We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Show”
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #8 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Show”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was looking forward to this show and it didn't dissapoint! George Kahukomo,the host of the show,was playing a warm up set when we arrived. He had just come off a 23 show,23 day tour of the mainland and had a cold and one of Da Ukulele Boyz was sick,but dispite this it was an excellent show. We enjoyed the stories between songs and the hula dancing.The steel guitar sounds of the featured artist Bobby Igano were great,too. It was very easy to see that this a family affair and they truly love the music they preform as well as preforming together.We bought some music to bring home and to remind us of this great show. If you are interested in traditional Hawaiian music,don't miss this show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    46
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful local & visiting Slack key /Hawaiian music artisits.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

You haven't heard real island music until you've been to one of George's shows. Has a bit of everything. Casual roof covered outdoor pavillion. Gentle island breezes blow through adding to a very nice entertainment venue. Seating is first come so be early if you wish to sit in front. You may prepay and reserve in advance, highly recommended. Or take your chances and buy at the door. Very casual, but a must see if you really want to experience true hawaiian entertainment. You never know who might be joining the show so check the schedule ahead of your visit. The show is usually every wed. nite at Napili Kai Resort. If you arrive early stop by the bar or restaurant for food and drinks.



Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Listen to the Hawiian Masters”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I attended a show in February 2013 and really enjoyed ourselves. I play guitar and spent some time learning both the Slack Key style and well as a bit of the Ukelele on this trip. This show is really good because the performers are trying to perpetuate and extend this soothing style of music. They explain the history in general as well as describing what their particular songs are about. The facility is a fairly small covered outdoor site with a raised stage and seating on comfortable individual chairs - all seats have good views, great audio, and space to stretch out and scoot your chair around to please. There is a good restaurant - the Sea House - on the site if you wish to purchase a combined dinner & show ticket. We went to the restaurant bar to relax and enjoy the sunset before the show. The waiter recommended purchasing a dessert to nibble on during the show - turned out to be a great idea because the show is open seating and you need to get there about half an hour ahead of showtime if you want to have early choice of seating. There is live entertainment before the show that is worth while seeing - so arriving early is a good idea!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old Time Hawaiiana”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We purchased the dinner at the Sa House restaurant and slack key guitar show tickets online in advance. When we arrived for the dinner, I was a bit concerned as they kept us all waiting out in the sun for about 15 minutes saying they were not yet ready to serve. But once we were seated (in the order in which we checked in, so do so), all went smoothly. We were given the earlybird menu from which to choose our meal. We both had the salad which had an interesting sweet spicy dressing. I had the mixed plate, and my husband had the mahi mahi. Both were nicely prepared and served hot. For dessert I had the pineapple tiramisu, and he had ice cream. He was glad to find they had espresso, something many restaurants do not here on Maui.
As to the show, those who commented it was difficult to see from the back were correct. However, the chairs are not fastened down, so it was possible to move them a bit to help. And the comment that the show is a bit like a garage jam session was also on target. The music itself was well done; we especially liked Bobby Ingano's steel guitar pieces. And yes, the rhythms and melodies are somewhat predictable, but anyone listening to radio here would know that in advance. We found the concert to be an interesting presentation of a piece of Hawaiian culture and would recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about the real Hawaii.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank canncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No Slackers at the Slack Key Show”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was the fist time we attended one of these concerts and it did not disappoint. The program included Herb Ohta Jr and Joh Yamasat along with the regulars. Of the five performers the two of the three vocalists were unable to sing due to illness, but the lack of vocals did not detract from the audience's enjoyment of the program. In fact they played their instruments with just as much zeal and enthusiasm as they would have had they been feeling at the top of their game. It was beeing able to sit in on an almost extemporeous jam session, which made it all the more fun.We had a wonderful time and will go back again the next time we go to Maui.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_n_Janet_Evening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing