We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Maui---loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First time in Maui---loved it!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful time and the resort was fantastic! We were upgraded to a ocean view bedroom suite that was secluded. This was an added bonus and icing on the cake for such a beautiful resort.

Tried to venture to the black sand beach but the rental car broke down in the mountains and it took hours for another car to be brought to us; even still this did not damper the beauty of Maui or my trip. Although I did loose a whole day. Went snorkeling and sailing with "Trilogy Tours" and the whole crew were fun and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha Tracey,
We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at the resort and enjoyed your ocean view villa. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing us as your “home away from home.” We can’t wait to welcome you back to Maui again.

Mahalo,
The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,280
    986
    356
    169
    128
See reviews for
1,723
1,514
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have really enjoyed our time here at the Westin! Especially all the different pools to visit with such a beautiful view. We place a big weight on service when we travel, and felt we have been treated very well each day out at the pools. We quickly became friends with the pool attendants who became known as the "Tacoma Boys." They are always welcoming, wanting to see how our day is, and see how they can make it better. A friendly genuine smile is always appreciated. If your out at the pool make sure to find Philip A, Jesse P, and Vincent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha Britt S,

Mahalo for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your time by the pool. This is definitely the way to spend your time relaxing on Maui. We'll be sure to forward your positive experience to all of the pool associates you mentioned in your review. Mahalo for your time and review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo nui loa,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas for one week and LOVED it! The location is fantastic! As the Villas have a small kitchen, we were able to go to the Safeway down the road and stock up on some essentials. Lahaina is right down the road as well, which has a great dive shop for setting up your diving excursions. The property itself is beautifully landscaped and everything you would expect from a Westin. The rooms were very comfortable and made you want to take your time in the mornings before going out, but once you are out, beauty awaits you! The reef right behind the hotel was some of the best snorkeling we have ever experienced! We saw huge sea turtles, eels, and fish of every color! The pools are also very enjoyable, as are the bars and restaurants. We would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone considering staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Westin has a spectacular open air lobby and beautiful view of the pool and ocean. However, that was it. We opted to upgrade to ocean view. (Careful, their was only a "Juliette" balcony and no where to enjoy the view unless you were at the door) Unfortunately the room was not clean and we had to move to another room. We were not able to stay in the room and had to move back later that night. At no time did the bellmen help tote luggage. Next morning they showed us as checking out, then the keys to the room didn't work. Pools were crowded and the wait staff were busy and hard to get service at times. Must have been short staffed and training as everytime we were at the front desk there were trainees learning. The beach was amazing and great snokeling off the beach. Note that these beaches are public and anyone can access, they are not part of the Westin. We stayed at the Westin in Lahaina and it was great. This was just not what you would expect from the Westin and price of the resort. And they did not seem to care about their guests.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have lanais, so ask if the room has one before booking the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JStrickla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Aloha JStrickla,

We apologize for the service experience you encountered during your stay with us and we understand your frustrations. We will follow up with our housekeeping, valet and front desk teams to ensure that we constantly maintain the Westin branded experience for our guests. We apologize for the shortcomings and hope that you'll give us another chance in the future.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay with Starwood owners on this property for two whole weeks!! I loved the food and I'm a very picky eater. Get the fish tacos!! The spa on the premises was intimate and tranquil- Suji did a fantastic job with my treatment. Bartenders Joe and Penny were awesome!! Lahaina Sunset was my favorite drink- blended Mango, banana, pineapple with stawberry syrup. Ken and Brandon from the Beach Acivities of Maui, located on site, were the best! Ken helped us find the best and safest sunscreen for our skin. Everything from the acoustic music, the beach, and sunsets...make this the perfect place for a babymoon, honeymoon, or a relaxing family vacation. I'm going to miss this place so much!

My only words for improvement would be for the concierge- do not tell people to go on the northern highway of west Maui to get to horseback riding lessons because it is very dangerous. The concierge team should do all of the activities they offer to get a better understanding of what they are offering.

We will be back next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cferrari511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our sixth stay at the Villas North and first time for a one bedroom; asbsolutely perfect
not one issue; the Villas as always, are superbly maintained as are the grounds.
It's as thought they are always brand new. Every staff associate is freindly and responsive.
We have always gone to the beach infront of of the Sheraton but on this trip we used the beach in front of the property - the snorkeling was better than black rock. Look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a great time! The property is really large and it has a lot to offer. The pulehu restaurant is AMAzing and it's right on the beach. They also have a shuttle so you don't have to have a car to get around.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Aloha Keith,
We love your tag line and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your outstanding rating. From your “amazing” experience at Pulehu, an Italian Grill with our tempting menu offerings and our convenient shuttle services. Mahalo again as we sincerely appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back to our Westin ohana.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing