We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kimo's for Dinner”
Review of Kimo's Restaurant

Kimo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Papalaua Street and Wahie Lane
Description: Right on the water and in the heart of historic Lahaina, Kimo’s brings you and your o’hana (Hawaiian for family) a casual, completely Maui dining experience. Renowned our “postcard” views of Lanai and Molokai, we offer a menu featuring fresh Hawaiian fish, prime rib, prime steaks and the original Hula Pie, Kimo’s has been a Maui must-do for over 30 years. The upstairs main dining room shows the architectural influence of New England on the former whaling port, with koa-lined walls, missionary-style furnishings and maritime memorabilia. After dinner, Kimo’s lanai becomes a very cool hotspot for tropical cocktails and Hawaiian music. Live entertainment is offered on weekends and select week nights.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kimo's for Dinner”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice meal- . Had the Red Snapper. Waiter was excellent- service good- We sat on the deck with a group of our friends and enjoyed the dinner. HULA PIE for dessert. Yummy yummy.
Kimo's location of Front street gives you the opportunity to browse the many and varied shops on the street ( and spend more money). We loved all of the Art stores.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,447
    1,476
    462
    101
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Every visitor to Maui should go at least once”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Took my wife and 1 year old daughter for dinner at sunset (beautiful). Very profesional service and the best food we had our whole vacation. A little spendy but worth the price. A must visit in Maui!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, and wonderful sunset views!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We ate here twice during our recent trip to Maui and loved it each time! We sat on the deck at sunset both times and had the wonderful fish tacos! Great place, excellent service and some of the best sunset views you will get!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The calamari appetizer is to die for”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have never, ever, liked calamari. The first, and all subsequent tastings, were rubbery, usually being round, just like rubber bands, aka elastics. The calamari appetizer at Kimo's was of the head part, and they were juicy, thick much like a chicken strip, although nothing like anything you have ever tasted. The meals we all had were fabulous, so I'm guessing that almost everything on the menu was terrific. The service was beyond good. And you'll want to wait for a table looking out on the ocean. It's worth the wait. Then there's the Hula Pie dessert. We had a coupon from the cruise ship for a freebie, and was one of the most spectacular desserts I've ever had. I don't usually give a 5 star to any restaurants after one visit, but this place really deserves it. We ate at their "sister" restaurant Dukes (on Kauai, I believe) and the food there was just as good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreggL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, IL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food, and view.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This restaurant opens to beautiful and expansive views of the beach and water. It is located on the VERY BUSY Front Street in Lahaina...it is really lovely to duck in here and enjoy a quiet break from the bustling shopping district. The food is excellent, priced moderately, and served up by a great staff. This restaurant is on my "re-visit list."

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandank75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kimo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing