We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in downtown Lahaina”
Review of Lahaina Grill

Lahaina Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Lahaina Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 264 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Description: Open nightly from 5pm. Voted Best Maui Restaurant for 24 years in a row (1994-2017)! Featuring innovative, New American cuisine, Lahaina Grill uses techniques and flavors from around the world, all perfectly blended with the freshest ingredients cultivatedby Maui's local farms, dairies and surrounding waters.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in downtown Lahaina”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very Good Food in pleasant surroundings. No view. No parking. Superior service. Special of the night was an excellent SeaBass paired with Shrimp over Asparagus Risotto. Our other dish was the scallops.They were superb. The chili relleno appetizer was stuffed with seafood and an excellent sauce. Not much Hawaiian atmosphere, but food makes up for it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyd43ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,256
    475
    165
    61
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and were with friends for a week but decided on a night out alone for a change. We read reviews and decided on Lahaina Grill. We were seated in a side room (much less atmosphere than the main room) which was very noisy partly due to several young children (get a babysitter for Pete sake). And our table was right next to the kitchen entrance...ugh. The wait staff was highly knowledgeable and efficient (Mary C and Martine). My beet salad was so-so and certainly nothing which tasted organic or local fresh. My husband had the "toy box" tomatoes...small portion of grape tomatoes in a small martini glass for the ridiculous $17. My Mahi Mahi was fresh and tender but the sauce overwhelmingly salty. My husband had the vegetarian special which he liked but I found practically unedible--the oddest tasting polenta and squash I'd ever tasted and again way too heavy on the salt. Save your money and go to Roy's. we went the next night with our friends and it was one if the best meals we've ever had..expensive but worth every dime...fresh local food and it tasted as such.

Helpful?
Thank evansemery1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lahaina Grill Review”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Lahaina Grill is one of my favorite restaurants on Maui. The food is exceptional and service outstanding. After dinner you could take a walk in Lahaina Town which is always a good time. Mary one of the bartenders is just wonderful. We have clients and friends who return to Maui year after and would not miss the Lahaina Grill experience. The food is expensive but than what isn't on Maui but well worth it. Make sure you have one of their salads. Their salad Chef is amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheriBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Best dining experience on Maui. There is positively no way to describe how good the food is. I had the Maui onion and seaseme encrusted ahi tuna. Unbelievable!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MischelleDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Non touristy place in a touristy area”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Many Maui restaurants have the same beachy, island feel. This one doesn't, and that's both a positive and a negative. There is no view to speak of, unless you consider Front Street a view. That was a bit of a shock after so many oceanfront meals, but it was also kind of nice to go somewhere that the food was the star.

And it was: the sea bass special was terrific. We had heard several people raving about the meatballs, which are great, but here's a trick: you can get them (minus the pasta) as an appetizer. It's not on the menu, but it's a great way to free yourself up to try something else as your entree.

Service was very good. All in all, a great experience that could've been at home anywhere in America, and just happens to be in Maui.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lahaina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing