We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip this time and should get better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2006

Well here is my story. We purchased in 2003 before it opened when staying at the Sheraton Maui (best resort on Kaanapali beach). We video taped the presentation and the test room since some family back home was interested in purchasing. Well a few things that were told to us on tape were not the case when we first stayed there in 2005. Some of those things were that we would always be in building 2 (the first one open) and that the parking under the buildings would be for owners only. Well when we checked in August 2005 we were put in building 4 that does not even face the same direction as the two along the beach. We were looking at a parking lot from the 2nd floor with our “ocean view” way in the distance. After complaining we were moved to building 2 the next day but not until 5:00 (wasted one whole day with no room to be in). There were some other issues last year but it was mainly because they tried to open the 2 last buildings at once without increasing the staff. Well this year we were put in building 3 just above the pool restaurant. Not the best view of the beach but not the parking lot. Service was good and the resort was in great shape. The food at the pool side restaurant was better than many of our favorites on the island. Lobster at Hula Grill (awesome place) was 8 oz for $38. Lobster at the Westin Villas was 10 oz. for $28.

Parking was not as bad as I remembered last year but maybe it was the times I was trying to park. The reports of the pool being cold are no where near the truth. We were at the Sheraton and Westin Hotel before checking into the Villas and it was the same temp and equal to the ocean which they said was unusually warm (reported 80 degrees). Even the little kids we had with us did not react to the water temp when put in the big side of the pool.

Some problems we encountered were the abuse of people going down early and leaving stuff or towels on all the chairs with shade but not showing up until the late afternoon if at all. One morning we went down at 7:30 AM and there was not a chair without a towel under an umbrella and we have little ones that can’t just sit in the sun all day. That same day I hardly saw one of those lounges occupied. They need to do what the Westin Hotel does and have signs that tell them that if towels on lounges are left unoccupied for more than 30 minutes they will be removed. Also the rental of the cabanas or gazebos is run by an outside company. Not only are there too few for that size resort but they let people call and book as far out as they want. Lets just say not only were they booked for this entire summer but next summer is almost completely booked. We hardly saw them used even though someone booked them. The Westin said they only way that will change is if enough owners complain about the outside service. Another issue I had was the two newer buildings had slightly different things that what we had in the original building. For one the refrigerator in the studio is half the size of the original room design. Also the chairs on the balcony are not the lounges that were in the original building. You would think they would keep it the same.

Now this location is perfect and the snorkeling right at the beach was even better than a snorkel cruise we took. Save your money and snorkel at the resort. Also there are plans to expand the resort with the “North” addition. This will add more pools (kiddy, family, and adult) as well as two restaurants. There is no construction allowed next to the new part of the resort (it is a greenbelt) but beyond that is a new village style shopping and restaurants going in from the same designers as Whistlers village. They are trying to make this a better version of Kaanapali south with Whalers Village.

Because of what this area is going to become as soon as 2008 we sold back our every year Ocean View full double lockoff unit and paid the difference to get an Ocean Front in the North addition. One reason was to have an Ocean Front and not worry about where we will be put in the existing resort (parking lot, or next to an air conditioner or looking at the building next to you). The other reason was to be close to all the new amenities. The original resort was designed by another company and they could not afford to finish so Westin bought it but could not change anything. The new resort is all Westin designed. The rooms are similar but with better used spaces and the studio side now has a balcony you can sit out on as well as the one bedroom having a full table on the balcony to sit at and eat. We have visited other villas and nothing compares to the Westin room and now the location will be hard to beat once everything is done. We were ready to sell after last year but things are getting better and the new North Villas should remove the last few worries we had.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank alohaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,094 - 4,100 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2006

We stayed here after having a bad experience at the Ritz in Kapalua. We were lucky to get a room because most of the places are timeshares. When we checked in the staff was wonderful. Our room was absolutely beautiful! We had a kitchenette, huge bathroom and a soaking tub. The bed was super comfy and the location of the hotel was perfect - far enough away from town that we had privacy but close that it was only a 5 minute drive. You cant walk to Lahaina from here, or Kaanapali, but its close enough to take a short cab ride. The beach area is really nice and the pool is great for kids. The restaurant was wonderful, as pricey as any other, but the food was good. There is a great little store on the premise, too. I would definately stay here, in fact, i plan on coming back on my first wedding anniversary - my husband proposed to me on the beach of this resort!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 30yearoldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Just returned from an amazing vacation at the Westin Kaanapali Villas. Had read some mixed reviews but mostly positive ones.

I guess the main complaint people had was the construction noise of the new phase.

We had a one bedroom lock-off villa which is actually a one bedroom unit and a studio unit. Each has a separate entrance but a common foyer. It was in Building 4 and nowhere near the construction. We did not have any construction noise. Parking is free and easily accesible from all buildings. Each building has a concierge in each lobby which is also nice.

The units were both spacious, extremely clean and beautifully furnished. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the service was superb. We had a couple of things like a burned out light in the bathroom and one t.v. in the bedroom that had bad color and engineering was there 5 minutes from my call to fix the problems.

The beach was beautiful with snorkeling right in front of the hotel. We had 2 kids and they loved the pool and the pool slide. The pool was perfect temperature - some complained it was cold! This was not the case.

Having a condo with all the amenties of a hotel was fabulous. The on property restaurant was average priced for a hotel restaurant and kids eat free for breakfast and dinner. We loved having the shuttle to Kaanapali and you are able to do room charges at both the Sheraton and the Westin in Kaanapali. They also have barbeques which people utilized nightly and eating areas right next to the barbeques. You can buy prepared meals to cook - pricey but very convenient. Actually the markets are so expensive there - the price is worth the convenience.

The only downside was that we had an island view room which looked back at the highway. It was noisy on the balcony - but we were rarely in the room and the grounds are so gorgeous that we enjoyed our evenings out by the pool with all the tiki torches.

We were really pampered here - the concierge called me on my cell phone a week prior to my arrival to welcome me and ask if I had any questions and if wanted any assistance in booking daytrips. It was a really nice touch.

I will definitely be returning to this resort - great for kids and extremely kid friendly. There were lots of daily activities for all ages even if the kids were not enrolled in the kids club.

I highly recommend this resort for a relaxing Maui vacation with all the comforts of home.

Stayed: July 2006
8  Thank viper915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Checked in today having spent 4 days in kihei..maui hill, not bad at all. Spacious, AC, internet in rooms, and close to waliea.2 years ago we upgraded to a two bedroom unit. We are certain we bought a corner unit with a partial ocean view..we are in a corner unit, ground floor,car park view. They offered us a smaller unit as a swap, but the lanai was right over big AC units, so that diden't work.We will take this up with mgt., but if you are buying be sure to get it clear what they are selling...this seems like bait and switch.Also it's about 2 grand a year in mgt. fees, factor that in.Not sure we would buy again. Westin is great, but.this leaves a sour taste and a bad start to the vacation.

Stayed: July 2006
14  Thank Robry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Eagle, Idaho
17
Reviewed July 5, 2006

We enjoyed it so much we purchased a second time share in the hotel next door that will be ready in 2008. Snorkling was great right in front of the hotel. You are close to shopping, restaurants and other amenities as well.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Very Nice stay! 2wk owner - 6th floor ocean view was magnificent!. Snorkeling is as good as the Sheraton Black Rock - many turtles! Agree the sandy beach is limited due to the closeness of the coral, but this is great for kids snorkeling - not too far to swim!

Also agree the pool @ times is a little too cold - I think Westin mat be limiting the heater usage due to fuel costs!

The Resort restaurant is "OK" - lots of other otions in nearby Lahaina/Kapalua. Poolside service good.

Intoductory SCUBA available onsite as is PDAI certification - a plus.

Construction of similar KOR North units not a problem unless you face that way - request pool view and you'll be OK.

Used shuttle to/from Westin Maui/Sheraton Black Rock frequently - runs often and free. Also, safe for teens who don't drive to get to/from Whaler's village etc. Very safe.

Bob K.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bobk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2006

Maui is my favorite Hawaiian Island, and after a week there, I can say the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort is an ideal place for families. The pluses are beachfront with ocean views, a cool minimalist design, well appointed suites (all with kitchens, DVD/CD players, bose stereo, washer/dryer), luxurious bathrooms, great clientele (this is not party central), friendly non-obtrusive staff, a small but functional gym, a concierge who can refer you to restaurants and activities, and free shuttle service to the mall (Whaler's Village) for your teenagers. It's not uncommon to see 3 generations travelling together. There is a really nice poolside bar with TVs. People say the pool is chilly, but I didn't find that at all. If you'd like, you can rent you own poolside cabana. The studio suites are an enormous value compared to smaller, older hotel rooms in Kaanapali that don't have kitchens or washer/dryers.

Westin keeps this place IMMACULATE, as they should because they are successfully selling interval ownership units (timeshares) in this resort and its Phase II next door, which is 80% completed. We attended their timeshare presentation, which was professional and informative, without any hard-sell guilt trips. If you're in the market for an interval ownership, Westin is a great operator.

What's the downside? If you're not paying top dollar, you may only have a sliver of an ocean view, or be looking across the way into another building or into the parking lot, but that's only fair. Freebie upgrades to the best units went out with the 1990's. Currently, you're not within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The on-site general store and restaurant are okay in a pinch, but pricey. There are plans to add more shops and restaurants within walking distance, along with the Phase II Westin Villas and an adjacent condo project. Finally, traffic has become more of an issue in West Maui, but is bearable.

If you buy here or stay here, I strongly recommend getting out to see other parts of Maui. We toured the volcano in the afternoon and it was great (have breakfast at the Kula Lodge on the way up). Swimming with fish and seeing an occasional sea turtle is something I'll never get tired of (we snorkeled). If you can, spend a night or two in Hana (the hotel Hana-Maui is very romantic and has a nice spa). It's a scenic drive and it's really like visiting another island (have breakfast in the town of Paia and check out the stores on Baldwin Ave.). Stop along the way to check out some of the funky places on the road to Hana. Go to the 7 sacred pools at the state park and the other beaches in Hana, or go horseback riding. Another good excursion is Makena beach in Wailea or the Winery near Wailea; bring a book, a cooler, and have a picnic lunch--heaven. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank UnbiasedReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
23.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $352 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing