We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleased by our food”

China Boat Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleased by our food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've driven by China Boat a number of times over the past four years and had never eaten there until today. We did take-out and had the Pineapple Coconut Shrimp and Orange Peel Chicken. Both dishes were tasty, though we would have preferred less breading on the shrimp. We also ordered brown rice which was cooked perfectly. It's a good change of pace from regular island fare and reasonably priced. We'll go there again when we are back on Maui.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    152
    64
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, wa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chinese near Lahaina”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Chinese is fairly limited in Maui or atleast the west side. The food was good, prices a little high for what you get. Not a lot of combo options and I was surpised when my entree didn't come with rice! Friendly staff, quiet atmosphere, nice taste change. Affordable for Maui!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staceyr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
254 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good but not as Good as in the Past”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We travel to Maui every year and have really enjoyed our meals from the China Boat. This year the good was good but not great! Something just seemed different. We have always ordered take out since we have a condo nearby.

This year we ordered take out twice from the China Boat. Even though it wasn't as good as in past years, we will order again when visiting Maui.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cshager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure it lives up to the hype”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We heard from several people that this restaurant was amazing, while it wasn't bad, I didn't notice anything all that special. My fiance and I both enjoy asian food, this wasn't as good as some other restaurants we've frequented. I didn't love that they charge you extra to have rice accompany your meal, their prices are already fairly high.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoxieLou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We had take-out on our last night in Maui. There was a big group of us so we got to try lots of different dishes. All were excellent. This is standard Chinese food that you would expect in any major city, but is very tasty and well prepared. would definitely recommend if you're in the mood for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Boat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to China Boat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing