We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slack Key Show and Dinner”
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #8 of 17 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slack Key Show and Dinner”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The show was wonderful. We have been coming to George's Slack Key Shows for more years than we can remember. Usually twice a year when we come to Maui.
We tried the dinner on site this last visit and it was TERRIBLE. Will not do that again.
Show great, dinner not worth the money or time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    46
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Couldn't have enjoyed it more unless the performance were to run longer. It was Terrific!
Kahumoku, Jr is a master of the Hawaiian guitar & there is no one better on the ukelele than Garrett Probst.
Peter deAquino & Sterling Seaton were great as well. Super group.

Three Thumbs Up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaanapali
2 reviews
“Uncle George and his Slack Key Show”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

You can go and see a magic show here on Maui but when you go to Uncle George's Slack key show you will feel like you are going to your neighbors house to hear them play music. As you walk to the entrance of the show its like you are walking through the side yard of your neighbors house and when you get to the stage its like your watching good friends play all styles of music. The only thing missing was my cooler...AWESOME ! SHOW

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hap J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“George Kahumoku's Slack Key show”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Not to be missed! George Kahumoku's Slack Key Show is one of the finest attractions Maui has to offer. It is audience friendly, George tells great stories of his life experiences and shares a wealth of Hawaiian tales. With lovely hula dancers, special guests that change each week, the show includes Hawaiian back porch style jamming in the second half. All ages can appreciate this event, especially if you love music, Hawaiian history, family style harmonies, guitar or Slack Key and some incredible musical virtuosity.
I put a trip advisor video upso you can get a taste of the show! I love this show, saw it twice, and I would go back again and again because it is different each week!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were told about the show by a clerk at the place we were staying who at the same time recommended dinner at the restaurant on the grounds where the show was taking place. Dinner was fabulous and the sunset view was a show unto itself. The Music of the Slack Key Guitar was amazing with truely great musicians who had a feeling of Ohana between them that melted into the audience!! We have been to Hawaii many times and will go back again for the evening as well as dinner. Only down side was that by the end of the evening the chairs were less than comfortable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing