We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Performance”
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #8 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Performance”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A fun performance of not only two slack key artists but two ukulele players. We enjoyed the upbeat music and quickly put us in the aloha of Hawaii.
We made reservations by phone but received email confirmation after the show. We could have just shown up as there was plenty of seating. Bring a flashlight for your return trek back to your car if you had to park one. No parking on site

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pdbrown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    46
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great music and great place”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This show is very well-staged and performed at the beautiful Napili Kai Resort.Slack key guitar produces a very unique and relaxing sound that is Hawaiian all the way. The resort itself is one of the best small hotel/condo properies in the islands. Fantastic views, setting, terrific little path through the Rocks and good restaurant, the Sea House. Also, this right next door to Kapalua Beach and has its own nice beach, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slack Key Show and Dinner”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The show was wonderful. We have been coming to George's Slack Key Shows for more years than we can remember. Usually twice a year when we come to Maui.
We tried the dinner on site this last visit and it was TERRIBLE. Will not do that again.
Show great, dinner not worth the money or time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Couldn't have enjoyed it more unless the performance were to run longer. It was Terrific!
Kahumoku, Jr is a master of the Hawaiian guitar & there is no one better on the ukelele than Garrett Probst.
Peter deAquino & Sterling Seaton were great as well. Super group.

Three Thumbs Up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaanapali
2 reviews
“Uncle George and his Slack Key Show”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

You can go and see a magic show here on Maui but when you go to Uncle George's Slack key show you will feel like you are going to your neighbors house to hear them play music. As you walk to the entrance of the show its like you are walking through the side yard of your neighbors house and when you get to the stage its like your watching good friends play all styles of music. The only thing missing was my cooler...AWESOME ! SHOW

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hap J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing