We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and open hotel, I enjoyed my stay throughly! So many facilities and the bus shuttle service is so convenient! The beach is beautiful and the staff are very friendly. The room I stayed in was large and comfortable. Could not have enjoyed Maui more!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,420
    1,019
    365
    174
    134
See reviews for
1,846
1,565
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is not a preferred service. There is no preference about it. They are rude and inconsiderate. There website was not working it came up as an error occured with the URL, so I was not able yo meet a deposit/conversion deadline and they told me that unfortunately, there was nothing they could do about it. I was on hold 2 different times. The first time was nearly an hour. I could not remain on the line. So I had to call back and they were unfriendly and unaccomadating. I guess if Starwood/MyStarCentral, there website, then you are screwed!!!!!!!!! I own at Westin Kierland in Scottsdale, Arizona and Lakeside Terrace in Avon, Colorado. I pay dearly for these. Definitely not worth the price and I have nothing but regrets!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies that our Starwood Preferred Guest representative was unfriendly and accommodating. Please know that your experience is important to us. We would be grateful for the opportunity to personally discuss your experience as we do value your loyalty with Starwood. Please provide me with your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com. I hope to hear from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Best snorkeling is right in front of the villas. Forget black rock. No need for rental car. They made it very convenient providing a shuttle service that makes stops at sheraton black rock, whalers village Westin and three stops in Lahaina. Having a kitchen helps make meals much more affordable and you can't beat a BBQ with an ocean view in the south tower. Unfortunately, no ocean view BBQ's in the north tower. No biggie though just cruise to any BBQ first come first serve. Very clean and friendly staff! Stayed here 5 times in the past 10 years and just gets better every time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1porterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Hawaii. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and our precious gem Keka’a Beach. Thank you for your high remarks about our staff and the resort. I will be sure to share your excellent review with our team. We can’t wait to welcome you back to Maui. Please let us know when we can expect your return. Until then, have a wonderful rest of the year and see you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this place quite often. Over the years, things have gotten bad. What finally did it for me was when our beach chairs near the pool were rudely taken by some unruly guests, even though when had our towels on them. When we brought it to the attention of the management staff, they literally talk to each other for over an hour trying to find a solution. Nothing. They were simply incapable of resolving a simple matter. No more. I will never be coming to this place again. It costs us a ton of money to stay in this place and I cannot stand incapable hotel staff giving me bad experience on my vacation. Maybe what they need is more unruly customers stealing occupied beach chairs.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank SoBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. Please accept our apologies that your stay was a disappointing one. We are, however, grateful for your feedback and would like the opportunity to discuss in detail more about your experience. If you could please kindly respond to krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous resort & very close to all activities. You truly don't have to leave the resort area. Private beach is great. Our son has already meet some great kids on vacation & enjoying all the activities.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear GHM411,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 under a special promotion package I received via email. These are condo-type places, either a "studio" or a 1 bedroom that can connect to the studio for a 2 bedroom unit. We stayed in a 1 bedroom. Very nice apartment, around 700 or more square feet. Huge bathroom, full kitchen fully stocked with cookware and eating/drinking utensils. This is not a hotel, so no daily maid service, at least in the apartment. One midweek cleaning which basically consists of new towels and linens, and replenishing some, but not all of the soaps, etc. such at those for the dishwasher. Ideal for families or those wanting a home-like place to stay. Nice amenities, good pool and on the great Ka'anapali beach. Close to Lahaina with a shuttle to town and the other Westin resort and spa hotel a half mile down the road, so you don't need a car if you aren't going far. Enjoyed it very much, but had expected more of a hotel with daily cleaning, etc. Having said that, we did use the washer/dryer in our apartment a few times for drying wet clothes, etc. The one negative: They will try to get you to sign up for the sales "tour" even though you are not required to, which is what I asked when offered the package on the phone. You can decline, however. Also Note: The Resort and Spa, where our friends stayed, is a hotel and is more of a vacation vibe for those looking for more lively atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was much more extensive there too than the one at the Villas. There were four of us (two couples) but we accidentally stayed at separate places, so be careful that you get the right Westin in Ka'anapali when you book!

Room Tip: If in the south tower, ask for a pool or ocean view. Probably the same for the north tower. The stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HdWker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Kaanapali in a gorgeous 2 bedroom villa. We had our two older teenagers with us for 10 days and needed the room. We had plenty of room to spread out when we were in the villa, full kitchen so we could cook as needed. The view was ocean view, but I would have to question this. It was a side view overlooking a water retention pond and not a direct ocean view as I would expect. The pools were busy and fun. We rented plenty of chairs, umbrellas, and snorkeling equipment and the staff was excellent out at the cabana. The poolside restaurant/bar was great to have. The snorkeling at this beach was better than the paid trip on a boat we went on..There was not ONE day that I did see a sea turtle right outside my resort while snorkeling. They came so close to us! The facilities were very clean inside and out and the gym we used on off running days and was used a lot by the people in the hotel. Would be nice if the gym was staffed as there were people on equipment way over the 30 minutes talking on cell phones multiple times when my son or I were in there. That was really bothersome..There are two tennis courts that were readily available and we used the shuttle to get to town and to the other Westin for a Luau. On Friday, the resort has vendors on the beach lawn selling local products..that was nice. We had no problem sleeping here..the beds were so comfortable and we had patio's off both bedrooms where we could eat breakfast and lunch. The parking is pretty tough here as the floor we were on only had compact spots-at least there were NEVER any spots avail for a 4 door basic sedan when we would come back. So when we came back from the grocery, with the size of the resort, we had a really tough time with water bottle cases an all the groceries we had..It's a puzzle to find your way around and no parking avail on our floor, made that really difficult. We would definitely come back to this Westin, but ask for a room overlooking the pool/ocean..NOT THE SIDE.

Room Tip: If you want ocean view, ask for a pool/ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling was easy with marked cans. All info was clearly marked and how to handle all issues.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifermarie1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing