We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Nearby Hotels
$392
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$299
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
$299
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$268
$257
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,754)
Filter reviews
4,755 results
Traveler rating
2,849
1,127
424
204
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,849
1,127
424
204
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth propertynorth poolstudio villapirate shipisland viewjacuzzi tubtime sharenorth sidetimeshare ownerstimeshare presentationfull kitchenheavenly bedshuttle servicewasher dryerfree shuttlebar and grillkiddie pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,741 - 2,746 of 4,755 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My family stayed at the Westin villas the first week of November 2013.

The only pros of our stay was the decor of our room and shuttle to Whalers Village and Lahaina.

The cons are too numerous to list but here are my top complaints:

Room location was the worst I have ever experienced. We had a view of the parking lot (island view). The rooms were also very close to the highway which sounded like you were at the Indy 500 all day long! The Westin should be ashamed of themselves for even having these rooms in their hotel to rent to people. I lost a whole night of sleep. I suggest calling the front desk for a fan to help reduce the noise level in your room from the highway. The noise is unbearable.

The resort smells like a sewer. I think it sits near a water treatment plant.

Parking is very difficult.

Ants in my room.

Long lines to check-in. Took like an hour

Rude tourist everywhere here, folks.

Refrigerator in both units not working, one leaking water and the other refrigerator froze everything.

Lack of cooking utensils.

The water hoses on the washing machines were not hooked up properly, so you never knew what temperature you were washing with.

Lamps in unit not working.

Lock off unit had no lanai.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not exchange here from interval because you get the worst units against the highway. Very noisy all day long! Exchangers beware!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank diamonisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Aloha Diamonisky,
Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your review. On behalf the Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, we would like to apologize for the highway noise that you endured and the issues with your villa. Please know that we genuinely care about your stay and would be pleased to have the opportunity to hear about the details of your stay. If you’d like, please send me your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com, so that we may reach out to you. Again, we apologize for our shortcomings and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm still up in the air about overall rating...yes, the property is beautiful-very large and busy and what you would expect of a resort, yet lovely. The grounds are immaculate and the pools are well kept and clean. We were in a 1 bedroom garden view suite and asked to be moved from Building 7 to be closer to the pools and restaurants yet we definitely sacrificed the view and peacefulness. It's the little things that are adding up: no curtain on the windows (there are the dark & heavy ones but not the lighter ones to subdue light) and have been told they are on order; the jetted tub looked awesome until I began filling it with water and turned the jets on-yuk! The food is good and I love Westin's focus on healthy food choices yet question why I have to pay extra for my daughter to have brocoli with her hot dog instead of the fries "it comes with." The service just isn't matching up with the price and the overall look of the property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Aloha Stacie W,
Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your essential feedback. We continually strive to provide stellar product and services and truly appreciate your comments regarding your villa and with our healthy food offerings at our Restaurants. Please accept our apologies on any shortcomings you may have experienced and sincerely wish to further discuss you stay. Please contact me at krystle.silva@westin.com, if you would be so kind to let us reach out to you. We apologize that and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

1st you say you are sorry about misunderstanding of charging me for 1st night stay even though I was delayed a day because of LAX shooting & that you will reverse the charge. But at check out it's still there, along with daily parking charge even though I didn't have a car, so u remove that but Keith says there is nothing on the notes from Moana about reversing 1st night charge. It's too bad because people like Robert at the Spa and Judson at the pool bar, r great folks who make your guests happy but still have to say, be careful what u think u r getting at this property, because they say one thing, do another & still expect u to pay full price.

Stayed: November 2013
5  Thank Tmoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Aloha!
Thank you very much for your review and for allowing us the opportunity to speak with you while you were in house. Our Assistant Director of Rooms has also recently reached out to speak with you directly. While we cannot take back the occurrences of your stay, we are truly disappointed that we did not deliver what was promised. Please know that we have taken your comments into great consideration and have followed up with our teams to improve in the areas you specified. If you’d like, please send me your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com, so that we may reach out to you. Again, we apologize for our shortcomings and look forward to hearing from you.
Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a one BR/ ocean view villa.
All at Westin quality, and having a washer/dryer was really a bonus.
Property is quite big and its a good 5 minute walk for b'fast in the morning.
Pool is bigger at the South Building but the villas are newer in the North.
Snorkeling in front of the hotel is even better than at black rock in front of the Sheraton.

Room Tip: If you get a view room make sure you are on the 3rd floor or above, as the trees/landscaping will block any view if you are lower.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margesmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We are happy to hear that our property was a great fit for you. Thank you for sharing your comments in detail about your experience and about the resort. I’m sure travelers will appreciate it. We would love to see you again and ensure that your future stay with us is an unforgettable one. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your resort destination. We wish you a wonderful rest of the year and hope we will be able to welcome you back, soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We exchanged in via Interval International for 2 weeks. First week we got the dreaded parking lot view, building 4. As bad as the view was , the noise level was the major issue. You could here loud traffic the entire time, even in the room. Not at all relaxing. It is actually really bad planning that they even built this building where they did ! Fast forward to week 2. We only needed 1 bedroom of our 2 bedrooms we had received with our trade, so we worked with Maggie (absolute amazing front desk employee who went above and beyond for us !) got us an amazing 1 bedroom with a really good pool and ocean view! It really made a huge impact on our second week here. Thanks Maggie! Oh and one front desk person who was absolutely rude and terrible to us was Boyd! Even though we had called the Front desk on Thursday and were told we were changing rooms, when we went the next day to find out the exact location he refused to tell us where, and in fact lied to us and told us that we did NOT have a new room assignment and we would NOT know until we checked back in at 4:00 pm on Sunday. When I asked him the process for moving, he was so rude it was almost laughable if I wasn't so mad! Note to Westin- retrain Boyd or fire him!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank maja651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Westin Villas experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and apologize that we fell short of impressing you the first week. I am delighted to hear that Maggie was able to turn the second week around and made an impact. However, we are concerned about your encounter you had with our Front Desk Agent. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We would be grateful to contact you to discuss more in detail about this matter. Please respond to this message or email me your contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com so that we may reach out to you. Thank you again for your review and hope to hear from you soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews