We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small strip mall Mexican Food restaurant”
Review of Maui Tacos Napili

Maui Tacos Napili
Ranked #61 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: At Maui's Tacos, we've taken the best flavors of Mexico and fused them with the flavors of Aloha! A favorite for locals and tourists alike, Maui's Tacos serves Mexican cuisine with a Hawaiian twist. Join us for our famous fish tacos and our salsa bar.
Irvine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small strip mall Mexican Food restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Food was fair but the place is mot very clean. We arrived about 6pm for dinner. No one was in the restaurant but it was hard to find a clean table. It appeared that they never wiped them down after the lunch crowd. This is an ok place if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    166
    78
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“GOOD place for TACOS”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food was good....but crowded. We had baha fish tacos, they were tasty and plentiful. It's in a strip center with plenty of parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good mexican food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food was very good. We had burritos and tacos and were very pleased. A lot of food for your money. Very small and hot inside, suggest sitting outside. Would return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaFiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good if you like high school cafeteria food...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We (16 year old daughter, husband and I) went to Maui Tacos for lunch today expecting decent food. My daughter summed it up best when she said her quesadilla tasted like the ones at the cafeteria in her High School.

My taco salad contained a little iceberg lettuce mix, a lot of retried beans and some chicken (which I ordered as an extra item). My husband's burrito was mostly rice with a few tiny shreds of pork. They have an interesting salsa bar with a variety of thin salsas and condiments, but they only gave us a few chips. Buy additional chips to try their salsas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tasty food but overpriced and SLOW grumpy service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I go to Maui every summer, and I'm always hoping that things will improve at Maui Tacos. The food is pretty good, consistent, TO-GO mexican food. Good salsa. But geez, the locals working there are ALWAYS, and I do mean ALWAYS soooo slow and full of attitude. Consistently act like they are doing you a favor by taking your order. Would much rather talk to their friends that come by, while a line forms, tourists waiting to place orders. Almost every time, something is missing or wrong, when you get your order, some time later. I keep going back because it's close to Napili Bay, where I stay, and cheaper than a fancy sit down place-- but I consistently spent atleast $40 for dinner for I adult, and 3 kids meals. Outrageous for this kind of take-out, paper plate kind of food, even for Maui. I've never seen a manager of any kind there- believe me, I've looked. The Maui Tacos in Lahaina is marginally better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTacosHawaii, Owner at Maui Tacos Napili, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Sjksmom,

Mahalo for the review. We are proud to serve you the best quality product around and Thank You for your visit every summer. As you can imagine your review has not gone unnoticed and will review it with our team in regards to the customer service. If you have a chance could you provide a date and time if available so I look a little further into the issue.

Once again Mahalo for the review.
Anthony Kern
anthonyk@mauitacos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Tacos Napili also viewed

 

Been to Maui Tacos Napili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing