We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show!”
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #8 of 18 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great show!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the first time we have gone to the Slack Key Show. We loved everything about it. Very comfortable location, wonderful music, and loved the talk story aspect. Felt really cozy like you were in their backyard. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    46
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very entertaining”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed the music and learned some things about Hawaii at the same time. George is a great storyteller, too :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craigerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HAWAIIAN MASTERS SLACK KEY SHOW-NAPILI, MAUI, HI”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have gone to this show every year for nearly a decade. The musicians who play this show are the best in the Hawaiian music business. You can usually check who is playing two or three months in advance, so you can work them into your schedule when you are in Maui. I first saw Dennis Kamakahi, George Kahamoku, Keoki Kahamoku, Richard Ho'opi'i and Cyril Pahanui there for the first time. Uncle Cyril led me to his brother Martin Pahanui, and his nephews (the Ukelele Boys, Jeff Peterson, Sony Lim, and my friend Jerry Santos. These are all good people for you to see. The list goes on and on as the who's who of Hawaiian Slack Key will all show up during the course of the year. They are all wonderful, and you will leave happy that you made the choice to see thisi fabulous show. When I can I try to visit at least once a year, and on a lucky year two times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloha9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Up Close With a Grammy Winner”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Uncle George's weekly slack key concert at the Napili Kai with it's ever changing guest artist and the ukulele boys will have you returning again and again. We just went to our 7th, yes 7th concert and over the years, we were treated to amazing talent like Cyril Pahinui, Owana Salazar, Makana, Kawika Kahiapo, Sonny Lim, Bobby Ingano, and this year Sean Na`auao.

No where but Hawaii will you be up close with a Grammy winner and his Grammy which he brings to his shows. Their humbleness and appreciation is priceless that by the end of the show, you will forget that you're not a guest at one of their backyard jam session just talking story.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian Music”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Saw this show at our resort and was very impressed. We even bought 5 CD's before we left. This show is what Maui is all about...We'll be back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing