We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, decent food”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Lahaina
Ranked #54 of 265 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great views, decent food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had dinner here twice in January 2013. The food is just fine - nothing special but the shrimps are decent enough. The view from the terrace is great. Service was genuinely friendly and food was served very quickly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelForFunAndWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    786
    405
    166
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun, high energy atmosphere and solidly good food.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bubba Gump's is an experience. It's usually quite noisy, with lots of laughing, and it's a great place to take a squirmy child or two. No one will notice a bit more bedlam! We've been there twice now, several years apart, and both times the food has been consistently good. Not fabulous, but tasty and you know what to expect.
The views are incredible and the entire restuarant has a very tropical, holiday feel to it.

Tip: Avoid waiting in line by eating a bit earlier or later than usual. We were seated immediately right over the ocean when we arrived at 11am for lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun, fast food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Bubba Gumps is always consistent. The menu is fairly standard and doesn't change. Lots of fried selections. The location/view is the absolute best part of the visit. It is a high energy restaurant. The servers are loud, with lots of yelling and laughing. It is a very fast food experience, they get you out the door as quickly as possible. Beers were warm (they reported a problem with the fridge).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robynmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always a must visit in Maui”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Really enjoy this restaurant! Request window seating if you can. View is amazing! If you love shrimp, you can't go wrong here. Staff is fun and friendly and it's a great place for kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We sat right over the ocean. It was beautiful. We had a mishap with the signs blowing over and pouring soda into a salad, shopping bag and all over my grandmas lap but that was not the fault of the restaurant. The food was good and they had a gluten free menu. It took a bit for the hostesses to figure out how and where to seat people while they meandered in front of the store. The waiter was very kind and did a great job serving for us. I wish I could recall his name! Beware the signs on windy days :) I had a shrimp and rice dish and my grandma ordered a fried shrimp and French fry meal with a Cesar salad that she liked (before the soda mishap) they brought her a new one and helped her clean up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kgraves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Lahaina also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co Lahaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing