We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of Koa 156

Koa 156
Reserve with OpenTable
Koa 156 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 265 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kaanapali Shores Pl.
Transit: Papalau Street (bus stop)
Description: Koa’s Seaside Grill is now Koa 156º. The outstanding oceanfront view is coupled with an eclectic and delightful new menu that offers fresh local seafood as well as the finest meats and creative vegetarian options, using Hawai’i’s unique ingredients to create dishes that are not only tasteful but also beautifully presented.
Estacada, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here on our first morning in Maui. The meals were excellent and our server was a wealth of information about the island. Prices were reasonable. It felt like we were sitting right in the water.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grammy1953619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    374
    112
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the ocean...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We did drinks and appetizers here around sunset. The views from the rooftop deck are gorgeous. Very romantic.... If I weren't dining with my sister.

They have a decent mixed drink selection for $8-$9 each, which is about average. The apps were tasty. Would have stayed for dinner but we were drinking our way down front street! Nice place for a fancy meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Probably a solid 4.5”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was suggested to us by one of the valets at the Westin and it was really very good. The view was amazing, the service was great, and the food was pretty dang good. I had the surf and turf (kalbi ribs and shrimp) and my wife had the macadamia pesto seafood pasta. Both were very good! I appreciate a little sweeter glaze on the ribs....but it was still very good. My only real complaint would have been the calamari. It was a bit chewy on the night we chose to dine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank _derekboyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
2 reviews
“Great view and food (gluten free too)”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This restaurant was great - the food was wonderful and the view perfect. If you go, ask for a spot on the roof for the best view. The restaurant has a good happy hour menu (food and drinks) that was well priced. We ended up coming back a couple of times as it was so good.

For those with gluten free requirements, try the seared auhi plate - wonderful!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Went in here for a nice romantic dinner with my wife and while the atmosphere was beautiful. The food and wine were awful. $30 for a bowl of rice ,some veges and 4 shrimp .the wine was expensive and yuk. Don't waste your money here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkside69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillMMayo, Media Relations at Koa 156, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We'd like to use this as an opportunity for improvement so we will be sending you a private message to get more information about your visit. Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us and hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koa 156? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing