We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Maui Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More Maui Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A year ago we visited and raved about the Setting and Property that makes the Westin Ocean Villas in Kaanapali a Spectacular Island Paradise. Here are some of the reasons why

1. A beach front resort with views that mesmerize every hour of every day
2. Sunrise and sunsets that are spell binding and jaw dropping in their natural beauty. Morning coffee on the deck as paradise awakens.
3. Soft Sandy Beaches and Crystal Clear Warm Calm Pacific Waters that Soothe your Senses and Soul. Swimmers take note bring your goggles walk straight into the water start swimming to your right down to the point and back. You will get a fabulous work out and feel as though you were swimming in one of the fish tanks at the Bellagio. I did this at least once day swimming over yards of coral and amongst hundreds of fish. On my final swim a giant sea turtle and I made eye contact as we swam past each other in opposite directions.
4. Accommodations provide plenty of space, the Heavenly!!! Bed,a full kitchen,and the Feeling of Home away from home.
5. Gneral Manager Angela Nolan and every member of the staff we encountered had a happy disposition and were eager to accommodate any request. A special thank you to Mylan and Jade for their kind assistance and the young lady in the towel shack who had a quick first aid lotion remedy that provided immediate received for the Bee sting on my back.
6. This trip again reinforced how becoming Starwood Vacation owners about 6 years ago was such a great decision for us. The week truly provides an opportunity to revitalize, recharge, and spend quality time with family creating memories that will last a lifetime. In addition getting to meet and interact with other members of the Starwood Ownership family is always an added pleasantry.

A short drive away, the town of Lahaina provides all the restauranting, shopping, and Happy Hour Fun anyone could ask for on an island vacation.

On our ride to the airport we toyed with the idea of perhaps another island next year, but soon decided it will be Maui again... we are under the Island's Spell and don't mind being Creatures of this Magical Habit as we bask in the glow of ALOHA!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CareToShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,189
    964
    349
    165
    121
See reviews for
1,665
1,456
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great family vacation resort. The hotel grounds are exceptional; great pools and a great beach. The beach is easily accessible and has good swimming / wading. There is also great snorkeling about 30 feet offshore. We had an ocean view room (5504) with an exceptional view (see attached picture). Our studio room was very nice and included a full size fridge, cook top, microwave, dish washer and clothes washer and drier. The property also has gas fired grills on the grounds so you can cook meals yourself if you want to.

This property is located about 1 mile north of Black Rock on Kaanapali Beach. There is less hustle and bustle north of Black Rock as compared to south of Black Rock. It is an easy walk (about 2 miles) to Whalers Village or there is a shuttle every 15 minutes. You are an easy 4.5 mile drive to Lahaina and about 6 mile drive to DT Fleming Beach (for body boarding).

We have toured most of the resorts on Kaanapali and Wailea and found the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Villas best suited for a family vacation. The Wailea properties seem to have a more geriatric target market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 80daysayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok...we went back. See the first experience below. This time in low season May.

We stayed in room 2626 - this is a room that is only 1 room in from the rooms that are directly on the ocean - what a difference. This room has a deep veranda (lanai) with a stunning, stunning ocean view coupled with shade so you can sit gaze, think, read and gaze some more.

The kiddy pirate ship is on this side of the grounds but so far back that the little guests pillaging and hearty yelling is a far away blip in your ocean absorbed consciousness...

Chairs with shade were still an issue and something the Westin needs to address.

I am glad we returned outside of the busy school break mayhem of the summer months.



8/25/2012
I am giving the Westin 3 stars mainly due the experience.

The Westin is a mega-property with all the amenities of a super large hotel. This is my second stay at the Westin.

Let's look at the positives - beautiful grounds and pool area. Rooms are upscale and have a full kitchen. Room bath amenities smell amazing. Yes - room bath amenities count!

The hotel is on a wonderful walking path that winds past the golf course, Roy's restaurant and on to the high-end Whalers shopping center. Sunrise and sunset walks along this path are positively delightful.

Let's look at the overall feel - because this is a vacation ownership property - you get the feeling - pretty overtly - that selling is the overlying reason for the hotel's existence. The lobby is beautiful but it is primarily dedicated to selling weeks to new guests and upselling and cross selling to existing owners. If you are thinking of owning - ensure you factor in the significant maintenance fee for this property. We own in Florida where the maintenance for our 2.5 bedroom lock-off is $1200 vs. $1900 for just a 1 bedroom here. Oddly, owners do not get daily maid service - only 1ce during your stay. Frankly, I find this bizarre.

There are some oddities, avoids and curiosities.

ODD - There is not enough shade around the pool and no portable umbrellas - so this leads to yes the sale of cabanas and mini cabanas. Service, at least when we were there was sporadic around the pool. Guests come down early and place their towels on the choice chairs. Now there is a 1 hour "no use" and the staff does collect the belongings and holds them to release the chairs but there simply are not enough chairs - even the ones in the sun in high season.

ODD - the spa has it's "private" lounge area behind some pretty scant landscaping and right below occupied room terraces.

AVOID the side of the hotel with the pirate ship unless you want to view your high-pitched screaming child from your window...it is awful. Many of the families have their internal clocks and few hours back so the kids attended and unattended begin to inhabit the ship at wee hours of the morning - essentially at the virtual crack of dawn. The exhausted parents are comatose in the chairs while their children shrilly capture and pillage to their heart's content.

CURIOUS - The Westin does not have a great deal of ocean front. As a result, very few units actually face the ocean. As a consequence, you need to beware the "ocean view" definition at the Westin. In most cases, it is not wake up and see the ocean. It may require some and in some cases significant effort on your part to actually "view" the ocean. This may mean opening your door, stepping on to your 6 inch "Juliette" balcony (this is a charming name for a small slip of a terrace) and leaning out..hmmm...this definition has come up in other reviews...I am not sure why the Westin is not more upfront or preferably using better view definitions.

Overall, the Westin is a beautiful hotel but if we were not owners I would stay at a more intimate, authentic and slower paced property.

Room Tip: Always ask where your room is as ocean view may mean having to stretch to see the ocean. Room 2626 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

February 2013 was our first stay as new owners in the South Villas and we loved it! It was like being at a nice hotel/resort, but having the convenience of a condo with the large kitchen and bathroom in our 1 bedroom side, and using lock-off option to stay a second week in the studio side with large bathroom and kitchenette. Grounds were always being cared for, poolside drink service, etc. like a hotel, just better. When we moved from our room for the second week from our first they even came with a large cooler with our room number on it to hold it for us until our second week's room was ready, a very nice service. Loved the location as it was quieter than when we previously stayed over by whalers village and the beach was less crowded, and yet when we wanted the additional restaurants or shopping they have a wonderful shuttle that takes you to Whaler's Village and also into Lahaina, another wonderful service! Beautiful beach walk in front of property for taking a short, or longer stroll all the way down to Whaler's Village and beyond. Excellent snorkeling right at the property. Saw large sea turtle, several eels, and many colorful fish and corals. This was an excellent spot to watch the sunset and the many breaching whales right from the beachfront of the property. Already looking forward to our next visit in 2014!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
“Love it!” These have to be my most favorite two words to hear, especially when it derives from an outstanding Westin Villas experience. We are excited to hear about your first stay as an owner and are pleased to know that you are happy about becoming a part of our Ohana (family). We can’t wait to welcome you back year and year and see you become more and more familiar with the resort, the island and especially our staff. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. Have an amazing Summer, and see you next year.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We first visited in 2007 and had a wonderful trip. Since then they have opened the entire North side which added another pool and a couple more restaurants. We loved the Italian food at Pulehu and also enjoyed hanging out at the sports bar. Like most places in Maui it is not inexpensive but we thought we got good value for our dollar. The only small annoyance was that the A/C didn't work well if there was a window open. I'm sure that is not unique to this resort, but it was disappointing that we had to keep the slider closed most of the time. We would have preferred to have it open for sleeping but then it would get too warm.

Overall and excellent place to stay on our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MtbJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
WELCOME BACK! After a long awaited return, we certainly can’t thank you enough for your visiting us again. We are delighted to hear that we provided you with a positively memorable experience that was as good as your first visit back in 2007. We also recognize your slight discomfort regarding our air conditioning system and thank your for understanding our energy conservation measures. Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to return, hopefully sooner than later.

Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We've been to this resort 6 times now, last in 2011. We've always gone in July or August. On our last visit I was not pleased, and posted a fairly critical review.

On this trip I was back to being pleased. Perhaps it was because it seemed a bit less hectic and crowded in early June. But the rooms and grounds were pristine, service was very good and it was a very pleasant 2 weeks.

The only negative--still--is the situation with beach chairs. Locations with umbrellas are prime (it does get warm under the midday sun), so it tends to bring out the hyper-competitive natures in many of us. We arrive absurdly early and cling to our spots like they're made of gold. Surely there's an alternative that needs to be considered.

Staff is excellent, from poolside service to concierges to housekeeping. The grounds crew does a meticulous job at maintenance, bellman/valet service is quick, polite and on-the-spot.

One comment in response to the complaint posted here that owners get better room locations than non-owners. We pay a substantial amount in maintenance fees each year, in addition to our purchase price. It's only right that we get, at a minimum, priority on room assignments.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerseyred52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

During my stay, I met Concierge Representatives SARAH LYNCH (long-time Starwood employee) and KELLEY MAYS (new Starwood employee). Both were AWESOME in providing EXCELLENT customer service, and I wanted to ensure to give them a special review.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triathlete0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
MAHALO NUI LOA for acknowledging our amazing concierge speacialists Sarah and Kelley. We are always excited to hear the personal connections between our staff and owners. Thank you again for your kind words and for being a part of our Westin Ka’anapali Villas Ohana. A hui hou (until we meet again).

Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing