We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropica Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Tropica Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Honoapiilani Highway
Description: The Relish Oceanside restaurant features fresh island fish, delicious steak and contemporary cuisine with island flavors are scrumptiously prepared and served to you among a tropical oceanfront setting, along with waterfalls and flickering tiki torches.
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here because it was recommended, but was unimpressed both with the selections and the food. It was our last night in Maui and we hoped to continue the fine dining experiences we'd had, but this was a major disappointment. Expensive and not worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    85
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bar Experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We decided to take a night off and spend the evening at our hotel. I had read about the bar's appearance on "Drinking Made Easy."

We met Freddie, the bartender, and spent a lovely time at the bar trying his specialty drinks and dining on appetizers. If he has time, ask him about the "Nutty Hawaiian" or the "Okele Wow"! It's clear he's proud of his island home.

Plan on a visit the the Tropica Bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johoallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing restaurant experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location to have dinner at sundown, but the service was disappointing and the food presentation was fine but the quantity was very sparce. The ahi tuna had just a few small pieces on my plate and at the price I paid, my expectation was for a larger piece of ahi. The server seemed to be too busy to attend to our needs, and we had to wait for everything.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Destination dinner”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you are looking for a nice meal or just pupu's and drinks...try the Tropica!

The food is good, the location is fabulous and maybe if you are really lucky you will get Miss Lorriane as your server. She is very knowledgable, quick, and one of the sweetest ladies on the island!

if you are looking for a drink, you can't beat the bar for location. Tommy and Freddie have been our favorite bartenders for years now. They will make you feel at home and mix you a great cocktail.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank op96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a View”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved the location, the food and the service. Ikaika- the chef is very proud of his menu and personally came to our table to make sure we were happy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pammie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropica Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing