We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui's Paradise Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maui's Paradise Resort”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Maui's best kept secret is the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, 5-Diamonds and more.

Once you arrive, an outstanding group of dedicated staff that will quickly make you feel like you are at home. The wonderful staff, high level of outstanding service, and location is by far the finest on the island of Maui. The resort is beautiful with great beaches, some of the best snorkeling and Westin's complimentary ground transportation to local shopping, beaches, and downtown Lahaina. Plenty of parking is available for all guests. For those that enjoy exercising, a very nice onsite fitness room and the surroundings provide a great place to walk or run. The several restaurants on property provide delicious food and wonderful service as well. The rooms are very clean and neat with many great amenities. Some rooms have full kitchens and it's great to have breakfast, lunch, or dinner on the balcony overlooking the great ocean, pool, sunsets, gardens, or mountains of Maui.

Once, you experience the Westin's Kaanapali Ocean Resort's outstanding hospitality and location you will come back many times again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Aloha JMJS2012,

Mahalo for taking the time to write your review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we love hearing positive feedback from our guests regarding our staff's Hawaiian hospitality. Here at the resort, we strive to deliver a memorable and positive guest experience and we're glad you were able to enjoy our aloha spirit in Maui. We hope you had a safe and stress-free trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    997
    359
    171
    131
See reviews for
1,761
1,536
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We rented a studio island view room. Island view essentially means you look out onto the parking lot. Westin Villas is located a bit north of the prime Kaanapali beach location (between Hyatt and Sheraton). This being said, it's a bit less convenient if you want to go to those areas, but also a bit less crowded and quieter. It has it's own beautiful North Kaanapali Beach and also good snorkeling right in front of the property. There is a complimentary shuttle to take you to Lahaina or South Kaanapali Beach areas. There are two main pools and a kiddie pool with a pirate ship and playground for the little ones. The South pool has a slide and this pool is a bit busier than the North pool. One of my pet peeves it people saving chairs when they aren't supposed to, but one of the pool attendants would come around and remove your towels if you did that. Good for him! The North pool doesn't really have this issue as there are less people there. At 11AM daily there is free snuba demonstrations, and at 4PM there is feeding of the Koi fish, which the kids love to do. The villas come with the useful washer/dryer, and a stocked kitchen. Amenities are what you would expect at a Westin. Not too far for snorkel at either Black Rock at the Sheraton or up north at Honolua Bay. Try Star Noodle, Ono Taco and Kahana Grill for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Aloha Lori_Ling,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your review. We enjoy reading reviews of how our guests enjoy the facilities and take advantage of the amenities. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having stayed at the Marriott and the Hyatt on Maui, this was my first time at Westin and I feel it is the best of the island! Grounds are beautiful and there is a free polynesian show twice a week such as you would see at a luau. The beach is fantastic for those who love to scuba or snorkel as there are three sea turtles in permanent residence and a huge variety of fish to see. You can rent gear, rafts, tubes, umbrellas, etc. at the pool activities center. The pools are beautiful, especially the main one with a water slide. There is a special pirate ship themed pool for kids. Rooms are clean and spacious with balconies, equipped kitchens and washer/dryers in each unit. Restaurants are reasonably priced (for Maui) and quality of the food is excellent. Also, it's easy to walk from this hotel to other dining facilities, and Westin offers complimentary shuttles to Lahaina and also to other hotels and Whaler's Village. I will return …. often!!

Room Tip: Building 6 with an ocean view (not ocean front) is perfect. Corner suites great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We got upgraded to an oceanfront room and rented directly from a timeshare owner. The location is fantastic. Walk right outside to amazing snorkeling. The villas are wonderful - stocked with everything you need. Great for families. We had 2 amazing balconies. The shuttle that runs to Lahaina and to Black Rock is very convenient. I always look for other places to stay in Hawaii, but none compare to this one. We actually stayed here in April of 2012 but that wasn't a choice in the review drop down menu. We went the week after Spring Break and it wasn't too crowded. Buy groceries at Costco. The limited restaurants at the Westin are ridiculously expensive. We spent $150 for 5 people for burgers at lunch while we were waiting for our room to be ready.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickybossyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family loves this place! Couldn't ask for better! The villas are spacious and have everything you need. Location is close to restaurants and shopping. Front desk check in was fast. Kids club- my kids want to be there everyday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First visit to Maui, it won't be our last. Great room, fantastic views, wonderful beach. The breakfasts were wonderful as were the dinners. It was also convenient that we had a washer and dryer in the room. We would definitely come back to the Westin Kaanapali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean T, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Aloha Ron A,

Mahalo for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love reading the positive experiences our guests have and yours was a joy to read. We will definitely share your review with our staff. We hope that you had a stress-free trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just back from a fantastic week at the Westin villas. We traded our time share in Rancho MIirage for a week in Maui. Smart choice! We had a great 1 bedroom villa in building 6, an island view room. {not ocean front} but very nice. We had a nice size kitchen and loved having several meals on the veranda,, so relaxing with a nice glass of wine. We loved the pools and used both the south and north villa pools. There were lots of kids enjoying their summer break, but it was nice to see them having so much fun. We never had difficulty finding a lounge chair, and the happy hour drinks were good! Great pool service!
We had a great dinner at the Italian restaurant Pulehu. It was one of our best dinners out on the island. We also enjoyed their Monday night wine tasting social, great wines and a fun place to meet other guests.
We loved the beach and it is awesome spot to go snorkeling. We saw turtles just 20 feet off shore and amazing tropical fish. I think it is one of the best reefs on the island.. If you have a chance go to Napili cove for snorkeling, amazing turtles there!!! We can't wait to go back to the Westin!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinderteacher76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing