We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Sugar Cane Train - CLOSED

Sugar Cane Train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A singing conductor takes you on a 6-mile tour of Maui's sugar cane history.
Exeter, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Decided to visit the station after hearing the train blow from our resort , thought it may be an interesting ride for our little one . Upon arriving we noticed up close the train was a sad , run down disappointment . Asked the lady at desk about what we could expect on train ride and even she couldn't "talk it up much" . We decided to save our $100 (price for a family of 5) and leave .
Could be a good thing if they invested a little money and excitement into their train .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MJones101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    39
    29
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Open? Closed? Figure it out and let people know!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Similar to a previous poster, very disappointed in the lack of communication/website updates. Saw the train back up and running earlier this week, so got everyone ready and drove to the station on Tuesday to find it closed again (no updates on their website). Sign said they'd be back up and running on Wednesday. Saw the train back up and running Wed. and Thurs., so again got everyone ready to catch the late Thurs. afternoon train, got there and found out that particular trip had been cancelled.

From the reviews, doesn't seem like we are missing much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE experience... NOT recommended”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We went on the train on a misty morning, only to find out that the train doesn't operate well when the tracks are wet (after we left the station). We got stuck about 20 times and our 20 minute ride ended up being two hours. There was no commentary (except "please bear with us") and the ride consisted of getting hit by tree branches that were covered in bugs and watching golfers walk past our stalled train.
We asked for a refund after finally arriving at the station and they told us no. Seriously?! They offered to pay for a taxi back to our hotel (there was no way I was taking the train back), which didn't work for us as we have a toddler who requires a car seat. Luckily, our hotel had a shuttle stop nearby.
Horrible experience. Horrible staff. And it cost about $100 for our family of five.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not currently operating”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My boys were very disappointed to find the train not working as of March 28 2014. Train needs a new boiler coming by boat. At least a few weeks out. Think it's expensive to start with but was willing for the kids. Maybe owners should update their website so I wouldn't have wasted my time and got the boys all excited. Only disappointement so far on Maui. Aloha

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bioluminescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun ride and great ocean views from the train”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This quirky old train ride is 45 minutes to an hour of fun. Great views from the train across the ocean. See the train turned around on the turntable for the return journey.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Cane Train also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing