We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an amazing Honeymoon here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Had an amazing Honeymoon here!”
Reviewed November 3, 2005

We stayed at the Westin villas on our honeymoon, through an exchange on Interval and our stay here was incredible. We were a bit worried as we heard there was some construction going on, but it was on the opposite side of the building we were in (we stayed in building B) and it was not an issue. The staff was friendly, the resort was clean and the rooms were fantastic. We had a "partial" ocean view, we could watch the sunset from our balcony which was nice. We loved the 1 bedroom suite, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was huge, with an awesome jacuzzi tub. The pool area was great, lots of lounge chairs and quite quiet. The beach is nice and close and we totally loved the snorkeling and saw tons of cool fish, eels, turtles. We bought snorkel gear in town ($30) instead of renting it for $45 for the week. It did rain a bit here and there but it was refreshing and would only last for a couple of minutes (plus made for some fantastic rainbows). Otherwise the weather was great, sunny and hot every day. The restaurant was pretty good and it was nice that they had a store but if you are going to stay here, you should go into Lahanai to the Safeway to buy food and booze as it is way cheaper. All in all, we had a great honeymoon and we would definately come back here if we had the chance.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    997
    359
    171
    131
See reviews for
1,761
1,536
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2005

We stayed in a studio unit for 7 nights and had a great stay. The room was clean and new. The small kitchen had enough of everything needed including a 2 burner stove and small refrigerator. The only thing lacking was a balcony/lanai. The Studio units have a doorwall leading to a 1 foot deep balcony. You really couldn't go out on it at all. The beach was so nice because there were NO resorts north of the Westin Villas so it was very secluded. BEWARE they are starting to build another Westin property there so construction may be disruptive if you go in the future. They were doing a little construction when we were there but it did not really bother us. Snorkeling was excellent right in front of the property. You can go 12-15 feet off shore and see everything including sea turtles. In fact we saw sea turtles twice just when we were walking on the beach. The restaurant was not really good - we only had lunch there twice and breakfast there once. I personally think it was not good and it was overpriced. I would dine anywhere else in the area instead if you can. Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would recommend this property. We want to go again!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank mgfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2005

We are owners at the Westin Mission Hills in Rancho Mirage in California and did not have any problems making reservations at this resort. We had a partial view of the ocean and the villa was large and comfortable for our family of four with two adult children. The resort was very nice, the pool was fun, the beach and snorkling was great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative that I can think of is that the fitness center is in the basement with no windows or view. I understand that the expansion that is being constructed will include a nicer fitness center.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2005

First time at this beautiful Westin. Can't say enough about how accomedating the staff was, every staff member I encountered smiled and greeted me, asked if everything was ok. Every request was met.
The 1 bedroom was more than enough room for two people. the privacy was great to have, the furnishings were very tasteful and even the sofa bed was very comfortable, more so than a lot of reg. beds I have slept on.
The pool is very nice a little chilly, could use another pool. The only resturant on the site is not what I would expect, compared to the rest of the resort, altho your very close to lots of other fine dinning.
The location is awesome, beautiful sunsets, wonderful spot to sit and watch the sun go down. The snorkeling is excelent, be sure to get good gear, I would recomend renting from some other place not at the resort. Put on your mask walk out into the ocean about 5 steps, and start swiming with beautiful fish and sea turtles. AWESOME!! will return soon I hope

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2005

For the most part, this resort is amazing. My family fell in love with the facilities. As everyone is stating, the rooms are 5 star, in line with a Four Seasons Hotel if not better. This property is more like a W Hotel than a Westin. We attended via a Promo for $650 for 5 nights; a great deal. We even got bumped up to a 1BR, though we had no view. We had a unit on 1st floor in Bldg C. Be wary of stranger or thieves trying to enter your lanai.

The kitchen was great as we cooked half of the time. The lobby area was beautiful; staff was great including front desk, concierge, pool staff. The pool area was good too. The gym was good though it should not be so far back of the hotel. Bathrooms were huge and beautiful; jacuzzi tub was a very nice and the Heavenly Bed was heavenly. I was very impressed that they had Bose stereo as the speakers to the TV. The hallways of the buildings were very very nice, clean, and professional. The store was well stock and fairly priced. The restaurant was ok, not great but not bad; of course overpriced for what you get; but it was worth the ambiance of seeing the sunset during dinner.

I agree w/ everyone that non-timeshare owners do not get the best room views. We got no view facing another building but a 1BR is better than a studio so I'm not complaining. We were so impressed with this resort that we bought a Timeshare(we already own one in Cabo so not sure how I got roped into this; had to be good)at the new one they are building(Villas North).

The view as you enter the lobby area is very impressive as you see the water and palm trees. To compete w/ Marriott, Starwoods needs to expand its properties and get rid of Sheraton; Westin is great, Sheraton is not. This property is one another level above Marriott in terms of quality of rooms.

We went in mid Oct and the weather was great; never rain; sunny everyday. Beach was wonderful though could have been more blue water. Went to visit the Westin Maui and Sheraton; Sheraton was very lame and old while Westin was old and cramped; clearly Westin K Villas is the crown jewel of Starwoods Maui properties.

Bottomline, this is a great place; not perfect but a wonderful place to take the family; like a get away vacation home; better quality than most peoples homes. If you can afford it, buy one. If you can't take advantage of the promos before they end.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2005

We have been to Maui many times, but this was our first stay at the Westin Villas. The units are beautiful and very spacious. The full kitchen + washer/dryer are excellent features.

It is situated in a very relaxed area of Kaanapali beach - outstanding views of the ocean (though watch out for the coral close to the water break!)

The onsite restaurant food quality was very good and less expensive than other close by dining options!

Our only recommendation would be for additional staff at the pool area. Otherwise, we would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We stayed at the Westin Ocean Resort villas from late September to Early October, and it was very nice and relaxing.

The rooms are very nice, and the staff, with the exception of the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

Do not get snorkel gear from the "pool activity house" as it is extremely overpriced ($45/week) It is much cheaper to get it from Boss Frogs in Lahania ($9 week).

The snorkeling in front of the property is pretty good, as we saw various eels and turtles.

All in all, it is a very nice place to stay, and I defintely would go back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank watsondoggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing