We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised more than delivered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Promised more than delivered”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This very large resort is mostly time share rentals, but we stayed for a four day trip booked through Westin. We reserved an Ocean View Deluxe Studio many months in advance and had the reservation confirmed. When we arrived at the resort, we had to wait until four to get our condo (which is typical), but were very dismayed to discover that the condo looked out on a large air conditioner which was screened by tall vegetation. We basically had a view of the sky and not too much of that. We were also on the first floor with an elevated walkway going by the room and the total impression was that we were living in a cave. Although we immediately requested another condo, because we were staying from Wednesday through Sunday, we did not match the Saturday to Saturday rhythm of the time shares--and they said they couldn't do anything. We checked again the next day, but still nothing. We were unable to move from the cave the four days we were there despite having paid for an upgraded room. When this was discussed with the management, they were very concerned about improving their front desk training, but did not offer anything for the poor quality room. I am sure that visitors who stay in a time share would have many more options, and the resort itself was nice and well located. There are many options for condo rentals in this area including the Honua Kai nearby that offer a great deal more for the money. Westin sold us something that they did not deliver, and we feel that they didn't even come close to working the situation out to our satisfaction.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Electric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are greatly disappointed that we were unable to provide you with a perfect stay. As we take great pride in our staff who are dedicated to providing instinctive and renewing service, we would be grateful to have the opportunity to personally speak with you in further detail on how we missed the mark. Please respond to krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information and a Westin team member will personally connect with you. Again we apologize and thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

Mahalo,
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,275
    985
    356
    169
    128
See reviews for
1,722
1,510
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family and I have been vacationing at this resort for the past 7 years. It continues to be wonderful. This last time pool and activities staff Vincent Noga went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. We had brought our 1 year old son with us and he had the patience and courage to help us investigate sunglasses, child swim goggles, and beach gear. Amazing customer service-thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBMiller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolute best resort ever.Front desk staff excellent,so helpful.Pool areas are fantastic,everything is maintained so well.
We received the "Luau" as a gift. It was fantastic.The best holiday we have ever had.The Westin continues to be a world class resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allybrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here every year for 8years. Love the spacious condos, even the studio villas are roomy and nice. Twice we've brought family and stayed in the large 2BR. Everyone loves this No Kaanapali location, the pools, and this beach location. Our 5 yr old grandson says this is his favorite "house" (timeshare condo) and never, ever wants to leave...between the beach and the great kids pool with a pirate ship to play on (at Villas North)...I understand his enthusiasm and agree with him!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This resort is wonderful. It is beautiful and snorkeling is right out your villas. The folks who contract with the hotel for snorkeling services were wonderful. Especially Brandon who made my trip by addressing my problem with my snorkeling mask right away when I approached them for help. That helped me enjoy snorkeling pretty much every day while there!

The hotel check-in staff need improvements in their service. They were slow and not very helpful or able to solve room locations issues satisfactorily. Nor they did care to follow up to see if they could do anything better. The room & pool service was great.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to water are better. The buildings closer to the road hear the road noise. I rated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDSD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a very nice week at this resort. Staff was friendly and attentive. Pool and restaurant staff was excellent. Management was excellent in resolving an issue. It was just two of us but we wanted a bigger place than one hotel room and this met our needs. Plan on coming back and bringing the whole family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Westin K Ocean Resort Villas and it was a wonderful property. Located right on the beach and there was great snorkeling right in front of the property saw lots of fish and a giant turtle. Wonderful swimming pools and hot tubs. Ordered food and it was yummy. Great deal is you can take their shuttle and go to the other Sheraton Kaanapali or Westin Kaanapali, which we did. Loved the location close to Lahaina and Napali and one of the great snorkeling spots on the Island. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing