We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Nearby Hotels
$271
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$287
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$360
$299
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$299
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$268
$257
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$1,225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,755)
Filter reviews
4,755 results
Traveler rating
2,849
1,127
424
204
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,849
1,127
424
204
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth propertynorth poolstudio villapirate shipisland viewjacuzzi tubtime sharenorth sidetimeshare ownerstimeshare presentationfull kitchenheavenly bedshuttle servicewasher dryerfree shuttlebar and grillkiddie pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,479 - 2,484 of 4,755 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Perfect Balance for family fun and relaxation. This Hotel has a perfect beach. Two pools plus a kids pool. Just perfect for all our needs. Friendly staff from front desk to valet. Not a lot to choose from for meals. Bar at the pool area is nice.

Room Tip: All towers have a nice view. Garden, Pool, or Ocean
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brettfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having stayed at other Westin Hotels and Resorts we found our stay at Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas disappointing.

Overall our 2 bedroom villa was very comfortable and well appointed. However, this complex is huge and our villa was circa 350 walking steps from reception. You also had to negotiate 21 twists and turns through corridors to reach our room.

Although this resort boasts 5 pools they are shallow lagoon type pools and not conducive to swimming. There is a small adult only pool but again not conducive to swimming.

Pool side service was poor when compared to other Westin Resorts.

Our package included some complimentary breakfasts and on our first day we decided to "go green" and not have our room serviced in exchange of two further complimentary breakfasts. When we went to use these vouchers the next day (Easter Sunday) we were told the restaurant was closed and we would have to go offsite for breakfast. We were not advised of this when we checked in. Also, when we raised this with the reception staff they did not follow up with us despite assurances they would escalate the matter to the Resort Manager "once he returned from lunch".

We tried out the restaurant only once for a buffet breakfast and found the whole experience awful. First, we were told we had to wait 15 minutes for a table. Once seated we then had to fight off birds that continuously sat on the tables and food. Not very hygienic.

Overall the food selection was disgusting and the worst of any Westin Resort we have stayed at.

The gym is well appointed but on the small side given the size of this resort.

On a positive note the shuttle service to and from town is excellent.

This is not a resort for older couples and/or teenage families.

Room Tip: Ensure a room that is in close proximity to reception. Otherwise be prepared for a long walk.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet the expectations that previous Westin Hotels have provided. We sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. We greatly appreciate your review and would be pleased to have the opportunity to personally discuss your stay with you. If you’d like, please respond to krystle.silva@westin.com with your name and preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Your experience is important to us and we hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A lot is about expectation: When I think about Westin, I think higher end...the tab on the browser says "Maui Luxury Resort". While nice, I wouldn't call it luxury in the slightest. For reference, I will compare to the Hyatt where we stayed the first nights of our vacation before we moved here for the week. Now keep this in mind, I am a SPG raving fan, I am Lifetime Gold and have been Platinum many times. I go out of my way to stay at SPG properties around the world...

Arrival
Very friendly check-in. Quick and efficient. Nothing special though unlike the Hyatt where we got Leis (flowers for wife and shells for all the boys). (8/10)

Parking/Luggage
Probably the best service and friendliest people at this resort. They were great. That being said, so was the Hyatt. (9/10)

Room
We had a premium one bedroom. It was exactly as advertised...it was what we wanted since we have the 2 boys (10 and 5) and a newborn. Kitchen was in great shape (though would it kill them to provide salt?). Lots of room, well taken care of, overall great. The bathroom light/bedroom glass was annoying as it lit up the entire room. I don't mind the "window" but wooden doors vs glass would be better. Balcony was good sized and we had a great view of the Ocean (9/10)

Cleaning
We had one cleaning on the Wednesday. Not sure if that meant only change the towels and make the bed, but that's all we got. Toilet not cleaned, sink area not cleaned, kitchen table not wiped down.... (2/10)

Food
At the hotel, we ate at the Pailolo Bar and Grill and The Ocean Pool Bar and Grill. Both were mediocre at best for the food. Definitely, not "Luxury". The Poke at the Ocean may have been the most bland, with the least amount of effort, version we had on the island. Definitely wouldn't ever visit these if we were not at the resort and too tired to head out. Service was ok. Now, compare that to the Pool bar at the Hyatt. The Poke "Nachos" and service were so good, we thought about going back there...(4/10)

Pool Bars/Service...if there had only been people working, they could have easily had a couple hundred from the week from us...but they were rarely around. You could easily be there an hour without even one person coming up to you...and forget the kiddie pool area. The people were nice enough though but a service level that was overall very mediocre.. (5/10)

Pools/Grounds/Beach
Well taken care of, though not huge nor did anything stand out. According to my son, the waterside was not a fast one. The kids enjoyed plaing in the pirate ship...having a slide set on the grounds was great too... Very pretty overall...and overall in appearance looked nicer than the Hyatt. (8/10)

Concierge
Poor at best. We wanted to visit the blowhole and the olivine pools (these are clearly identified in many/most Maui books). We were told that they were on the road to Hana and it wasn't safe and we shoudn't go. Ok, wrong location and crap attitude. After the 2 minute incorrect answer, we just go more and more talk about the timeshare options. Then we had the phone call message about time shares, cards on the dresser...as an aside, when we had email questions before hand it took days to get a response...at the Hyatt, they didn't once push timeshare and the concierge was great, recommending tours activities that would be kid appropriate and taking the time to explain what and why for all of our questions...to note, they responded in hours to my email.(2/10).

So what did I think overall? 7/10 at most. On reflection, this experience has put us off ever considering a SPG Vacation Ownership. If we want a condo with no service then that is what we would look for...but that isn't what we want or need...When we do come back to Maui we would easily choose the Hyatt over the Westin...especially since service can really make the vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjwarbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your honest review. Here at the Westin Villas, we are committed to making your stay a memorable experience. We recognize the significant investment that you have made in our company that represents you as a lifetime Gold member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We know that the opportunity to change your experience has past, but please know that we are committed to making this situation right and hope that we can welcome you back and ensure a Maui vacation for you filled with lasting memories for years to come. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the occurrences that you had which does not represent our service standards. We wish to personally discuss your stay with you. Please send me your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com so that one of our team leaders may reach out to you. Mahalo and we hope to hear from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the north Villas for 4 weeks and we want to recognize Brandon, Darlene, Sam, Phil and Roy for the service we received from these people for our entire stay. They really work hard at the Pool/beach towel bldg. we also want to thank Ryan and Angela in Management for making sure our room/building was what we had hoped for

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Aloha Suemeg! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff who are continuously passionate about providing personal and outstanding service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Brandon, Darlene, Sam, Phil, Roy, Angela and Ryan for providing excellent service during your stay. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived at the Westin Ocean Resort Villas expecting them to be very similar to the Westin resort. It is nice but does lack with many of the amenities of the resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall the property is very well maintained and is nice-just do not expect a 4 or 5 star resort experience.

The beds were certainly not the "heavenly" bed that Westin advertises. The sofa sleeper mattress was horrible, all springs no cushion.

Upon check-in the staff should inform guests of the magazine in their room with all the activities listings for the week. We asked several times about the week's activities without any luck.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room, make sure it is ground level and not raised.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Westin Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. We appreciate your feedback with grading different areas of the resort - we would like to be able to correct this immediately. We wish to personally discuss your stay with us and invite you to contact us at krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information. A Westin team member will shortly thereafter reach out to you. Mahalo again as we sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our Westin family upon your next visit.

Sincerely,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews