We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property; loved every minute!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing property; loved every minute!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay. Stayed in room 3208 and immensely enjoyed the view overlooking the pool and outdoor dining. Loved the pool and slide and access to the beach. Matt at the Westin timeshare desk was very helpful. Terrific property. P.S. The pineapple water in the lobby was heavenly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustriaLover4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,335
    999
    359
    171
    131
See reviews for
1,767
1,537
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful, relaxing week at the Westin Villas. The staff were all professional and friendly. The bellhop stored our food until checkin, usually at 4pm I guess, but we were in by 2pm. We had a studio and, while the kitchen area is small it provided everything we needed. Be advised if you plan to cook you will need anything consumable, like spices. The grills were cleaned every morning and worked very well. We met with Nancy our concierege on day two. I expected a big sales effort for the time share tour but Nancy could not be nicer or more helpful. She has lived on Maui for a long time and has many good recommendations. The pool is nice, not real big compared to some. Great beach for swimming and snorkeling. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor of bldg four was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

While the location and look of this Westin Resort was impeccable, the feel of it did not meet our expectations from the minute we walked onto the property until we left. Upon arrival, the front desk neglected to share several critical details with us regarding internet usage, parking fees, markets in the area, shuttle services, etc. As implied, this led to much confusion when it came to our bill at the end of the week as well as activities that we participated in. In addition, the front desk staff was repeatedly rude to us, showing no sense of customer service on any given day of our trip. Every employee we interacted with at the front desk was unhelpful and uninformative, which greatly impacted our Starwood experience. Furthermore, the resort as a whole projected a very snobby attitude, with owners acting as if they were better than any other guests and employees acting as if the villas were better than any other Westin. I will never again stay in the Villas, as the service and room conditions were significantly better at the Westin hotel down the street. In addition to the front desk staff issues, the poolside restaurant staff were are uninformed and led us in the wrong direction in terms of where we could find certain food options on the resort. Beyond the staff, we were also incredibly surprised by the room setup and late departure lounge offered to guests. The studio sized rooms supposedly contained a usable kitchen - yeah, right! This kitchen has literally no counter space and was awkwardly positioned in the room. Also, the microwave and oven was combined into one appliance, leading to poorly cooked food. This is not a usable kitchen at all, nor are the grills onsite effective (as over half of them would not start up, requiring us to share a grill with other guests - only 1 of whom was humble enough to share with us). Obnoxious! Finally, most guests depart Hawaii later in the day based on flights and time zone differences. As a result, the Westin Villas provided a heinous late departure lounge, which was located in the basement with no windows and next to the workout facility. The lounge was hot and humid, and it forced guests to use the workout facility's locker rooms to shower and get ready after a day at the pool. These facilities were neither clean nor convenient, as they were located outside of the lounge, did not have mirrors, were out of shampoo/body wash, and so forth. Moreover, the lounge did not contain any refreshments or sense of comfort or privacy for guests. All other Westin Hotels have had immensely superior hospitality rooms. I can't believe I ever even considered buying into the villa properties with Starwood after this experience.

Room Tip: Do not book a studio if you really want to leverage the kitchen space. When you book for a water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NikiM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear NikiM207,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. As we take great pride in our staff and the aloha spirit that they exude, we are taken back and surprised that we fell short in your situation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the negative impressions that our staff had on you along with the other issues that you shared. Rest assured that this is not representative of our standards and our leaders are already following up with their teams. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss in further detail the occurences of your stay. I have sent you a private message with my contact information so that we may connect. Again we aplogize and thank you for your review. On behalf or our entire staff, we hope to have the opportunity in the future to make a positively lasting impression. Until then “A Hui Hou,” and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosville, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. We are SPG Platinum. We used cash & points. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom garden view. We had plenty of space. Full kitchen. May is a slower month in Maui. All dining on Front Street we were able to get ocean front. We stayed in the North side but preferred to use the pool at the South side. Seemed to be a little less wind. You can snorkel right out front. The beach is a little nicer over in front of the Sheraton (less slope & rocks) but this beach was still great. Service is great, hotel is clean and self parking was no problem. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have 2 small kids and have never gone on a vacation alone let alone our honeymoon. We decided since it was out 5 year anniversary it was time and without the kids. It was worth it!
The property is very large and beautiful. I recommend not brining your luggage with you at check in until you know which building your room is in.
Our room was in the North Tower which i requested based on reviewa I read on here. When I was told it was on the ground level I was a bit concerned but It turned out better then I expected our room had a walkout lanai (patio) which had a nice view of the ocean. In less then 10 steps to the left was the adult pool and grills. In 10 steps to the right was the beach! The convenience of not having to use the elevator after a swim or grilling dinner was great! We had a studio room with the kitchenette, it suited us it was only the 2 of us but of we had the kids would have needed a bigger room.
We the breakfast buffet a few times which was yummy! Fresh fruit, hot maple syrup, baked goods...all compliments of the hotel as long as you opt out of the daily room cleaning. We didn't spend much time in our room so we opted out every other day.
We only ate at the 2 of the restaurants on this property, both very good! Pailolo Bar and Grill is between the beach and the resort pool which worked out well.
The complimentary shuttle which can take you to either another Starwood property or Lahina benefited us well. We used it to go the Luau at the Sharaton great show and dinner at the other Westin property fantastic food. What we both noticed when we went to the Sharaton and other Westin property was The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
has better grounds and the buildings don't look as old as the other Starwood properties.
The drivers for th shuttles are great guys who are very nice and friendly. When we took the shuttle to Lahina, our driver was very informative letting everyone know what was close by each stop so you knew which stop was best to get off at and when the shuttle would be back for pick up.
My husband and I would spent a lot of time on the beach, it was clean, refreshing and wonderful to watch the waves and sunset on. After the beach we would jump in the pool which to our surprise didn't taste like chlorine. We used the pool both in the day and at night it was never overly crowded.
Overall I would definitely go back but the next time will be with my kids. It's a great resort for couple an families a like, there's something for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimcWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am very experienced traveler averaging over 100 nights a year in hotels. I've been coming to Maui for the past 20 years and this is my first time at this property. I have to say, that the staff here...to single out a few (Ivan, Jade, Akamu and Alex) are the "best" I've ever seen. It's staff like this is what brings back clients/customers. The rooms and the property are impeccability clean. Spirit and attitude here is bar none. I wished that I can say about other hotels....need I say more!!! Already planning a family vacation in August back here!!!

Room Tip: All the one bed room suites are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have stayed at many different properties on Maui, and the Westin Ka'anapali is right up there with the best.
The service was great. From our late arrival on the first night, to our dinner on the last night, we were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. A special thanks to the concierge for some good tips on things to do away from the crowds...
We stayed in a mountain view room (studio). It was plenty big for the two of us. Room was spotless upon our arrival. Bathroom was huge with a big tub and walk in shower. The kitchen area was small but functional. It included the basic gadgets and utensils. A stacking washer/dryer was a bonus. The king bed was comfortable and the mattress was not the least bit broken down.
The resort is in a great location. Close to Whalers Village (the Whale Museum was fascinating) and not far from Lahaina. The Westin runs a free shuttle to Lahaina with other stops all day long. Resort grounds were spotless and the pools pristine. Beach and ocean were only steps away.
Be prepared for the cost of food and drink. Like their downtown hotels in major cities, Westin charges high prices for food at the resort. The meals we had were good. Simply high priced.
All in all, this was a very nice resort. In fact, we're already booked to stay there in 2014. There's no higher recommendation than that, is there?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing