We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great !!! w families!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“great !!! w families!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed here 8/22-8/29/08. We had visited last year for the timeshare and knew we 'd want to stay here .. WE almost bought but then decided not too.

but we traveled for our wedding w/ our family my fiance's two kids 5 and 8, our son of 6 mths old and the two grammas. WE got a great deal on the 2 bdrm villa..

First let me say the property is gorgeous exactly how it was last year. plenty of pools ,plenty of space not overcrowded except the Pool with the slides was hard to find a shaded area upfront.. we spent most of our time on the north pool and or beach

it was hard to do the beach everyday but the beach location is great too. Last year we stayed at the Sheraton and love that beach and location too , the beach is a tiny bit of a walk but not that bad.

We got there around 2 or so and they said no rooms were yet available check in is not til 4.. kind of late, one of our complaints and we didn't get a room until 4 no earlier.. then we got a room int he North side which was fine the room is gorgeous as others have explained , plenty of room.. but our complaints: we were very far to the north end w/ 3 kids two grammas that meant for alot of walking to and from the pool, to the cars and elevators our room was like the last on the 3 hallways away from the elevator. we asked if we coud be moved NO she said.. so ok we sucked it up and got used to it and found our way around I don't mind the walking but when you have a baby in tow and two grammas you want to make it easy..

The other complaint was the parking. the spaces very small, all virtually all compact so you have to squeeze your car or our VAN we had into these small spaces w/ making it hard to load/unload everyone. We suggest they make larger spots for those larger vehicles that most people have.

The other complaint was the service on our safe. Our safe was broken on the 1 bdrm side they came right away and they couldn't fix it but said they'd be back. the whole week went by and noone returned to fix it. fortunately we had the other room/studio and used that safe..

The pool service there- was NO food or drink service would have been nice and i think for them it would totally drum up buisness for them. we would have loved to order a cocktail by the pool or some lunch w/out getting up ..

Also more shaded areas needed by the pool w/ the slide.. not many areas and the pool was always packed.
Other than that service was great. everyone was friendly at the hotels from our maid service, the concierge the activities desk etc.. the restaurants are nice even tho we only had lunch at the pool bar and wasn't bad at all.. the grounds are amazing. the villa comes w/ everything you need. we even got a nice rollaway crib for the baby etc.. we shopped when we first got there and did all our breakfasts and most of our lunches in the room so made it very nice and the kids had there own area/bed and tv so helpe dout and a huge bathroom on both sides.

by far the greatest to travel w/ Kids . we didn't use the new spa or the shuttle just not enough time. maybe next time. we'd definitely go back as it had all the amenities of a hotel but a huge condo that works w/ kids .

also they have some great grills /bbqing area and lots of people us ing them.. next year for sure i want to do that a few times and just cook out and relax!!!

again we loved it here just w/ the few minor complaints all in all a great stay..

  • Liked — location and amenities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rose220068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,166
    964
    349
    164
    121
See reviews for
1,655
1,449
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

I purchased 4 weeks at the Westin Ocean Villas. To be honest I have never been so misled by the sales agent and her supervisior in my life. I would give anything to be able to sell the units I own. When we bought we were told because we were buying 4 weeks and Platniumn Members we would be treated like gold. The agent, who's name I won't mention only her initials K.D., misrepresented us in every way. She told us anything and everything she had to to get us to buy. None of the faciliaties where build as represented. The service was terrible, now to mention we couldn't even get our rooms cleaned or bags carried to our room. The pools were nothing like they represented, and most if not all the perks of using the Westin Hotel were taken away after the fact. The salespeople will do anything and say whatever they need to in order to get you to buy. all i can say is buyer beware, especially of the young women pressuring you to have to buy NOW. I would happly sell my units for 50 cents on the dollar.Wesitn and SPG is no longer even a 4 star property on my list. Especially when you stay at a Four Seasons, One and Only, or for that matter even a Marriott.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank glhowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc ut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Westin has a quality that is not stuffy and only for the rich but yet all of the 5 star amenites are there. With the new addition of the shuttle that goes into lahiana, as well as Kaanapali, this hotel is one you really do park the car for a week. We did not use our rental car the entire week, the only hotel in hawaii I can say that about. Loved the pool, the new addition gives you two pools and plenty of chairs. Prior to the add on you had to fight for chairs. Beach is one of the best for snorkeling, turtles right on the beach, amazing. Food was okay, pool bar was the best food in any we've had. With the shuttle why eat at hotel anyway to many excellent choices in Lahaina. This is a laid back hotel, don't expect Ritz service or you'll be disappointed.

  • Liked — great pool. shuttle into town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationsamany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

First time to Hawaii - long day's journey from London via LAX - tired drive from Kahalui Airport to Ka'anapali - and there was the wonderful welcoming Westin KOR. We were "hotelling" and not "time-sharing" in a one bed premier island view in the new North complex - and it was first class - really comfortable beds - great fixtures and fittings - and the whole property was delightful. Staff were welcoming, food was great, location was stunning. We will go back.

  • Liked — location, staff, rooms, food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcheeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

The best feature of the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort is the awesome beach. I have stayed at other Starwood beach properties, including Nusa Dua, Bali and Phuket, Thailand and this beach beats them by far. The water is crystal clear and the sky is blue and clean, plus, no beach vendors!

The property is located north of Black Rock and is on the remote part of Ka'anapali beach. It is away from the main beach, where the major hotels (Sheraton, Westin, Marriott, Hyatt) and Whaler's Villiage are, but it is still within walking distance.

The snorkeling off the beach here is better than the famous Black Rock ( and for that matter, most other places I've been to in the world) and you can see lots of beautiful fish, coral and even sea turtles within feet of the shore. You can rent beach chairs with sun protection for $25 per day, which is the going rate in the area.

This property has is really two resorts, the original Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas (south) and the newer Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas North- opened in summer 2007.

I am a Starwood timeshare owner at the newer north villas and I stayed in an oceanview studio (479 sq ft) by myself but, it can sleep up to 4 people comfortably.

If you book an oceanview room, I recommend rooms 7671-7676.
They are in bldg 7, sixth floor, facing north and overlook open land and island of Molokai. I've posted a photo of the view from the room.

The studio was roomy and the decor was beautiful, subtle, simple, with clean lines. The room included the signature Westin Heavenly king bed and bath, queen sofabed, flat panel TV/DVD, Bose Wave CD/FM, fully equipped kitchenette with dishwasher, full size refrigerator, glass cooktop, microwave, toaster, blender, coffee maker (with Starbucks coffee) and washer/dryer.

The bath had jacuzzi tub, separate toilet and shower, granite vanity, towels for four and plush bathrobe. The private lanai with outdoor seating was nice for morning coffee.

The grounds were well landscaped and manicured, with lush plants and beautiful flowers. Nice koi ponds on both properties. I prefer the pool in the south bldg, as it is larger and features the waterslide. There are not enough pool lounge chairs in shade and you must go early to stake your claim to one.

Resort amenities include, an excellent concierge, daily activities, Westin Kids club, onsite pool/beach equipment rental, outdoor gas grill, spa (which is nice/definitely adequate), Westin Workout room, DVD rental and shuttle to Sheraton / Westin hotels, Whalers Villiage ( restaurants and shops, including not to be missed Honolulu Cookie Company and even a Louis Vuitton store) and Lahaina town (Safeway store is here).

There is a general store on both north and south properties, and although its expensive (more than supermarket) , its convienent for fresh made food and basic/ gourmet foodstuffs.

The onsite Pulehu restaurant had great pizza. The concierge told us about the dinner Buffet Barbecue at the south Pool Bar and Grill . I would not recommend it, as the food was mediocre at best and it was expensive.

Food in the Hawaiian islands is expensive, that's why it was so nice to have the kitchenette. I bought food (snacks, drinks, breakfast and lunch stuff) at the local supermarket (Safeway )and splurge for dinners out. We found the restaurant at the property next door (Royal Lahaina) was a great place for dinner and watching the sunset. It is low key, more affordable than the resort restaurants, has very fresh food, good size portions and locals providing entertainment. The sunsets are gorgeous every night.

I would recommend this resort for families, large groups, and those who prefer to have a larger space than a regular hotel room. The kitchen and kitchenette feature is a great amenity and you are not forced to eat out for every meal, which will save you bucks.

Unfortunately, I am not able to use my oceanview unit in 2009 and will make it available to anyone at virtually half the published rate. Any size unit is available, Studio, One Bedroom and Two Bedroom and is available any week in 2009 (7 nights) Fri -Fri, Sat-Sat, Sun-Sun. One other option is 6 days and 5 nights.

Please feel free to contact me with your inquiry and questions at susan.jue@safeway.com. You are welcome to visit my Picasa Web album at www.picasaweb.google.com/SusieJue/Maui

Otherwise, I recommend my Starwood Platinium Concierge, Alberto Teixeira. He can help you with your reservations and is good at getting promotions and upgrades. You can contact him at alberto.teixeira@starwoodhotels.com. Let him know that I recommended him.

PS- I enjoyed the Maui Ocean Center ( the Hawaiian Aquarium).
The display of local ocean habitat and sea life is incredible.
It's $25 per ticket.

  • Liked — The beach is amazing and the snorkeling is awesome
  • Disliked — Not enough pool lounge chairs in the shade
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SusieJue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We were disappointed with the Westin Villas Ka anapali. We were looking for the beauty and peace of Hawaii. This was not it. We were looking for a 5 star property. This was not it. Our ocean view room was on the second floor overlooking the kiddy pool, and the air conditioning unit. We could have been at the local park overlooking the kids slid and the swing set. The couch in the room had ripped cushions top and bottom on both sides, and it was really kind of dirty. They charge you for everything from lounge chairs for the beach, to the game room. The place was crowded, so much so we did not want to be there. All in all for us, a big disappointment.

  • Liked — Washer dyer in the unit
  • Disliked — View and crowds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

In Maui for combination business, pleasure trip. First night in our villa our view and location was 2nd floor overlooking dumpsters and delivery area. Temperature in villa never got below 80 degrees. The one air vent in the unit blew directly onto the bed. Listened to delivery truck beeps as they backed into dock. Also had the quite loud noise of a constantly running compressor just outside our villa. Moved to another villa. Better location. Wireless internet would not work in our villa. Called Westin support service in Kansas City and they were stumped. Fortunately there is an internet cable and we simply plugged and unplugged. Housekeeping is geared to timeshare, not hotel guests. Service was very sporadic. One day they cleaned the unit, the next day they did not. Had to go to front desk to get a new bar of soap. Seems to be a great place for families and those seeking planned activities and timeshare setting. Avoid if you are looking for hotel services, amenities and environment. Not a business friendly property. We travel frequently for business staying primarily at Hilton and Starwood proerties. We do not recommend this property if you are not coming for timeshare.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — Poor maid/room service for those seeking hotel not timeshare
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TourProTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing