We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kobe' Japanese Steak House

Kobe' Japanese Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Kobe' Japanese Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Luakini
Transit: The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.
Description: Enjoy the exciting, ancient art of teppanyaki cooking at the restaurant voted number 1 Japanese restaurant on Maui. Teppanyaki is derived from "teppan" which means iron plate and "yaki" which means grilled. At Kobe, it is delivered with the style and grace of a Japanese country inn. Blend in the gentle aloha of Hawaii, you will experience an evening where terrific food and entertainment are the perfect combination. After a delicious bowl of shabu-shabu soup, your teppan chef will begin to cook up an entrée of dishes, right in front of you, cooking it to tasty perfection, while watching him do the "flaming onion volcano", one of their many culinary tricks. Another favorite at Kobe is to sit in the sunken sushi bar and order one of uncle Oku's fabulous daily specials and enjoy watching the chefs masterfully create their delicious sushi. Oku prides himself on the high quality of fresh fish he chooses from local vendors. Approximately 95% of Oku's fish comes from Hawaii, and the balance of his menu consists of exotic items imported from Japan. The restaurant décor features many historical ornaments and artifacts to provide an authentic feel of Japan, the mother country. Kobe Japanese Steak House & Oku's Sushi Bar delights visiting guests and Island locals alike. Come and join us for a great meal today!
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to Kobe on my birthday and thoroughly enjoyed it!
I always have the steak and chicken combo, but this time the sashimi appetizer was worthy of
mention.
Compare to Vancouver's branch, it was also amazingly more reasonable.
This is not my first time in Lahaina, and it won't be our last.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    116
    83
    33
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
“It was a terrible experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The food was not what I expected. The fish had no taste. They charge for refill, and the glass was already small to start with. They ruined our Christmas party. We made reservations but they kicked us out because they were backed up. So rude!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m_aivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish & a Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Everyone has probably been to a Japanese steak house with the grill in front of you and a chef for each table, but this one was exceptional & very reasonably priced for Lahaina. We both had the fresh Opakapaka fish which includes soup & fresh cooked vegetables, and an enjoyable chef who puts on quite a show! When I missed getting a picture of the flaming onion volcano, he lit it again for me. I have to say the fish was cooked perfectly and tasted better than the fish I had at a seafood restaurant in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Island04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Time for a refresh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Every visit to Maui we go to Kobe.
I'm in no rush to return, unfortunately.
In the past the food, welcoming atmosphere and service brought us back.
The good was ok, nothing special at all. The scallops oversized and bland and the fish seemingly thawed, didn't taste fresh at all.
The entertainment and service was rushed as, the location as usual is packed and they are in an incredible hurry to get you in-and-out so they can seat the next crowd.

We arrived early and asked if we could sit in the lounge while we waited. There was a table full of small grade-school kids, literally running around the bar. There was only the bartender, no wait staff in the area. Table side the waiter was efficient and effective but simply did not have the time to provide welcoming service, literally was hustling nonstop between tables just to get drink orders and water glasses filled.

Summary:
Food was average, nothing to brag about
Service was rushed, not a relaxing meal environment
The decor appears old and dated

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cctkMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun Experience, Reasonable Food, Tired Decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Many folks have visited a Kobe Restaurant and experienced the food show of teppanyaki cooking, which has not changed in years. On a recent trip to Maui/Lahaina we decided to repeat with another couple after many years. We were able to get a last minute reservation, which on a Saturday in Lahaina was a cause for concern. However the service was prompt and friendly, although while waiting in the bar area (things haven't changed) there were confusing, rather vague, explanations of the menu. This was sorted out however when we were seated.by a friendly and helpful server. The chef was good, the food was tasty, and dining satisfaction was there. The Kobe Lahaina has been present for 27 years and the decor and surroundings are in need of a serious update. The bar is dingy and the woodwork is tired and tacky. Renovated washrooms however were clean. .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank activeseniorsKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe' Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Kobe' Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing