We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The menu has changed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloha Mixed Plate

Aloha Mixed Plate
Ranked #31 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the early days of the sugar plantations, lunch was a simple affair. Plantation workers gathered in the fields for their mid-day meal. The Japanese laborers would bring teriyaki beef with rice and pickled vegetables. Seated next to them might be their Filipino neighbors with the traditional dish adobo or perhaps a pork or chicken stew. The Koreans had their kalbi or marinated ribs and the Chinese a rice noodle and vegetable dish called chow fun. Hawaiians were known for their kalua pig, roasted in an underground oven called an imu. It wasn't long before they began to share their foods with one another and the "mixed plate" was born. Aloha Mixed Plate features true "Local" traditional plate lunches with open air seating directly on the ccean. We are open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The menu has changed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved the old local food menu, but they have updated the standard fare to be a little more healthy. They still have a few favorites like loco moco, but it seems they are trying to be trendy. Still, the price is reasonable and the location is great. The wait staff could use some improvement, but it was adequate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SonoraJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,768
    1,320
    508
    186
    112
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Skip It”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We walked to this restaurant after walking out of Honu due to no service. The price seemed reasonable and we ordered the fish of the day sandwich which was salmon, an entree that had the word Beach in it and consisted of teriyaki chicken and beef and short ribs and Chow Funn noodles. My son had the salmon sandwich and the salmon was raw. The waiter tried to tell us that is how they cook it, but it did not say sashimi so I expect the fish to be cooked especially since it was going to become a sandwich. The manager came over to let us know that they would take it of our bill and the waiter had only told her that my son didn't like it, not that it was raw. I had the Chow Funn noodles and they didn't have any bean sprouts and it came out cold. My husband had the teriyaki combo. The mac salad that came with it came out at room temp and his beef teriyaki and short ribs were very stringy and the chicken was fatty. Obviously it wasn't our night for eating, but the food was very poor. Would not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agilityaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Menu changed, not for better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We had read about Aloha mixed plate and read the menu online. It was just what we were looking for, a wide sampling of local foods. When we got there we found a new and much abbreviated menu. Even the signature "mixed plate" was gone. No more "mini" selections. We ordered Kailua pork and lau Laus so we could share and simulate the mixed plate.
Food was good with adequate portions (we had planned on leftovers). Service was attentive and friendly. The hualpia we had planned on for dessert is no longer available.
Prices are still quite reasonable, but it no longer has the menu we were looking for.

Helpful?
1 Thank macpatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had read the reviews; good prices and location seemed to be the consistent point of view, so I was not expecting too much - but I was hopeful. If this is the quality of food one gets for that price, why not just go to McD’s? The Kalbi plate was tough - mostly gristle and fat, and overly sweet; the garlic fries were just okay and we had to send the Chowfun back because we found a yellow twist tie mixed in with the noodles. This was returned to the kitchen and the manager was informed. However, no explanation or concern was expressed – another plate was provided. The best thing about this visit was the ice water available while waiting for a seat. As others have indicated, this was like a cafeteria along with the ubiquitous scratched, uncomfortable chairs and tables.
If you want an ocean view in “a truly Hawaiian setting”, go to the Sea House on Napili Bay (about 10 miles north) and enjoy a stunning sunset view in a comfortable setting with quality food for reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really bad since re-opening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here last year and it was awesome! Went back today and the food and service were HORRIBLE! The menu has changed and the quality of food was definitely not anything to be desired. My guess is that it is under new management or ownership since they had been closed for a month for a supposed remodel. Everything looked the same to me, not sure what they "remodeled" besides their attitudes, menu and food quality! They kept using that as their excuse as to why things weren't up to par, got tired of hearing that real quick! My advice is to stay away until they figure out that they went backwards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloha Mixed Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing