We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soup Nutz & Java Jazz

Soup Nutz & Java Jazz
Ranked #32 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great coffee and great breakfast! Very eccentric decor and fabulous service. I highly recommend this place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCbeachgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    252
    70
    32
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Island Flavor w/ a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate here for breakfast & dinner. (9-2-12) Veggie omelet & Loco Moco were absolutely delicious, flavorfull, mouth watering eats. Dinner(fish special) was fantastic as was menu ordering. The gentleman waiting on us, gets my vote for hospitality and his outstanding ability to wait on everyone w/ such speed. He is a work out to watch and a personality to remember. We stayed at the Mahana, just across the road from the marketplace, where Java Jazz is located. This market place is on the low road allowing easy access.If you are anywhere near Java Jazz, I suggest you drop in......U won't B disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justjo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great place, singer and drummer were very entertaining. It was my wife's birthday and they sang to her and blew kisses. This is a very different restaurant with all kind of different things on the walls. We ordered salads and fresh soup, which unfortuately the waiter Glenn forgot to bring, after waiting 30 minutes our dinners arrived. Glenn was a little out there and couldn't believe he screwed things up. He was nice and constantly kept apoligizing. We all had the fresh Ono at $25, and for $3 more got 3 shrimp and 3 scallops. Dinner was wonderful with all of us cleaning the entire plate. Cheese cake and a candle helped soften the mistakes, but Glenn realy tried. We wanted to go back and will next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little place with live music!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is funky place which has visitors pictures on the walls among other unusual items. The location was right across from where we were staying, which allowed us to walk over. We went on a Saturday evening and listened to live music, 70's stuff, which is our generation. The food was good, the staff was curtious and we enjoyed the uniqueness of the decor! It felt like an island eatery and wasn't expensive, relatively speaking.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wylie, tx.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Sometimes, in places like Hawaii, when you go out to dinner you sort of feel like you are getting ripped off. All the Duke's, Hula Grills, etc. are really expensive. (at least for travelers like us). However we found a place in West Maui that cured that feeling. Java Jazz has a funky coffee house feel to it but the food is very good. It is a good place to relax, and listen to some live music at dinner. We also had lunch there one day and breakfast another. No reservations required. We highly recommend it to anyone in the area of West Maui. We would definitely go again. Two thumbs up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eramp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soup Nutz & Java Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing