nice view”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to have breakfast with a nice view of the ocean. This place has local charm and a nice view.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lina_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,881
    1,370
    524
    199
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Aloha Spirit is all around.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This had an amazing view and wonderful local foods.
We eat here often when in Maui. The menu has changed over the years but we still love it. Asian, Hawaiian and Seafood cuisine.
Wonderful Mai Tais and other drinks.
It is right next door to the Old Lahaina Luau. The kalua pork and other local dishes are great. I've been told the Coconut Prawns are fantastic. It's casual outdoor seating in a very relaxed atmosphere. Million dollar view that does not cost a fortune.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Good Price”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

During the week we were in Maui my husband and I ate at Aloha Mixed Plate four times. We had both breakfast and lunch here and every meal we had was very enjoyable. Both Kat and Julie were warm and friendly servers, and helped make our experience even better. This is a cute, open-air restaurant next to the beach, with really good food at a really good price. It is a wonderful break from the resorts in the area. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is staying near Lahaina.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdiLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn,MI
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, great value.”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had lunch at the Aloha Mixed Plate when we were just driving around on a rainy day. We were seated promptly at a table very near the ocean. The service was fine and the food was plentiful and very tasty. Mine was boxed up and made a second meal back at the condo! The prices are very affordable making the whole experience a great value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeus_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Basic, good food, fair prices”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Always good food and service here. The waterfront location provides nice atmosphere and the menu features good local choices. Can get busy during traditional mealtimes, and where you sit determine whether or not you can have alcohol ( the waterfront portion is alcohol free.) We go here every time on Maui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Mixed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Aloha Mixed Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing