We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection!”
Review of Lahaina Grill

Lahaina Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Lahaina Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Description: Open nightly from 5pm. Voted Best Maui Restaurant for 24 years in a row (1994-2017)! Featuring innovative, New American cuisine, Lahaina Grill uses techniques and flavors from around the world, all perfectly blended with the freshest ingredients cultivatedby Maui's local farms, dairies and surrounding waters.
Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This restaurant is not only our first pick in NW Maui, but our favorite, period.
It all works.
Friendly, attentive service, attention to detail, outstanding, creative dishes, presentation, and savory cuisine that rivals most of the Michelin three star establishments we have dined at.

This trip we made a point to dine here three times. Pricey? Yes, but so worth it! We make it a point to request Justin, as our waiter. His assistant, Martin is spectacular. They work together as a team to make the dining experience one to be remembered. Justin is very knowledgeable of the menu items and specials and orchestrates any special requests. Very good wine knowledge, as well.

I have never gotten anything off this menu that I thought was below par. The sauces are complex and well balanced with the protein they are paired with, vegetables cooked to perfection, and wine pairings expertly executed.

Make reservations ahead of time, as they fill up fast. No view, but hey...you come for the food and service, here. Bit crowded, bit noisy, but you'll get over it. I can't say enough about this establishment. Take time to look at my food pictures and you will see how awesome this is.

DO THIS!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank alienpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,227
    470
    165
    61
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have had many wonderful dining experiences in Maui, but this was outstanding. The service is attentive and the dining room feels very comfortable and inviting. Two of us started with the Caesar salad which was very good, and the bread was truly delicious. Two at our table ordered the filet which was melt-in-your -mouth delicious, with an incredible sauce, two ordered the Tequila Shrimp which was delicious, and one person ordered the meatballs. Everyone enjoyed their entrees and we did finish with one dessert. We had the ice cream pie with macadamia nuts and coconut. We ordered several ice cream desserts while in Maui, but this was our favorite. This restaurant is expensive, even by Maui standards, but the food is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lahaina perfection”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We dined at the restaurant for our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff were really nice and made us feel very special. We received a signed card and had our photo taken which was later send to us via email. Then came the serious part - the dining.
The menu is not large but has an excellent variety with the highlight being the combining of local produce. We started with "the cakewalk" - a maine lobster crab cake, pacific nw shrimp cake and a seared ahi cake. Delicate flavours were evident with the cakes and accompanying sauces.
My wife had the lamb shank for entree whilst I had the opakapaka. Both were specials and both were excellent. The mash that was used on both meals was sublime.
Fortunately there was room for a shared dessert and this was the kula lime tart. This was a real highlight especially with the macadamia crust.
Throughout the service had been prompt, efficient and knowledgeable whilst unobtrusive.
They really know what they are doing.
For us it was a memorable evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorlaxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We ate here last night for the first time and loved it. The name is deceiving, this is no "grill" - its a high end gourmet restaurant with quite a list of creative and wonderful items. Great food, attentive staff. It is expensive but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sooo Good!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have dined worldwide and I would put this restaurant in the top 10. Everything was fresh and beautifully prepared. Service was wonderful as well. Best meal we had all week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winnie90_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lahaina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing