We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Polynesian Shores Condominiums
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

For 18 days in December we called Polynesian Shores home. We requested a condo near the ocean to listen to the surf and to avoid the road noise. Our unit was ground level which we like. It allows easy access from the lanai to the pool, BBQ's, grounds, and shore. There was some foot traffic in the front of our unit, kids playing, or folks heading to the shore. But it didn't really bother us. This unit faces south and gets incredibly hot in the afternoon. If we were around in the afternoon we would explore the shoreline, or watch the turtles bask in the sun and swim in the surf. We'd watch whales, dolfins and flying fish. We packed binoculars and they really made a difference. Sometimes we'd sit on a perfectly comfy boulder and just watch the sunset. If you like to swim in the ocean you need to walk about 3 minutes to the neighboring condo as there isn't any access into the water from Polynesian Shores. Bring, rent or buy snorkel gear and you can swim with the turtles in person! If you like to cook this condo is well stocked, if not there are several eateries around. We listened to the surf at night and the birds in the morning. We were surprised how thin the walls are, we could here the neighbors children crying, the garburator running, the folks above moving furniture. Polynesian Shores is older and our unit was clean and free of ants and roaches. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This complex was built in 1973. It is dated. The pool is small but the grounds are nice and the outlook is wonderful. Units are a good size and unlike others, we found it very quiet.

However, our biggest issue was not the condo but the weather. It has rained for the last 6 days and not just a shower. I estimate its rained 12 hours everyday. Now we could be unlucky but one thing I've learnt is that the west is significantly more prone to rain and strong winds than the south in the Winter so since it started raining we've headed south every day to Kihei and the weather has been perfect. So unless you're prepared to drive I strongly recommend you stay in the south during the winter months when rain and strong winds are an unwritten feature of the west.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wordlywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Polynesian shores is a great place to stay with family and friends. Beautiful view and perfect amount of space for 6-8 people. We saw surfers and turtles everyday. Would have been nice if there was a sandy beach on location, but the rocky view was gorgeous. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Polynesian shores for 5 days and loved it. It is in a beautiful location right by the water. The grounds are immaculate. Turtles can be seen in the mornings. The condo was fully equipped, well beyond our expectations. All the rooms were spacious, nicely furnished, complete with dishwasher, large beach towels, even a midsize cooler in which you can put ice from the icemaker to keep your food cold for an outing. When we arrived, there was a huge pineapple on the dining room table - enough for 6 servings. We were in a two bedroom unit in which each bedroom had its own full bathroom with shower. There was no a/c but it was not needed. The condo was very well ventilated and there was a constant wind blowing in from the water. Wi-fi connection appears to be a complicated business, but who needs it when you are in Maui at such a wonderful place.

Room Tip: The office is closed on weekends, so if you arrive late in the week, make sure any needs you have ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arys561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you want a party place with lotsof noise then you won't want to stay here. If you want an . immaculately maintained property,that is quiet, yet conveinant, you will love this place.We sure did.The turtles coming on shore in the afternoon was a nice bonus.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank paulsidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

First trip to Maui and we loved it! Stayed in unit 211... Lovely unit. Beautiful sunsets! Great snorkeling right off shore! Gorgeous grounds! We were concerned about a lack of AC in August since we are from Texas, but it was actually very comfortable with the windows open and the fans. We used a box fan at night to help eliminate some of the light road noise. Our unit was closer to the road than some of the other units, but again it really was not an issue. The staff, especially Andy, was very helpful and friendly. We will be coming back and staying at Polymesian Shores! Aloha!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Polynesian Shores, staying both times in Unit 120, most recently an eight day stay in mid-July. As expected we had another great stay and again very munch enjoyed the property and location - you cannot really find a better value in this region of Maui. Beautiful grounds and ocean views, with great viewing areas of the many sea turtles and ocean life. Location is perfect - close to some of the best beaches on Maui, short drive to Lahaina and within walking distance to nearby shops/restaurants. You really cannot go wrong with the setting, cleanliness, location and value. A great home base for enjoying Maui.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B-Ridges206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,634 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Shores Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Shores Condominiums

Address: 3975 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8995
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $217 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polynesian Shores Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 1, 2, & 3-bdrm condos on 2 acres of tropically landscaped grounds. Spectacular location with fabulous sunsets. Comfortably furnished condos have ocean views & private lanais. Scenic oceanfront bbq deck for dining & relaxing. Ideally located between Kaanapali & Kapalua. Experience the relaxed feel of old Hawaii while still being close to restaurants, shopping, & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polynesian Shores Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Shores Hotel Lahaina
Polynesian Shores Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing