We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Full disclosure: we own a timeshare here. We swore we would never buy a timeshare in Hawaii (or anywhere else for that matter), but we stayed at the Westin Ocean Villas and fell in love with it. The ocean views are spectacular, the villas clean, modern, and comfortable, the other guests/owners friendly, and the staff great. There's an owner services representative permanently on site, which was extremely helpful to us as new owners (we bought on the resale market). It is on the north end of Kaanapali beach, away from the hustle and bustle of the big hotels, but still convenient to Lahaina. There is easy beach access and great snorkeling right there and they have a shuttle that runs to the Lahaina and to the Westin Hotel, which is right next to Whaler's Village.

Room Tip: We like the South Villas, although the North may be better if you have younger children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    997
    359
    171
    131
See reviews for
1,761
1,536
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is one of the best resorts I have ever visited. From great restaurants, pools, ocean view and bars, we had an awesome 30th anniversary. The hotel also has a bus transport system that travels to the other Westin and Sheraton properties and into the town of Lahaina on a regular schedule, which basically eliminates the need for a rental car. All of the drivers are friendly, but one in particular, Eddie Iniba made these trips most enjoyable. He gave us island history, sand songs and even quizzed us on what he had taught. This made the information stick with you. I absolutely loved and look forward to riding with him when I come back. I highly recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheptner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a great trip,the grounds are beautiful the staff is great,they have a great and free shuttle service that takes you to all the shopping and dinning areas,the only set back is there is no shuttle service to and from the airport,there shuttle takes you almost everywhere you go,you would only need to rent a car he and there,not the whole week,overall a great place please get an airport shuttle

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ScvGibbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

High-density apartment complex. Not a typical Westin property.

Many rooms face away from ocean and have a view of:

Highway
Parking Lot
Dirt field

Beach is just sad. Dead coral.

Pervasive sewage smell

Noisy

No privacy

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bunniebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to have read that your stay was not a positive one. We would be delighted to have the chance to speak with you personally on the details of your stay. I have sent you a private message asking for your contact information so that one of our Westin team members may reach out to you. Thank you for your review and we hope to hear from you soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were invited by our friends from California to spend a week in this wonderful place during October 2012. Yes, everything was fantastic since arrival. Immediate check-in, huge room with all facilities, high speed internet, clean, well decorated, marvelous gardens and pools. Polite and helpful staff. Shops and free shuttle to Lahaina available. Incredible beach for walking and snorkeling. First time in Hawaii could not be better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We got a pretty good deal from Orbitz for a short 4-day vacation in Maui. Yes, I know, flying that far for a 4-day vacation is not exactly ideal but it was a good break.

Location-wise, this hotel/time-share villas was perfect. Just about 2 miles away from Whalers Village and 3 miles away from main Lahaina town center. The hotel is right by the beach.

We stayed at the North Tower (and 1 night at the South, which I will elaborate later). The lobby looks great, overlooking the central garden/koi-pond/pools, looking out to the ocean front. We got 'upgraded' to an ocean view on the ground floor, which if you see my photo, has absolutely no ocean view but facing a wall. Not sure why they call it an ocean-view. Might have complained but we had family in the adjoining room so we beared with it. We got 'upgraded' but essentially was a studio room while our relatives next door was really 'upgraded' to a 1-bedroom suite, with a bigger kitchen space. They even were able to see a sliver of the ocean from their room! So, if you are assigned room 5109 (ours), ask for another room!

The studio villa had a kitchenette, much smaller but equipped with a microwave, dishwasher, full set of utensils and dishware. Comes with a flat-screen TV with full cable channels, a DVD player (DVD rental kiosks in the lobby!), and a Bose radio/CD player, which I thought was a nice touch. The bathroom is equipped with a Jacuzzi tub with sliding doors that open into the room. I suppose it would have been nice sitting in the Jacuzzi if we actually had an ocean view... Separate shower stall but placed with the toilet, so a little privacy would have been nice (the 1 bedroom suite has a private toilet).

The hotel has great facilities. A number of restaurants, a spa, gym. Three separate pools: North Tower adult pool (with water volley ball), a kids pool with a 'pirate ship' water slide structure between the North and South towers, and another adult pool in the South Tower which has an adult water slide. Walk out to the beach in a few minutes from our room. The beach here has a pretty steep drop-off and very rocky just off the wave-front. Once past the rocks, snorkeling is quite good.

The resort has planned activities as well. But they cancel without notice... our kids waited for a koi pond feeding session in the South towers and no one from the hotel showed up!! The kids were quite disappointed. When we checked with the concierge, he called the koi people and no one picked up. The concierge was very apologetic and gave us some chocolate candy for our trouble. Thumbs up for the concierge! They got some unlisted 'benefits' and deals as well. Ask for a 'gift', and you get a free cooler bag. And being a 'time-share', you may get invited to a 90-minute presentation too. And if you give up housekeeping for the stay, you get free breakfast vouchers, which we did.

Free wifi throughout the resort. Three Macs available at the North Tower with free internet access and printers, if you want to check in your flights. Parking is reasonable, $7/day self-park or $9/day valet.

Now, we were 'very' lucky to be caught in the tsunami warning after the Canadian earthquake on the night of Oct 27. Given that we were in the ground floor, we were 'evacuated' and invited to the lobby for a couple of hours beginning about 10pm. The resort provided water, coffee, pillows, blankets and snacks for all the affected guests. Thumbs up there. But earlier on, when we asked if we can get another room, we were told that the resort was 'fully committed'. After midnight though, the resort started 'processing' the guests to be relocated into the South Tower, with us going to the fourth floor for the night. It was nice for them to do so, and they did relocate many of the guests there.... They squeezed our two family group into a 1-bedroom suite. Better than lounging at the lobby for the whole night, I suppose. But that showed that they actually had rooms to relocate us earlier when we asked and was refused. A little deceit there, I felt. I was expecting that they should comp us for the final night but they did not. But overall though, I felt that the hotel did mostly right with their evacuation plan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khamen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I booked the Westin Kaanapali Villas for our anniversary through Orbitz saving 40%. We have been to Maui about 6 times and have stayed at timeshare condos, hotel resorts, and private condos. We were more impressed with this property than any of the others, including the Westin Resort Hotel. This property feels very new, well maintained, top quality, and offers everything onsite that you might need for your stay without ever leaving. The amenities are extensive and cater to romantic couples, seniors, and families. The property has a few buildings clustered around the South lobby, and others around the North lobby. In my opinion, the South towers offer better ocean views and surround the water slide pool. The North towers are closer to the pirate ship pool, playground, spa & workout room. Our experience was not exactly the same as some of the other reviews of this property. We stayed in room 3608, Building 3, ocean view studio with a good ocean and pool view. Here are a few things that we learned and didn't expect.

- While the pool hours are 6:30AM - 9PM, the water slide only operates from 9AM - 5PM.
- The resort allows personal air mattresses, rings and inflatables in the pools.
- Some reviewers complained of a lack of deck chairs poolside. We never had a problem possibly due to the time of year. Although, Westin has a new process of tagging chairs with no obvious occupants for an hour before turning belongings in to the Watersports shack to discourage “ saving” chairs for prolonged periods.
- If you are renting and not an owner, the condo will receive daily maid service which replenishes coffee filter packs, laundry detergent & softener sheets, dishwasher detergent, soap, shampoo & conditioner,
paper towels.
- The rooms also include free wired & wireless internet and cables, DVD player with HDMI cable, and Bose wave radio.
- I have been scuba diving for years and was amazed at how well preserved the reef is 10 ft. off shore with great snorkeling. I saw 3 turtles while snorkeling. Scuba diving offered by the resort is shore diving on the same reef, equipment and guide is included for $79, no discount for your own gear, and no tank rentals to do your own shore diving.
- The beach at the resort is very nice, wide sand beach with sandy entrance, ocean conditions were great for ocean swimming & kayaking, or snorkeling.

Room Tip: South towers have better ocean view, if in building 3 ask for an even numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing