We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort but beach was just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Family with 2 kids (3 and 7 years). We stayed here 5 nights as part of a Westin promotion (sent to prospective time share buyers). For the price we paid, the resort was fantastic.

Unit – they gave us a complimentary upgrade from a studio to a one bedroom. Unit was great – your typical modern, clean and well-furnished Westin. Spacious and luxurious feeling with a huge bathroom. Was a ground level unit – not much view but all ground units have a patio with walk out to lawn/pool areas. There was even a folding step stool we put out so the kids could reach the bathroom sink. I was a little surprised by the lower quality pots, pans and kitchen appliances. I expected more of a mid-grade quality for this caliber of resort. Similarly, the sofa bed was very uncomfortable, even relative to other sofa beds. An interesting thing to note – when you stay at many of the “fully owned” vacation rentals in Maui, the owners and past guests leave behind things like boogie boards, beach equipment, laundry detergent, coffee filters, etc. which is nice. No such at these time share properties. Everything

Resort – beautiful, everywhere you walk are lush gardens, koi fish ponds, pools, pathways, always clean. The resort is huge with a South and North complex. We were in the North side of the North complex. It was a bit hike to other parts of the resort. The three pool areas a well spread out which is good (more space) and bad (harder to go from one pool to the other). Kids loved the Pirate ship pool and the slide in the main pool. The staff were very flexible about it – no height limit, kids had to be able to swim away at bottom on their own. My 3 year old son was able to use the slide with floaties on his arms. Temperature of pools was very comfortable during day – just a tad little cold at night.

Service/Dining/Activities – We did not require a lot of service but when we did – everyone was friendly and accommodating. Only went to pool restaurant once. As expected, we pricey but good. Did not use the Kids club since it we wanted to spend time as a family. (BTW - it’s expensive at $90/day and $50 for half day) There is very little in terms of free activities at the resort – daily fish feeding, ping pong. Rest have a fee.

Beach Access/Location – there is a nice boardwalk and green space between the resort and the beach. I was a little disappointed in the beach itself. Sandy area is narrow and the beach drops off (water gets deep) quickly at the shoreline which makes for strong shore breaks. Was not good for the kids. We ended up driving to Kapuala Bay (north) and Baby Beach (south) which were safer for kids. None of these beaches were good for boogie boarding – Kihei beaches are much better for that.

Time Share Sales – We agreed to do the timeshare tour. Incentives were 50% off Starwood hotel rates (up to 5 nights) and 7500 Starwood points. Reps were very professional and respectful although tour took about 2 hours. We said were not interested at this time and they offered us another promo deal to come back within 2 years which we did take.

Overall, this is a beautiful resort with great service and great amenities. I reduced the rating by 1 star for the beach, convenience of getting around the resort (too big) and the fact that everything was a bit expensive. Using the Marriot Ko Olina in Oahu as a very similar comparison – we just had a little more fun there.

But we will be coming back since we took the promo deal!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MekkTekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,503 - 2,509 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days during Christmas of 2012. There is nothing to say other than it has no flaws. Location is outstanding, full service rooms and amenities are excellent. The service level from the staff were perfect. Price may be a bit steep but like anything in life, you get what you pay for. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Before I booked our trip at the North property, I tried to find some differences (pros/cons) between each property. Although I appreciated all the info I received, one thing was never mentioned--they are so close to each other, it doesn't matter which one you pick. It's not a 10 mins walk, but a 1 minute walk so pick whichever one fits your schedule and budget.

That being said, the South has a more kid friendly pool which included a slide. It is also a lot more crowded with all patio chairs filled pretty early. The pirate ship is actually between both properties so convenient to use from either.

Lastly, don't rend a paddle board from the hotel. It costs $35 for an hour. If you rent from "808 Boards" it is $45 for the ENTIRE day-and they deliver it to the lobby. My 6 and 8 year old girls would sit on the end while I attempted to paddle. We had so much fun and never felt rushed since we had all day. We even saw a hugh (a few hundred pounds) sea turtle and swam with him for a few hundred feet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last Fall, my wife and I traveled to Maui and stayed at the Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas. We are Starwoods Vacation timeshare owners and that is our “home” in Maui. Starwoods calls their timeshare properties “Villas,” but it also a very nice hotel that anyone can visit as long as an owner has not reserved their villa and one is available. The property is less than a mile past the original Ka’anapali resort area, north of the Sheraton Maui’s famous Black Rock cliff site. It is a wonderful property and a great placed to stay. I guarantee that you will get depressed as your departure date nears and you will not want to leave.

All of the Hawaiian Islands are wonderful but we love Maui even though the destination is long haul from Boston. The Westin Resort Villas is our piece of paradise. We can experience Island culture, Asian cultures and excellent weather and still be in America.

While there are more expensive hotels on Maui like the Four Seasons or the Ritz for those who like to be pampered, I can’t imagine any of them being any more comfortable then the Westin Resort Villas. If you choose to be pampered at the Villas they would be happy to accommodate your desires at the spa, two restaurants, two bars, two grocery and gift shops, two fitness centers and through the many concierge representatives who can book local restaurants, luaus and sightseeing trips.

There is the original South area and the newer (only by a couple of years) north area. They both have one and two bedroom suites and studios. All the rooms in each category are identical so no guest gets an “inferior” room. The only difference is location and view. For example, the buildings in the newer North complex are at an angle to the Pacific so all rooms have an ocean view whereas in the older area the buildings are perpendicular to the ocean and some rooms may give a guest an ocean “peek” or an island view. You can’t go wrong. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff is meticulous in keeping the rooms clean and fresh. Because it is a timeshare ownership, the appliances, carpeting and furniture and other items subjected to wear are upgraded and changed on a regular replacement schedule (courtesy of the owners annual maintenance fee).

The Villas are family oriented. Many owners are grandparents who bring their children and grandchildren to their timeshare on holidays, family events and on school vacations. Families who want to save a little money by not eating in restaurants every night can cook under the stars at the many gas grills available throughout the complex grilling their own steaks and hamburgers.

The entire complex has its own beachfront. The water is warm and clear, turquoise and just wonderful, but sometimes the surf can get rough. The challenge is getting in and out through the wave action. Once you are past where the waves break, you are fine. Snorkeling is very popular because there are reefs just offshore that attract many tropical fish and large sea turtles. If the ocean is too rough for you there are very large pools in both areas.

There is always a breeze there; in fact, it can be very windy much of the time. I believe it is due to its proximity to the mountains on the island side of the hotel. By traveling just a short distance either north or south the winds disappear and it can become too hot, so you get to enjoy the refreshing breezes.

The property is about 30 minutes from the Kahalui airport and although there are limos and shared vans available, most people drive there in their own rental car. There is plenty of parking.

Renting cars from companies located on airport property can be expensive due to the high airport taxes and fees. If you can find a reputable agency off the airport property you will not incur those fees and, if you can catch a special, a rental can be economical. Gasoline is about $1 more per gallon than the mainland.

Westin provides shuttle service from the Villas to its sister hotels on Ka’anapali Beach, the Westin Maui and the Sheraton Maui. There is a continual 15-minute shuttle route between the three properties from about 8 AM to 10 PM. A second shuttle route goes to the hotels and the Cannery Mall where there is a Safeway supermarket, a number of shops, a food court and restaurants and then on to Front St. in Lahaina. Lahaina was a 19th century whaling town and now caters to tourists with many restaurants in all prices ranges and shop after shop of tourist “stuff.” So, you can get around without a car but having one makes you independent and able to explore the entire island and other magnificent island beaches.

If you have visited Maui in the past or plan to visit for the first time, the Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas will make your stay in paradise a wonderful experience. It will be a travel adventure that you and your family will never forget, and when you return home, I am sure you will start planning your next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This resort is so gorgeous, we couldn't be happier. We own at another Westin location and exchanged for this resort. We have stayed at 5 different Starwood Vacation Ownership properties and this one is the nicest (although we have certainly enjoyed them all.)

We have 2 small kids and the kiddie pools, including the pirate ship water slide, have kept them very entertained. Our room in building 3, 5th floor, has incredible views of the ocean to the west, the green mountains and rainbows to the east, and the pool and beautiful resort grounds directly in front of us. We have snorkeled directly off the beach in front of the resort, and enjoyed postcard-perfect sunsets from the beach each evening.

We arrived about 4 hours prior to check-in time, and the front desk clerk was SO helpful. She gave us lounge keys so we could change into bathing suits and store our clothes in lockers in the guest lounge, then enjoy the pools until our room was ready. She took my cell phone number and called me as soon as our room was ready, which happened to be an hour earlier than expected. Really, cannot beat this check-in service! To clarify a previous post about parking: valet parking is free the first night and carries a fee each night thereafter, but self parking is entirely free.

The rooms have kitchens and are designed to be more like a condo than a hotel room, which is ideal with kids. We eat at least half our meals in the room and only head to restaurants when kids are rested and on good behavior. Plus it saves a lot of money! You can make a shopping trip to Safeway on day 1, stock up in food and adult beverages, and you're good to go!

Room Tip: Avoid even number rooms in building 3 if you can (east facing). No ocean view. Higher floors in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mms24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently spent 5 days at the Westin Ocean Resort Villas. We were in a studio in the North section, at the very end of the resort. We didn't have a great view, but the beach walk could be reached near our room and we could simply walk to the beach or pools. The room included a small kitchen that was well-equipped with a full-size refrigerator, 2-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher, but no oven. We also had a washer and dryer with one container of detergent included.

The resort provided a free, very nice air-conditioned shuttle for traveling to Lahaina or to the Westin Hotel nearby. The bus drivers always gave us interesting information as we rode along.

The pools were very nice and some were designated as adult only, providing a quiet place to swim. The hot tubs were also great. Shaded cabanas could be rented for a sizeable fee. There were some shaded areas, but these were somewhat hard to come by.

The snorkeling off the beach was excellent, so we really didn't need to go anywhere else! Even though the famous "Black Rock" was just down the beach away, we found the snorkeling there to be much less beautiful than at the Westin as well as terribly crowded. The coral off the Westin beach was some of the most beautiful we had ever seen. You do have to rent beach chairs and umbrellas ($10/chair and $20/umbrella) each day. These are set up for you by a staff person and marked as reserved so you don't need to worry about protecting them while you're snorkeling or taking a nap back in the room. These are removed for you each day at 4 pm. This was convenient, but honestly, we felt like beach chairs should be free to resort guests! Why not be generous?

We were able to park near our room, but the resort charged a daily self-park fee. Again, this made us feel somewhat "nickel and dimed." As stated before, why not be generous?

This place is great for the snorkeling and close proximity to so many fun things. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. We would recommend it to families or couples.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I'd ask for a room with a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed just about everything at this resort. The Pool Grill served excellent food throughout the day and evening. People at the towel and equipment rental kiosk were friendly and helpful, and the two jacuzzi locations were set off from the main pool and never crowded. Snorkeling was fun right off the hotel beach, although the rocks and coral precluded much splashing around in the shallow water. Best of all was the ocean front villa. Perfection!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
23.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $352 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing