We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in lahaina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tiki Beach Hostel
Ranked #32 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location in lahaina”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed there for a week and was going to stay at another hostel up the road which was further out of the way and far more cramped. But tiki is awesome for location and facility. They have an outside shower which i used every chance i had. There were only 4 beds to the girls room so it wasnt over crowded. The back patio and garden were great after a day at the beach which is less than a 5 min walk. I had a day i wanted to stay outta the sun. I relaxed back there. Napped and hung out with chris. Chis is awesome. Hes social and kind. Loves to meet people, is a good time and easy friend to make. The house was kept up pretty clean. I hated the carpet they put in the bathroom. Kinda nasty with all the foot traffic... Kimo who ran the place was a cool guy too. I was a solo woman traveller. Never felt uneasy. But i did keep to myself more than the average person.
There is a church and school behind the property so be aware you hear little kids playing all day. Better than traffic which is what i hear at home.
One complaint! The office is in the garage which is attached to the ladies room. I was rudely woken at 6 am by kimos boss talking business on the phone who ignored my tapping on the window as a nice... Shut up! But otherwise awesome home n good people.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The place is scary. It's a total bummer. I didn't feel safe. The actions and behavior of the staff and Manager made things even worse. It was creeepy. This was possibly the wierdest hostel I have ever stayed at - not a good wierd. I had planned to stay longer but I left as soon as I could. I was just glad to get away to someplace else where I would feel comfortable. If you are an alcoholic or a pot addict, it's the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerboyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed in hundreds of hostels all over the world and I can easily say Tiki Hale is by far my favorite hostel the world over.
It's clean, right on the beach, has a GREAT staff (Chris is an amazing host) that creates a very social atmosphere. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigriggmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I travelled to Maui myself and was honestly a bit nervous about being lonely on this romantic island. But it turned out to be one of the best trips I've ever done. I met some great people from around the world also solo traveling and staying at the Tiki Hale. The staff were super sweet. Rooms, bed and bathroom were clean and they have a cute backyard where we would all meet in the evenings to exchange stories about our day's adventure, play music and one evening BBQ. The hostel is in an ideal location with a beginner's surfing beach right behind it and plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidzae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was taken back by how wonderful the up keeping of the hotel is, when you think of a hostel you assume its going to be average but it was a beautiful house, sick location and the people Kimo,Andy and Chris were the best hosts you could ask for, I felt at home here, everyone shared and enjoyed themselves.I recommend this place to anyone and everyone xoxox jumpinjax

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpnjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed 8 nights on a family business trip. Came alone and it was perfect for me. Was able to access all of the places I needed to go. Tike Hale means "tike house" and there are many in the backyard. When I wanted to relax, the beach was a few steps away and the full kitchen was a wonderful thing to have available. Dorm style accommodations with 2 bunk beds in each of 2 rooms. Only 8 guests in the house. Back yard is very nice and they are adding a deck out back. Met people from Argentina, Alaska, Canada so the conversation was stimulating. At $49 a night, it was unbeatable in price and location for my needs. Would use it again in a similar situation.

Room Tip: As I am over 60, the lower bunk was a necessity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucerneOnClearLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

So you turn up to a bungalow in a private close with no signs by the road or on the property i asked a fella getting in his car in the close who said thats it someones tax dodge strange i thought
Anyhow i go in with a pre booked week ahead there on this side of the island the fella then knows nothing about my booking but says i can stay for the one night only if i pay up 49$ so i did he sat there infront of 2 travelling girls talking a load of rubbish trying to sweet talk them, the next night i had to pay another 49$ i tried to get my deposit back but he wasnt coughing up christmas is chocabloka here i had a cockroach crawl over me in bed which scared the life out of me
Fair doos it 50m from a flat beach which he said was good for surfing snorkling etcthats wrong its to shallow over the wide rocky beach and no waves over 2-3' all week i found out they own all three of the towns hostels which are very badly run i visited the othere two ones used my migrant workers and has cats dogs and pigs roaming the bungalow the last resort was that bad i would rather kip on the beach
Anyhow i moved out of tiki as i was told it was prebooked for the rest of the week i popped in late one evening to meet one of the girls five doorm beds were still free and again in the morning i wasnt a happy chappy they are fitting tiny cctv cameras in all the rooms the girls told me later that week which they didnt like the thought of being watched by the fella looking after it for the owners
Forget these local dirty 44-52$ per doorm bed hostels treat yourself to a 100$ room if theres 2 or more of you at makai inn or one of the other B&Bs as you will get your own kitchen bathroom and space.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freeandeasygoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Lahaina House
Old Lahaina House
#8 of 11 in Lahaina
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Lani Inn
Aloha Lani Inn
#11 of 11 in Lahaina
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puunoa Beach Estates
Puunoa Beach Estates
#26 of 43 in Lahaina
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiki Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiki Beach Hostel

Property: The Tiki Beach Hostel
Address: 545 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1191
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to Tiki Beach, your Hawaiian home away from home. Here at Tiki Beach, we want our guests to get the most out of Maui. We offer free rental of surfboards, snorkeling gear and beach chairs to help you relax, as well as free use of our bicycles to explore. With the beach at your doorstep and the center of Lahaina only 10 minutes away, enjoy a short walk to shopping, cafes and restaurants with ocean views. Speak to our staff about surf lessons, free tours and the BBQ we offer every Thursday. For your comfort, we offer free Wi-Fi, air-conditioned dorm and private rooms, fully equipped kitchens and inviting common areas. Come meet travellers and locals alike while you live by the 'aloha spirit' at Tiki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Tiki Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiki Beach Hostel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing