We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A privilege” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Kapalua Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Kapalua Bay
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Mpls
1 review
“A privilege”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staying at this beautiful hotel was a privilege. It is by far the nicest resort hotel I have ever been to. Our rooms were extremely well appointed and very spacious. Service is unparalleled. Wonderful

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjtravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    17
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
156
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This property has it all! All suite (residences) rooms, a perfect location at Kapalua Bay, seven level heated pool, three bars, fine dining, room service, a fabulous spa and five star staff.

If you're flying all the way the Maui, this is the place to stay! The hardest part will be leaving the property to see the rest of the island.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandrews1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel located on Kapalua Bay, voted Best Beach in the World several times. Suites are huge, with full kitchens, washer & dryer, and spacious living, sleeping and lanai areas. Nicest room I've ever stayed in, with a view of lush grounds, lagoon pools, the ocean and two adjacent islands. Soon to be "the" undisputed best place to stay on Maui.

Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Amazing views and rooms. Was worth every penny. Very friendly staff, felt very welcoming. Great food and service. Many different pool choices, was very spread out and not too packed with other people. Definitely will come again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We ate at the Cane and Canoe for our second anniversary. The atmosphere was amazing with authentic hula dancers and beautiful music. At first we were not sure of what to order and our server "Makin" originally from Alaska, recommended a wonderful three course meal and he even paired wine with each course that made it one of the best meals we have ever experienced. The view of the sunset was incredible and I can't thank the staff enough for making this one of the best nights ever for my wife and myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I just returned this morning from our visit to the newest Montage and I can't say enough wonderful things about the people and the property itself. Everyone was so kind and helpful and you would never know most were new hires for the opening a month ago. Helpful, friendly, happy- everything you want in a staff! The resort itself is beautiful with amazing views of the Pacific and island of Molokai. While the beach is Mauna Kea Beach Hotel (on the big island/a personal favorite) is bigger and less crowded the beach is beautiful with great snorkeling just off the shore (we swam with sea turtles). The pools are amazing for both adults and kids, and the chairs at the pool are oversized and super comfortable. There are so many things to do around the hotel- golf at the Plantation course was so wonderful, cliff jumping, hiking, water activities, tennis and so much more we didn't even have time to do! The rooms are enormous with even bigger patios and full kitchens. There is a market inside the hotel for basics and a bigger one just up the road a bit. My only complaint about the rooms is I would love to see a little more Hawaii in them- a touch here and there would do wonders. But, I really don't have a complaint about this hotel- it was amazing and bound to become the place to stay on Maui both for couples and families!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It all began before we arrived when my husband contacted Janet to book our activities and dinners. From that moment on we were in excellent hands. Janet immediately assessed our wants and desires and delivered big time. We played golf on the Plantation Course (spectacular), rode horses from the Mendes Ranch (only ranch on the island where you can run the horses), spent the 4th of July on the Hula Girl catamaran watching the fireworks on the water and went zip lining in Kapalua! Our dinner reservations were made and taxis all arranged. That was before we even set foot on the property. The other reviews say it all. The place is pristine and spectacular. I don't think the word "no" is in their vocabulary. So, without repeating the rave reviews of others, I want to speak about the special people who deserve mentioning. Along with Janet, we loved chatting with Audrey. She was always interested in our days and our dinners. My husband got up early and went to the Mahana Market for coffee. The woman always asked about our plans and was generally interested in what we would be doing. After a breathtaking walk along the coastal trail or a more vigorous one around the lake loop, our mornings started out with Christine or Kane for breakfast, with Sam making sure I had my decaf and lots of water. At the pool, Beth made sure we were hydrated and full, and Manu at the pool bar fixed us great island drinks. Speaking of bars, Mitch and Matt were the best. They were always up for good conversations, great drinks and some malasadas (not to be missed donuts) at the Cane and Canoe bar. We wanted our vacation from the east coast to be relaxing and rejuvenating. This exceeded all of our expectations. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeslieZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
26.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
26.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
25.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Kapalua Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Kapalua Bay

Property: Montage Kapalua Bay
Address: 1 Bay Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly The Residences at Kapalua Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Kapalua Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Kapalua Bay is an expansive, world-class resort set atop picturesque Kapalua Bay along the shimmering shores on the island of Maui, Hawaii. Combining 50 residences, six grand residences and 54 Montage Residences, the 24-acre resort celebrates the aloha spirit of Maui, the richness of Hawaiian culture, and regional art and artisanship - from architecture and local visual art to culinary and spa offerings. Montage Kapalua Bay includes a multi-tiered lagoon pool, Cane & Canoe signature restaurant, Mahana Market, Spa Montage and luxury residential accommodations featuring spacious living rooms, large private lanais and fully equipped gourmet kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Kapalua Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Kapalua Bay Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing