We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good dinner”

Leilani's On The Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Leilani's On The Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, steaks,and barbecue ribs. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another good dinner”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took my friend to dinner as a thank you and we had really good service and the food was great. A little crowded, but what the heck it was spring break. Had what sort of serves as bad weather with a little wind and rain and while the plastic shades helped a lot, there were times we wished for a sweater, "really in Hawaii?"

I am a fan of TS Restaurants in CA and Hawaii and as usual the overall experience was fabulous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPG1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    1,459
    471
    134
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good, as usual”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate at Leilani's 2 nights during our stay. The second night we had requested ocean front and that is where we sat (made reservations 3 nights ahead). The food and wait staff were both excellent. Very nice wine and good drinks. Portions were large enough for sharing. This is a very good restaurant with a killer location as it is just next to the beach rather than set back inside a hotel or next to the lobby of one of the very large and expensive hotels at Ka'anapali.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Amazing fish tacos! Fish and chips and burgers great too. Friendly service and a nice decor. Great setting near the beach. Although had to wait, we watched a hula show in the whalers village shopping mall.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soupy4Saskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Not a great dinner”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the setting of Leilani's right on the best beach in the world. We've dined here on past Maui vacations , and this time I was a bit disappointed. We sat downstairs for their "casual" menu, so I was not expecting a fine dining experience but the service was just plain bad. They were very busy and various servers took our orders, brought food or drinks etc., but no one was really accountable. Regardless, we still paid plenty for our meal for a party of five and I expect more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HWlovesmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Four of us ate at Leilani's on Monday, April 1. We had a 6:30 PM reservation for inside seating. We were not seated for approximately 20 minutes after our scheduled reservation, and were seated outside, which the restaurant considered "inside" seating. Each couple ordered a pupu, one crab cakes, the other portabello mushroom ravioli; both were delicious. For the main entree, we had mahi mahi, one with grilled shrimp and jasmine rice, the other with a citrus marinade and mixed vegetables; again both were absolutely delicious. They brought the dishes out already divided onto the two plates per couple, which was wonderful. We ordered a piece of hula pie for dessert to split between the four of us; this was more than enough for four following the meals. Before the dessert came, it started to rain, we asked the waitress if we could move since we were to be seated inside per our reservation. She had a couple of the waiters pull out an awning that covered our table, and others beside us. Because of the late seating, and the rain, when the bill came they deducted the pupu's and dessert from the bills. The staff was all very friendly and did make things right in the end. We would recommend eating here if you stay in the Kaanapali Beach area on Maui.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoxieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leilani's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Leilani's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing