We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the grill!”

Leilani's On The Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Leilani's On The Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 30
Transit: Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!
Description: Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, steaks,and barbecue ribs. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.
Coalville, Utah
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved the grill!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate here twice during our week in Maui- offered different menu items then other restaurants around. Great service and price! Try the Hula pie!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    1,459
    471
    134
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Fish Tale”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great selection of fresh fish and a variety of different choices for cooking and sauces. Signature desert is incredible! Views of the sunset are good if you are seated close to the beachside of restaurant, otherwise you can't see much. We had good and friendly service and didn't need a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djmattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Leilani's on the Beach”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Leilani's has consistently great food and service. We eat here every year when we come to Maui. The fresh seafood is always fantastic. Great service and good drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast Lunch or Dinner”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Which ever meal you're after, Leilani's on the Beach should not be missed. A very friendly place and very good food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rocafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Beautiful oceanfront dining and great mai tais!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place was recommended by another friend who'd been to Maui, and her suggestion was appreciated. It was more moderately priced than many of the restaurants we saw and the food was good. I had a kalua pork cuban sandwich that was really tasty and with the fries and a mai tai, could only eat half of it. I refrigerated it overnight and had it the next day, cold, for lunch, and it tasted even better than it had for dinner! Not bad for $12.95, especially on Maui.

The service was so so. Though it was incredibly busy (just before sunset) when we arrived, we didn't have to wait long for a table. Our waitress arrived promptly, as did our drinks and food after we'd ordered. Unfortunately, the order was a bit mixed up. They delivered the wrong kind of sandwich to one of my friends and we had to wait while they corrected the order. We just happened to hit on happy hour too so 3 of us ordered $4 mai tais. They were fantastic, not watered down like typical restaurant alcoholic beverages. So tasty! Unfortunately again, though, one friend ordered a virgin mai tai because she's pregnant and then found out when she got her bill that the virgin mai tais weren't included in happy hour so her drink was $6. We asked the waitress if it had been a mistake, and she was pretty abrupt about it, not even apologizing for the misunderstanding or offering to give her the $4 price.

They had a singer with a guitar who was pretty darn good. He covered some popular contemporary songs and actually sounded quite a bit like Jason Mraz. It completed the great atmosphere with outdoor patio seating just off the beach along the ocean...great place to watch the sunset. They have blinds they drop also to give shade during the heat of the day. It's located right in Whaler's Village with lots of cute (but spendy) shops to check out while you're waiting for a table or looking for a special gift item. We also had the Maui Revealed guidebook which gave us perfect directions on parking. We slid into an empty spot that was free just feet from the restaurant.

I would eat there again if I ever go back to Maui!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoSmallPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leilani's On The Beach also viewed

 

Been to Leilani's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing