We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Snorkel Store

The Snorkel Store
Ranked #30 of 147 Outdoor Activities in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Our Lahaina location has been open since July 2012. It's located in a very convenient location right off Honoapiilani HWY 30. We have recently expanded to offer more retail options as well as Hawaiian Shave Ice. All snorkel rentals come with mask, snorkel, fins, defog, carrying bag and customized snorkeling map for your party. We also rent mobile cabanas, surfboards and SUP boards by the day or week. Make sure to ask about our activity and tour deals and discounts. We act as a broker for over 92 fun and reputable Maui activity companies like Ziplines, Boat Tours, Dinner Cruises and Luaus.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
St Louis
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The counter attendant was very helpful. On telling him it was my first time snorkeling, he suggested I rent a specialized mask that diverts water from the mouthpiece. He did not pressure me at all, just gave me his advice. When I agreed with him, he even lowered the rental rate and threw in a boogie board rental for free! On top of it, he gave me directions to some of the top snorkel areas on the island as well as to free parking spots around the town of Lahaina. Definitely recommend this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Buzz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    18
    2
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEWARK
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and great gear! Best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a wonderful experience with The Snorkel Store! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The gear was also the best quality that we used while we were in Hawaii. Their prices were extremely reasonable compared to other snorkel renting businesses in town. We will definitely use them again when we visit Maui in the future.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JULIE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found this place online, and made arrangements for equipment rental and pickup at a specific time and date. We did also get a confirmation email and a phone call, as well, complete with directions. The equipment was new, and very good....and Kevin helped us get exactly what we needed. Since we had not been snorkeling in years, he also suggested places that might be suitable for us in terms of our ability levels. All in all, a great place with excellent service!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Skitter47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great gear for even better prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Most places in Maui (especially on the beaches) charge $10-25 an hour for equipment. The Snorkel Store rents the same equipment if not better and cleaner for the same price but for an entire week. Kevin was very nice and recommended some perfect places to check out. Very chill in the store and they don't push anything on you that you don't want or need like many other places. They helped make our honeymoon extra special. Thanks Snorkel Shop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Service and Great Advice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We found The Snorkel Store by accident when we went into a strip mall looking for a lunch place. We had gone to another snorkel store earlier that day and they tried to sell us everything else under the sun. Beware of places that advertised low prices as their gears are horrible and they tried to hook you into other purchases which ends up being twice as costly as what Kevin charges. They did not listen to our needs at all and their equipment were old. Kevin actually listened to us and worked with us. He was extremely helpful with his recommendation of snorkeling gears ---we've never snorkeled before and we have 2 young children (9 and 7). As the store recently opened, all his gears are fairly new. He told us of best places to snorkel on our own as well as recommended an unbelievable snorkeling trip to Lanai. We took his advice and had a fantastic time. The snorkeling trip to Lanai was supposed to be 6 hours long but ended up being 9 hours and felt like it was only few hours as we had such a great time. Will absolutely recommend anyone looking for gears, especially those with kids who don't want them using older gears used by hundreds of others, go here. Kevin will take care of you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snorkel Store also viewed

 

Been to The Snorkel Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing