We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough to beat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tough to beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 21 day trip to Maui. Our last week we stayed At the Westin Villas. We've been here before and really enjoy it. But frankly, we enjoy staying at the Marriott Ocean Beach Club resort better. The rooms are actually a bit nicer at the Westin, but the location, the pools and the beach and number of cabanas are better at the Marriott, in our opinion. And the U-shape configurations of the different buildings around the pools means that it gets significantly less air circulation and hotter than the hotels/resorts further south on Ka'anapali Beach.
That being said, you can't go wrong with the Westin Resort Villas. It is a stellar property and they offer regular shuttle service to downtown Lahaina for their guests. It is hard to say anything negative about this property, actually.

Room Tip: Good look getting an ocean view room if you are not a time-share owner. And you'll need to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19jonesey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,166
    964
    349
    164
    121
See reviews for
1,655
1,449
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We combined a business trip with a family vacation at the Ocean Villas. We couldn't have been more happy with the accommodations, the resort, the staff, the location, everything. We had an island view studio that was large enough for our family of 5. If we had spent more time in the room, I think it would have started to feel cramped, but we were on the go most of the time.

We thought the location couldn't have been better and enjoyed using the pools and the beach (perfect for snorkeling with kids).

My daughter's birthday fell on one of our days there. Kerry Ignacio, a wonderful and thoughtful staff member, made sure my daughter had the warmest birthday greeting possible. It was so nice of her to think of my daughter on her special day. (Mind you, I told Kerry about my daughter's birthday upon check-in and she made sure that there was a special surprise 5 days later).

We had one of the best vacations we've had in awhile, especially considering we had some business to attend to also.

Thank you to Angela Nolan and the staff at the Ocean Villas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShemmyGirl90277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF , CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed staying in our North studio villa; it's location and service are great. However, we wouldn't recommend its restaurants. Especially bad were breakfasts at Ocean Pool Bar and Grill.

The staff was friendly, helpful and professional but the food very mediocre for the high price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdynia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean_tamon, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha gdynia10,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide the resort and restaurants with your feedback. We truly appreciate the reviews we receive as it gives us the opportunity to continually improve our resort and operations. We deeply regret the experience you had at Ocean Pool Bar and Grill regarding the quality of food and we will be addressing your concerns with our culinary team. While there are many items for breakfast on the menu, it would help us further if you could provide us with what food specifically failed to meet your expectations so that we can improve the menu. While there were setbacks during your vacation, we are glad however, that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Mahalo for your time and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Please feel free to contact us via direct message on TripAdvisor or email me at sean.tamon@westin.com.

Mahalo,

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our family stayed here for a week in February. From the begining, we had issues with other guests throwing food on our balcony, thousands of bugs invading our room, and the most unresponsive staff I have ever encountered. We even took the time out of our vacation to contact the resort manager, who never returned our call. The front desk manager made one attempt to contact us, but she never took the time to address any of our concerns. We were traveling with our disabled child and had asked for a quiet room that she would be able to take a break in from time to time during the day and their response to that request was to place us right above one of the restaurants. When I expressed concern about the noise level, they refused to do anything about it. Bottom line, our interest in purchasing a time share from this company was immediately quashed as soon as we realized how poor their customer service is. The only saving grace was the concierge. They booked over $1000 worth of excursions for our family and every one of them was amazing. Usually when we stay in Maui, we stay at the Grand Wailea. When we return to Maui, it certainly will certainly be there, not at this property.

Room Tip: If you aren't an "owner" then expect to be placed anywhere without the view you came t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aoconnell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha aoconnell57,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We extend our deepest apologies for the lack of response and issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I have forwarded your comments to our leadership team for immediate follow up. Please know that this is not representative of our standards and that we would be grateful to have the opportunity to personally discuss in further detail the aspects of your stay. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again, we apologize and we look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went to the Westin on a promotional package and were so pleased with our experience at the Westin. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional We were dreading the time share tour but found it unlike most others. No pressure, informative and we actually enjoyed it.

The Westin Villas were quite nice- larger than we expected. nice furnishings and functional. Loved having the washer and dryer in our room.

We will be returning to Hawaii in two years and will be staying there again. I think that says it all!!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor on the North side and had a nice size balcony and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Ted D,

Mahalo for the “awesome” review. We are glad to hear that you found the presentation informative and enjoyable. We are excited for you to return and look forward to welcoming you back. Until then as we say in Hawaii, “A hui hou.”

Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We have no kids however we are stuck on the side with the kids pool.
Both times we have went to the pool and bar, the service sucks and took forever.
The only person that was attentive to us was the Segway security guy that kick us out of the pool. However the two 9 year old's, where completely unsupervised where a ok for the splashing in the jacuzzis.
So far this has been a poor service, poor food, strict "security" establishment, in a very nice looking property, and great snorkeling beach. Could do better for your money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Summer D.,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us consisted of poor service. As we strive to make your experience a positively unforgettable one, we acknowledge that we missed the mark in your case. We would appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss the details of your stay and gain further feedback on our service shortcomings. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again we apologize and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a time share hotel. A little hard to relax here. There are thousands of kids and we weren't in spring break time either. So time by the pool or beach is interrupted by them and throngs of the obese. There's an "adult" pool tucked away but also shaded so it can be cool.
The amenities are nice, the staff are friendly and the facility is clean. Our room had a refrigerator that froze everything we placed in it. Also no separate light for toilet. That meant waking spouse up every time one or the other needed to take care of biz.
Other than that, the beds are comfy, beach is easily accessible with decent reef snorkeling out front. And if you're taking the whole family there's plenty to do for them.
If not, then I would look into a more adult-only set up if possible.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BuLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear BuLife,

We appreciate your feedback and have taken your comments into consideration. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with an outstanding Westin experience and that the ambience of the resort was not to your liking. We would be pleased to have the opportunity to personally discuss the details of your stay. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to connecting with you soon.

Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing