We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for families, very comfortable, good service and amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montage Kapalua Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montage Kapalua Bay
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
bevelry hills
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for families, very comfortable, good service and amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The only reason why I didn't give them a 5 rating is because it opened only 6 weeks ago and it is still getting all of the kinks worked out. The deal was a great one because of the opening so we decided to spend 1 night and 2 days here. They were very welcoming and I could definitely see coming back w my family. The resort has only 50 units so it is more intimate than most. It has great access to Kapalua beach, a huge, lagoon style really great pool, several bars/lunch areas. My only comment would be only 1 option for breakfast and dinner on property. But I think that will change over time. Plus you are so close to many other restaurants.
The place is recently converted from the ritz carlton residence so they are all 2 and 3 bedroom condos with full kitchen, sitting area and dining area. They also have HUGE lanais. Fantastic for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    22
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
186
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staying at this beautiful hotel was a privilege. It is by far the nicest resort hotel I have ever been to. Our rooms were extremely well appointed and very spacious. Service is unparalleled. Wonderful

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjtravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This property has it all! All suite (residences) rooms, a perfect location at Kapalua Bay, seven level heated pool, three bars, fine dining, room service, a fabulous spa and five star staff.

If you're flying all the way the Maui, this is the place to stay! The hardest part will be leaving the property to see the rest of the island.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandrews1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel located on Kapalua Bay, voted Best Beach in the World several times. Suites are huge, with full kitchens, washer & dryer, and spacious living, sleeping and lanai areas. Nicest room I've ever stayed in, with a view of lush grounds, lagoon pools, the ocean and two adjacent islands. Soon to be "the" undisputed best place to stay on Maui.

Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Amazing views and rooms. Was worth every penny. Very friendly staff, felt very welcoming. Great food and service. Many different pool choices, was very spread out and not too packed with other people. Definitely will come again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We ate at the Cane and Canoe for our second anniversary. The atmosphere was amazing with authentic hula dancers and beautiful music. At first we were not sure of what to order and our server "Makin" originally from Alaska, recommended a wonderful three course meal and he even paired wine with each course that made it one of the best meals we have ever experienced. The view of the sunset was incredible and I can't thank the staff enough for making this one of the best nights ever for my wife and myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I just returned this morning from our visit to the newest Montage and I can't say enough wonderful things about the people and the property itself. Everyone was so kind and helpful and you would never know most were new hires for the opening a month ago. Helpful, friendly, happy- everything you want in a staff! The resort itself is beautiful with amazing views of the Pacific and island of Molokai. While the beach is Mauna Kea Beach Hotel (on the big island/a personal favorite) is bigger and less crowded the beach is beautiful with great snorkeling just off the shore (we swam with sea turtles). The pools are amazing for both adults and kids, and the chairs at the pool are oversized and super comfortable. There are so many things to do around the hotel- golf at the Plantation course was so wonderful, cliff jumping, hiking, water activities, tennis and so much more we didn't even have time to do! The rooms are enormous with even bigger patios and full kitchens. There is a market inside the hotel for basics and a bigger one just up the road a bit. My only complaint about the rooms is I would love to see a little more Hawaii in them- a touch here and there would do wonders. But, I really don't have a complaint about this hotel- it was amazing and bound to become the place to stay on Maui both for couples and families!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
26.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
26.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Kapalua Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Kapalua Bay

Property: Montage Kapalua Bay
Address: 1 Bay Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9035 (Formerly The Residences at Kapalua Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Kapalua Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier Maui resort, Montage Kapalua Bay invites guests to experience oceanfront accommodations imbued with island spirit. Spacious one-, two-, three- and four- bedroom residential-style accommodations offer expansive living rooms, large private lanais, fully equipped kitchens and elegant master suites. Dining venues range from the upscale Cane & Canoe to the grab-and-go Mahana Market to complement the full-service Spa Montage, historic Cliff House, neighboring two championship golf courses, tennis courts and zip-lines. Guests will be embraced with a blend of relaxation and rejuvenation, marked indelibly by unique beauty and culture. This resort is the perfect setting for multi-generational family vacations and secluded getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Kapalua Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Kapalua Bay Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing