We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wear BUG spray” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapalua Coastal Trail

Kapalua Coastal Trail
Ranked #7 of 123 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-mile walk along Maui's northwest coast, the trail begins and ends on a beach. In between, you'll see spactacular oceanfront and bountiful greenery on the dramatic coastline.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wear BUG spray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful to watch the waves crash; unfortunately did not get to see the turtles, but might have missed then due to the cloud of bugs; don't often see bug clouds like this , so some entertainment even in watching others run and swat at the bugs; check it out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    171
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have no idea if this includes the beach in Kapalua but what a beach this was. You have to travel down a long flight of stairs to reach it but it is well worth it. Parking is free too. We had a great time playing in the surf and there was a couple of sea turtles that decided that they wanted to play with us too. The snorkeling is good also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheLinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best views in Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a treat. The ocean bays are spectacular, the snorkeling was world-class, and we swam with turtles. It gets no cooler than that. We walked the trail in flip-flops. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We happened upon this beautiful trail and didn't have our camera with us! So we went back later & took pictures. It goes in front of the Kapalua Villas, along the rocky coast. Lovely! Easy path.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank auntgretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The views and fresh breezes were just incredible. Easy walking, too. Highly recommend taking some time to just walk and soak it all in. Great part of Maui!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flossboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapalua Coastal Trail also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Kapalua Coastal Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing